Struggle with overclocking the 6950X - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Struggle with overclocking the 6950X

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-28-2020, 12:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,507
Rep: 30 (Unique: 21)
The problem w/the Broadwell-E's are that they're very poor overclockers and an overclocked 5930k or 5960x Haswell-E is just as good for gaming because they have more overclocking headroom.
8051 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-28-2020, 04:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MiHi76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 39
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
The problem w/the Broadwell-E's are that they're very poor overclockers and an overclocked 5930k or 5960x Haswell-E is just as good for gaming because they have more overclocking headroom.
Yes you're right if you compare a good clocking haswell-e with broadwell-e, but not all haswell-e can achieve 4.5GHz easily. I've had all kinds of haswell-e cpu's and not all reached 4.5GHz under 1.3V. Some don't reached 4.5Ghz at any voltage.
Broadwell-e has an advantage in memory speed and strap settings, that makes memory oc very easy.

For me it was a great update to switch from [email protected] to an [email protected] which had costs me 700€ and also brand new.
I got 300€ for the 5960X and under the line the pure costs were 400€.
I think a great deal in 2018!

Hellmachine
(13 items)
CPU
Intel I7 6950x
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage E10
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FE
RAM
GSKILL F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
Power Supply
CORSAIR HX850i
Cooling
Custom water loop
Case
TT CORE X9
Operating System
WIN 10 64Bit
Monitor
Asus ROG Swift PG278Q
Monitor
BenQ ZOWIE XL2735
Keyboard
DUCKY Shine3
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
CREATIVE Titanium HD
▲ hide details ▲
MiHi76 is offline  
post #33 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-28-2020, 04:37 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,438
Rep: 170 (Unique: 103)
Hi,
Haswell-e also has better cache oc ability.

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus Foundation copper-plexi and Heatkiller VRM copper-plexi water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper-plexi Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
D5 pump reservoir combo/ GTX280/ VRM block/ GTX280/ D5 top/ CPU block/ GPU block/ Mora 360/ repeat.
Cooling
MO-RA3 360 PRO stainless steel (25022)
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Other
5.0/https://valid.x86.fr/ez2ifr
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
D5 reservior combo/ 240GTX/ Koolance VRM block/ 240GTX/ D5 Top/ CPU block/ Gpu block/ Mora 360LT/ back to reservoir
Cooling
Mora 360LT black 25000
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
10900k
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo 500gb
Power Supply
EVGA 1000P2
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
So I haven’t been posting updates for quite some time...

I basically just throw my system to board optimised defaults and run xmp again and the PC appears to remain stable for like 20 days

Now a small but sad update I guess...
It just suddenly shut itself down and now it’s giving me 00 post

Things telling me there is a high chance the CPU is dead. If this is indeed the case I just might have had the worst upgrade experience where I had a chip that didn’t last a year and is irreplaceable due to out of warranty.

Broadwell-E is indeed a lackluster : (
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3E791A3B-2347-4DCC-A051-20F4033F4AD5_1589570645174.jpeg
Views:	2
Size:	1.78 MB
ID:	346532  

danny9428 is offline  
post #35 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 12:27 PM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,438
Rep: 170 (Unique: 103)
Hi,
00 is just no power getting to the cpu
Check connections to the board
Try another power supply and cables.
Reseat the cpu and cooler.

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus Foundation copper-plexi and Heatkiller VRM copper-plexi water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper-plexi Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
D5 pump reservoir combo/ GTX280/ VRM block/ GTX280/ D5 top/ CPU block/ GPU block/ Mora 360/ repeat.
Cooling
MO-RA3 360 PRO stainless steel (25022)
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Other
5.0/https://valid.x86.fr/ez2ifr
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
D5 reservior combo/ 240GTX/ Koolance VRM block/ 240GTX/ D5 Top/ CPU block/ Gpu block/ Mora 360LT/ back to reservoir
Cooling
Mora 360LT black 25000
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
10900k
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo 500gb
Power Supply
EVGA 1000P2
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is online now  
post #36 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 01:04 PM
Overclocked
 
HeadlessKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,874
Rep: 327 (Unique: 249)
Quote: Originally Posted by danny9428 View Post
So I haven’t been posting updates for quite some time...

I basically just throw my system to board optimised defaults and run xmp again and the PC appears to remain stable for like 20 days

Now a small but sad update I guess...
It just suddenly shut itself down and now it’s giving me 00 post

Things telling me there is a high chance the CPU is dead. If this is indeed the case I just might have had the worst upgrade experience where I had a chip that didn’t last a year and is irreplaceable due to out of warranty.

Broadwell-E is indeed a lackluster : (
Hi

Sad to hear. But it is not because Broadwell-E is lackluster. It is because of your Asus board, since you just run optimized and run XMP while leaving everything on Auto, the board has just choked the CPU with too much voltage on the VCCIO rail and killed it.
I also degraded my old 5820K because of this, I forgot VCCIO voltage on auto only to find out it was running at 1.25v a few weeks later.
Just try what @ThrashZone suggested see if that works, if it didn't then sadly your chip is most likely gone.

Desktop
(20 items)
Laptop
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-5960X @ 4.5GHz 1.216V/1.792VINPUT/LLC5
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1 @ BIOS 3801
GPU
Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Edition
GPU
Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M4B3000C15 @ 16-18-18-36-1T 3200MHz 1.4V
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 950 PRO NVMe 512GB
Hard Drive
WD BLACK 6TB 256MB CACHE (WD6003FZBX)
Hard Drive
WD GOLD 2TB 128MB CACHE (WD2005FBYZ)
Hard Drive
WD GOLD 14TB 512MB CACHE (WD141KRYZ)
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X62
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator X27
Monitor
Sony XBR43X800D 43" 4K TV
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spark + Razer Turret
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum + Razer Turret
Mouse
Razer Goliathus
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX II
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ @ 2.60 GHz
Motherboard
Asus G751JY
GPU
Asus GTX 980M 4GB
RAM
SK hynix HMT41GS6BFR8A-PB 16GB (2x8) DDR3L-1600
Hard Drive
SanDisk SD7SB3Q128G1002
Hard Drive
HGST Travelstar 7K1000 1TB
Optical Drive
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GUC0N
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Monitor
LG Philips LP173WF4-SPD1 + G-SYNC @ 75 Hz
Audio
Realtek ALC668
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by HeadlessKnight; 05-15-2020 at 01:13 PM.
HeadlessKnight is offline  
post #37 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by HeadlessKnight View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by danny9428 View Post
So I haven’️t been posting updates for quite some time...

I basically just throw my system to board optimised defaults and run xmp again and the PC appears to remain stable for like 20 days

Now a small but sad update I guess...
It just suddenly shut itself down and now it’️s giving me 00 post

Things telling me there is a high chance the CPU is dead. If this is indeed the case I just might have had the worst upgrade experience where I had a chip that didn’️t last a year and is irreplaceable due to out of warranty.

Broadwell-E is indeed a lackluster : (
Hi

Sad to hear. But it is not because Broadwell-E is lackluster. It is because of your Asus board, since you just run optimized and run XMP while leaving everything on Auto, the board has just choked the CPU with too much voltage on the VCCIO rail and killed it.
I also degraded my old 5820K because of this, I forgot VCCIO voltage on auto only to find out it was running at 1.25v a few weeks later.
Just try what @ThrashZone suggested see if that works, if it didn't then sadly your chip is most likely gone.
Oh I forgot to mention, by throwing in default I meant manually keying in the default cpu speed and ratios (VCCSA is 100% manually set). I’m very certain the system had VCCSA at 0.88V and VCCIO at 0.975V. Cache was at stock x28 and voltage is something like 0.9V

This didn’t prevent the chip from dying nevertheless. Unfortunately I tried a different PSU and reseatting it still gives straight 00

Now though I did noticed there’s a slight dark mark at the back of the CPU, two contact pads at the edge of the back had this slight brown tint which wasn’t there last time I reseated the 6950X. Does those pad had any direct linkage to the CPU power rail? Those pads are on the top of the CPU when holding with IHS printing text upright.


Guess I’m heading for Threadripper now lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	E48EC396-31EC-4557-9BDB-6954574F5307_1589599412936.jpeg
Views:	11
Size:	1.03 MB
ID:	346634  

Click image for larger version

Name:	22AD1EF2-E31B-4FA5-B7ED-46BB58FF3C19_1589599434300.jpeg
Views:	15
Size:	2.33 MB
ID:	346636  

danny9428 is offline  
post #38 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 09:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
D-EJ915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 392
Rep: 15 (Unique: 14)
Doesn't look good but you could try to clean it up with an eraser and some alcohol and see if it posts.

Kanna
(13 items)
Mitty
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7820X
Motherboard
Asrock X299 OC Formula
GPU
Asus Strix 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR C14 3200MHz XMP 4x8GB
Hard Drive
Intel P3520 NVMe PCIE AIC 1.2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250 1250 Watt PSU
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 62
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus PA329Q 32" 4k 60Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Mouse
Logitech G600
Audio
HDMI to my Yamaha CX-A5000 preamplifier and studio monitors.
CPU
Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty X79 Champion
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Ti
RAM
Mushkin Redline
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Optical Drive
Asus DVD±RW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Fractal ARC MIDI
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
D-EJ915 is offline  
post #39 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by D-EJ915 View Post
Doesn't look good but you could try to clean it up with an eraser and some alcohol and see if it posts.
To no anvil, the marks there appears to be permanent. Dead cpu it seems
danny9428 is offline  
post #40 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 10:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
D-EJ915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 392
Rep: 15 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by danny9428 View Post
To no anvil, the marks there appears to be permanent. Dead cpu it seems
That sucks man, if you don't want to swap at the moment though could try an E5-1660 V3 they're pretty cheap on ebay and are basically a cheaper 5960x

Kanna
(13 items)
Mitty
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7820X
Motherboard
Asrock X299 OC Formula
GPU
Asus Strix 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR C14 3200MHz XMP 4x8GB
Hard Drive
Intel P3520 NVMe PCIE AIC 1.2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250 1250 Watt PSU
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 62
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus PA329Q 32" 4k 60Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Mouse
Logitech G600
Audio
HDMI to my Yamaha CX-A5000 preamplifier and studio monitors.
CPU
Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty X79 Champion
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Ti
RAM
Mushkin Redline
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Optical Drive
Asus DVD±RW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Fractal ARC MIDI
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
D-EJ915 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off