Struggle with overclocking the 6950X - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Struggle with overclocking the 6950X

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Struggle with overclocking the 6950X

Hello all, I've been lurking on here for guidelines and tips of overclocking different chips and how people have achieved on different CPUs with their settings.
However, my board have been kinda acting weird and seemingly refusing to overclock at all so I figured I may have to ask for some help here.


My PC spec :

ASUS Rampage V Extreme X99 LGA2011-3 (BIOS 4101)
Intel Core i7 6950X
Noctua NH-D14 air cooler
GSkill DDR4 TridentZ 8x16GB [email protected] (F43200C16Q2-128GTZSK)
Zotac GTX970 AMP! Extreme (1529Mhz Core and 2000Mhz VMem)
Corsair HX750v2 Gold PSU
Intel 750 SSD 400GB + Kingston SC300 SSD 120GB + 2x Toshiba 6TB, 1x Seagate 500GB HDD

Currently using an old Corsair 650D Case with a Noctua 200mm intake front, a 120mm stock case Corsair fan in between drive cage and GPU
2x 140mm fans intake from top and 1x 120mm fan exhaust at rear


This board is approching 5 years, but the 6950X is relative new (well...sort of). I purchased this 6950X from previous owner where his went post 00 and broke, and this was a brand new RMA sealed box back in August 2019.

I figured this may come in handy replacing my old 5820k which had been running at 4.1Ghz 24/7
The memory kit is also fairly recent which replaced my old Corsair 4x8GB 2400 kit


Now the PC would work fine if I only put my memory at XMP stats (3200Mhz, 100:133 ratio, 16-18-18-38-T2, 1.35V)
However, the CPU would never stay stable regardless of whatever I tried.

The CPU would read about 75 - 95 Degrees when running 4.0Ghz sync all cores during stress tests.

I've tried 1.21 Vcore at 4Ghz and it would randomly hangs roughly 12-24 hours uptime
tried flickering SA voltage from 0.95 ~ 1.15V and no stability matained
then I suspected maybe it is the Uncore 32 being the curplit but then I threw from 1.025 to 1.15 cache voltage, the system would still freeze up randomly without BSOD

I made sure my voltages were sufficient to let the CPU run Prime95, OccT without rolling out errors and they seemingly went on freely for 4~8 hours without errors....
until like 50% of the time when I wake up from sleep it would hang up during the stress test, others seemingly looked fine.
I also tried MemtestHCI and it had no errors at 3200Mhz, 1.00V SA after 400% pass.

Being so frustrated I decided to go a bit more agressive and try higher speed and see if that gives me a clearer error about what was going wrong.
At 4.1Ghz from 1.26 ~ 1.3 Vcore it would throw me random 0x124, with 50% of the time it gives me full dump file, 25% it stucks at 0%, and the rest mixed with either a blue 0x124 but event lot never show that bsod record, and simply freeze hang with no logs tracable....

Since all of the above Vcore and CPU speed I've tested showed the CPU is very unlikely to be good in overclocking I also tried to put some 2-3 AVX offset hopefully the CPU would run more conserative while OCed to 4Ghz and would behave more stable....except it would still freeze randomly after 12-24 hour uptime....


btw there was also one instance before where my PC crashed and refused to boot thereafter and I had to reseat the memory sticks and CPU to make it go back live.


Right now I'm kinda clueless on what I should do
The system is currently configured about at stock speed (35x with 1 core at 40x), and only run memory and uncore overclocked which are both at 3200Mhz.
This would allow the system to stay stable for more than 30 days 24/7 without crashes and errors.
I bought this chip hoping it would at least allow me to run 4Ghz for the next 3 years or so but right now I'm stuck with stock speed.

Now I do have to add that the mobo didn't came issue-free when I got it, as it was also a 2nd-hand item and the borad seemingly came with a faulty Bios1 chip which would post but never able to update or stay stable in Windows. I figured this would be hard to explain for an RMA and just went on by using the Bios2 for the rest of the days till now.
The Rampage V Extreme also appears to dislike all defaults settings and would randomly shut down itself and restarts whatever CPU the 5820k or the 6950X I throw in but that issue would be gone if I do the settings manually.


Do you think this would be the CPU's fault or that the mobo had some hidden defacts?



I'll include a screen cap of settings I am using atm which would stay stable
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	abc123.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	1.28 MB
ID:	339362  

danny9428 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nizzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,942
Rep: 67 (Unique: 55)
My OC with Asus rampage and 6950x was 4.4ghz @ 1,35v with 3400c13 memory.

Too long ago remember SA and IO, but i think it was about 1.2-1.25v on both

CPU24/7) 7980xe - 7900xMOBO: ASUS Rampage Apex x299 / Asrock Taichi x299RAM: 4x 3600c15 / 4x4266c19/ 4x4000 c17 GPU: 2x MSI tri X 2080ti / 1060tiSTORAGE: Areca 1883i HDD R6 + Samsung 850PROs R0 - 3x SM961 nvme 1TB - 3x Intel Optane 900p 480GBCASE: LD cooling V8 R/B / ld cooling reverse R/BMonitor: Acer x34 /Asus 27 AQ 4k g-sync / Asrock x570 Taichi / 3900x
Nizzen is offline  
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
I've seen lots of people in the broadwell-e thread getting their chips to 4.3~4.5Ghz but my air cooler probably won't bring me there
plus I've also heard having too high SA and IO voltage may fry the CPU randomly causing 00 post code (that was actually what happened to the previous owner of the 6950X)
so I don't think I'll try any higher than 1.15V in that....
danny9428 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 07:19 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,401
Rep: 169 (Unique: 102)
Hi,
Likely the memory x99 doesn't really like hynix memory chips and 16-18-18-38 is likely that
This can show what it is just hit read
http://www.softnology.biz/files.html
Read out,
Spoiler!

Clear cmos and leave set to nothing default 2133 and retry 4.0 or higher core clock.

I believe a safe system agent is 1.15v
VCCIO cpu as well 1.15v is a max limit

Doubt cache has anything to do with the issue leave at auto.

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus Foundation copper-plexi and Heatkiller VRM copper-plexi water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper-plexi Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
D5 pump reservoir combo/ GTX280/ VRM block/ GTX280/ D5 top/ CPU block/ GPU block/ Mora 360/ repeat.
Cooling
MO-RA3 360 PRO stainless steel (25022)
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Other
5.0/https://valid.x86.fr/ez2ifr
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
D5 reservior combo/ 240GTX/ Koolance VRM block/ 240GTX/ D5 Top/ CPU block/ Gpu block/ Mora 360LT/ back to reservoir
Cooling
Mora 360LT black 25000
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
10900k
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo 500gb
Power Supply
EVGA 1000P2
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 07:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Elyminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Frisco, Texas
Posts: 950
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
I agree leave your ram at stock speeds and see how high it will go. 3200, while pretty normal now, is actually probably to fast for that system...
Elyminator is offline  
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Thaiphoon reads that it is a Hynix MFR
well shoot, guess I should've paid a little more for a C15 one instead before
danny9428 is offline  
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 07:54 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,401
Rep: 169 (Unique: 102)
Quote: Originally Posted by danny9428 View Post
Thaiphoon reads that it is a Hynix MFR
well shoot, guess I should've paid a little more for a C15 one instead before
Hi,
Yep the 300.us question if you want 3200c14 or not
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-...82E16820232348

My x99 won't even post with 3200c16 installed

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus Foundation copper-plexi and Heatkiller VRM copper-plexi water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper-plexi Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
D5 pump reservoir combo/ GTX280/ VRM block/ GTX280/ D5 top/ CPU block/ GPU block/ Mora 360/ repeat.
Cooling
MO-RA3 360 PRO stainless steel (25022)
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Other
5.0/https://valid.x86.fr/ez2ifr
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
D5 reservior combo/ 240GTX/ Koolance VRM block/ 240GTX/ D5 Top/ CPU block/ Gpu block/ Mora 360LT/ back to reservoir
Cooling
Mora 360LT black 25000
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
10900k
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo 500gb
Power Supply
EVGA 1000P2
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #8 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
Hi,
Yep the 300.us question if you want 3200c14 or not
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-...82E16820232348

My x99 won't even post with 3200c16 installed
I'm afraid getting a better ddr4 kit would be a bit too late for me since the machine is kinda getting old and I would prefer having 128GB ram

The same 128GB CL15 kit I've considered in the past have also surged in price from less than US$700 to US$850+ (mine costed less than $500 at that time)
and I feel cheap for paying so much more for what would've been relatively little improvement on X99

I'll see if dialing memory back to stock and do CPU-only OC would change any
but iirc it didn't do much back when I just got the chip but I can't remember :/
I might end up sticking with stock speed and xmp memory if that doesn't help either cause oh well it's like 5 years, it served me good with the 5820k
danny9428 is offline  
post #9 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 08:32 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,401
Rep: 169 (Unique: 102)
Hi,
Memory oc doesn't do a lot anyway
I sure wouldn't use any xmp profiles
Only speeds worth messing with is manual dialing in 2666mhz get a little boost over 2400mhz....

https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-in...ty-thread.html

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus Foundation copper-plexi and Heatkiller VRM copper-plexi water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper-plexi Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
D5 pump reservoir combo/ GTX280/ VRM block/ GTX280/ D5 top/ CPU block/ GPU block/ Mora 360/ repeat.
Cooling
MO-RA3 360 PRO stainless steel (25022)
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Other
5.0/https://valid.x86.fr/ez2ifr
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
D5 reservior combo/ 240GTX/ Koolance VRM block/ 240GTX/ D5 Top/ CPU block/ Gpu block/ Mora 360LT/ back to reservoir
Cooling
Mora 360LT black 25000
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
10900k
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo 500gb
Power Supply
EVGA 1000P2
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #10 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
I've read a lot of comparision in way that running DDR4 below 3000 would hurt FPS on AAA titles isn't it?
not sure if that applies on older X99s but I figured if the kit could take 3200 why not :S
danny9428 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off