i7-2600k + Asus P8Z68-V LX Overclock need help - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

i7-2600k + Asus P8Z68-V LX Overclock need help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 08:27 AM
PC Gamer
 
oxidized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Rome, IT
Posts: 1,363
Rep: 26 (Unique: 24)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
100mv of ripple is normal and wont have an effect on overclocking? that is simply untrue
The best units around today are doing 5mv on all the rails and you are hard pressed to find anything doing worse than 50mv today so 100mv is just plain horrible

You really should read this but i will quote if you cant be bothered to read it all
https://www.overclock.net/forum/31-p...rclocking.html

Start of quote
Ripple is measured as a peak-to-peak value in milivolts, and is measured using an oscilloscope (software can not detect ripple, nor can a multimeter or voltmeter; you need an oscilloscope with a scanning frequency of at least 30MHz). The ATX specification sets these limits on computer PSU ripple levels:

+12V - 120mV
+5V - 50mV
+3.3V - 50mV
+5VSB - 120mV
-12 - 120mV

My personal preference is to see numbers in or under this range:

+12V - 80mV
+5V - 30mV
+3.3V - 30mV
+5VSB - 50mV
-12V - 80mV

Any power supply which has ripple outside of those proscribed by the ATX specifications can and will cause short term hardware damage (over a period of days to months, depending). Anything outside of my preferences may cause long-term reliability degradation and other issues, though it won't damage your hardware in the short term.

End of quote

The PSU in the OP is rubbish thats simply stating a fact
I agree with your preferences, but they don't make this PSU rubbish, it's probably just subpar, but this won't cause him problems of any sort, and since i don't think that PC is new, i guess it's been working for a while without problems, a little overclocking won't make the system unstable because ripple of his PSU under HEAVY load is subpar, come on you know this too, you're just being picky.
oxidized is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 23
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by oxidized View Post
I agree with your preferences, but they don't make this PSU rubbish, it's probably just subpar, but this won't cause him problems of any sort, and since i don't think that PC is new, i guess it's been working for a while without problems, a little overclocking won't make the system unstable because ripple of his PSU under HEAVY load is subpar, come on you know this too, you're just being picky.
~ 5 years working (without overclocking)
Olga-v is offline  
post #23 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 09:19 AM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,911
Rep: 810 (Unique: 457)
Quote: Originally Posted by Olga-v View Post
х44 (+0.040) (LLC Auto) – prime95 stopped working error
х44 (+0.050) (LLC Auto) – prime95 stopped working error
х44 (+0.060) (LLC Auto) – prime95 crash BSoD
х44 (+0.065) (LLC Auto) – prime95 stopped working error
х44 (+0.070) (LLC Auto) – prime95 stopped working error
*(+0.060 \ 0.065 \ 0.070 = 1.336v prime95)

LLC Enable - does not work, voltage does not display correctly (1.328 program monitoring = 1.357 real) i can't use it..

x43 (+0.040) (LLC Disable) - 29 min (best result) stopped working error


I can’t replace PSU, but I can remove the video card for testing cpu overclock, this help?
you may not want LLC but you need LLC and auto is not the way. if it wasn't explained to you; LLC adds a small (depending on setting) amount of voltage when the cpu is under a heavy load because the voltage will drop (or droop) a little. that's a characteristic of electricity.

sure you can just increase the (base) voltage to where its stability under a heavy load but then you're over-volting the chip when light or idle loads.

also get off offset mode and switch to manual when looking to find the stable voltage. you can switch back to offset once you find it, but in the meantime it will cause you to pull your hair out being stable one test but not another.

go manual with LLC on high (or maybe start medium) just mind the max voltage reading you get doesn't go over 1.38 if setting 1.35 as an example. thats pretty much written in every sandy/ive bridge OCing guide.

offset with no LLC is sending all sorts of voltages to the chip when under load causing it to fail. you want steady voltage when finding the best stability.

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 23
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by looniam View Post
you may not want LLC but you need LLC and auto is not the way. if it wasn't explained to you; LLC adds a small (depending on setting) amount of voltage when the cpu is under a heavy load because the voltage will drop (or droop) a little. that's a characteristic of electricity.

sure you can just increase the (base) voltage to where its stability under a heavy load but then you're over-volting the chip when light or idle loads.

also get off offset mode and switch to manual when looking to find the stable voltage. you can switch back to offset once you find it, but in the meantime it will cause you to pull your hair out being stable one test but not another.

go manual with LLC on high (or maybe start medium) just mind the max voltage reading you get doesn't go over 1.38 if setting 1.35 as an example. thats pretty much written in every sandy/ive bridge OCing guide.

offset with no LLC is sending all sorts of voltages to the chip when under load causing it to fail. you want steady voltage when finding the best stability.
There is a problem

no «manual» , only «+» and «-»
Click image for larger version

Name:	offset.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	5.09 MB
ID:	326534

LLC – no «high» \ «medium», only «auto» \ « enable» \ «disable»
Click image for larger version

Name:	llc.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	4.69 MB
ID:	326536

I read what 's on this motherboard LLC not working properly
auto=disable, enable - very very high voltage (4 MHz – 1.357 v) + displayed incorrectly
https://web-shpargalka.ru/asus-p8z68-v-lx-razgon.php

at the moment I have
х43 (+0.045) (DDR3 1600) (LLC Disable)
prime95 – 2 hours– ok (max 1.312 v \ max 70 C)
LinX 0.6.4 – 10 min test – ok (280 v \ 69 С)
AIDA64 cpu test 2 min – 1.312 v 58 C
AIDA64 fpu test 2 min – 1.288 v 69 C

but i noticed when AIDA64 Cahe & Memory Benchmark – checks L1 Cache - I have 1.344 V

my settings unsafe? Would it be better not to overlocking? I can 't risk this computer

Thank you!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200213_190054.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	346.4 KB
ID:	326502
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200213_190241.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	262.4 KB
ID:	326504
Click image for larger version

Name:	cpu.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	937.4 KB
ID:	326506
Click image for larger version

Name:	fpu.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	939.1 KB
ID:	326508
Click image for larger version

Name:	LinX 0.6.4.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	733.1 KB
ID:	326510
Click image for larger version

Name:	prime95 - 2 часа тест ок.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	672.9 KB
ID:	326512
Click image for larger version

Name:	оперативка.JPG
Views:	4
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	326514
Click image for larger version

Name:	light.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	139.7 KB
ID:	326518

Last edited by Olga-v; 02-13-2020 at 10:57 AM.
Olga-v is offline  
post #25 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 12:20 PM
High IQ Person
 
DAM20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 196
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Well, the mobo is trash for oc :/

Yeetus
(10 items)
Brother's heater
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700X (10x -0.106)
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700XT Nitro+ SE
RAM
G.Skill 3466 C14
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
XFX XTR P1-750B-BEFX
Cooling
NH-D15 AM4
Case
Dark Base 900 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Ryzen 2600X (10x -0.05)
Motherboard
ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
GPU
XFX RX480 GTR (580 BIOS) 1430/2020
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
ANTEC HCG-750-GOLD
Cooling
Corsair H100i
Case
NZXT H510i
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
DAM20 is offline  
post #26 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 12:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,462
Rep: 66 (Unique: 61)
Dude questioning shilka on his PSU knowledge. SMH



OP you wanna get Prime95 stable or daily stable? In my second system I'm running a 2600k 5ghz @ 1.44v and I didn't Prime95 it... just Handbrake. During the encode of Handbrake it bluescreen at 1.40v. 1.425v Handbrake would stop at around 1 hour.... Progress? 1.41-1.44v it passed 5+ hours of encoding so I just rolled with that. Never bluescreened once during the 5+ years of having it there.



I would overclock the memory and tighten the timings. You'll get better performance from that, rather than worrying about 100-200mhz more. I have crappy sticks this is the best they could do.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5ghz.PNG
Views:	3
Size:	123.5 KB
ID:	326544  

boot318 is offline  
post #27 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 12:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,636
Rep: 705 (Unique: 564)
Quote: Originally Posted by oxidized View Post
Are you trolling?
R U Srs?

There was a guy b4 Shilka, but Shilka knows his stuff. Who are you? Hmm? Sup?
Schmuckley is online now  
post #28 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 01:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,636
Rep: 705 (Unique: 564)
Set 1.4v solid and see how high you can OC.

or 1.28 if you want chip longevity.

Dadgum, that's some old stuff these days.


http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2284794
Schmuckley is online now  
post #29 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 01:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,636
Rep: 705 (Unique: 564)
A) Cannot mess with Bclck on Sandy Bridge.

B) Multi and voltage you can.

Somebody once said : "Even a monkey can OC Sandy Bridge."

I've done SB/IB Sb/E, IB/E, that worked for a while. X79.

Same RAM, decent chips, these days an X1650-70 V2 is pretty cheap. The boards are hit or miss, though.

Fairly stable platform.

P8z68 was in between p67 and Ivy Bridge and kinda wonky.

Last edited by Schmuckley; 02-13-2020 at 01:19 PM.
Schmuckley is online now  
post #30 of 69 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 02:33 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,911
Rep: 810 (Unique: 457)
Quote: Originally Posted by Olga-v View Post
There is a problem

Spoiler!
ah! i see now. sorry i did not see in your other post w/screen shots of bios.

mine (p8z77-v pro) has:
Spoiler!


to explain myself, i thought you had the z68 -v (no lx even though its in the title ) ((edit) the asus v, v pro and sabertooth for z68/77 chipsets all have about the same bios settings)

so yes, it's different and then i can't give you the best advice for your bios, sorry. i did do a quick google for a review of your board:
Quote:
The AI Tweaker panel is the main section for overclocking. With a decent air cooler, 4.6ghz was easily achievable from this motherboard @ 1.42 volts. More should be possible with improved cooling, however the hard core audience are likely to invest more on a high end motherboard, specifically just for overclocking.
i don't know what temps that was at but but w/4+2 power phases i'd think of ~1.45v as the limit of the board though most any sandy bridge chip can handle 1.50-1.55 under 85c.

i still will suggest LLC on medium if not high. english is my only language; i used translate (chrome) to read the link. i see they mention disabled but i will insist that one person settings does not mean everyone. maybe disabled it could work for you but i'm sure most people it won't.

but most of all, have fun (?)

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by looniam; 02-13-2020 at 02:36 PM.
looniam is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off