Overclocking 10900k results, bins and discussion - Page 12 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Overclocking 10900k results, bins and discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #111 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,346
Rep: 440 (Unique: 306)
Quote: Originally Posted by 86Jarrod View Post
Yeah sorry I hit quick reply. My score is 87.
Is this the chip that you said can run Cinebench R20 at 5.3 ghz @ 1.279v load voltage?
Interesting. Mine needs at least 1.320v load voltage for that.

But I notice your VID @ 5 ghz 29C is 1.215v while mine is 1.210v.
My VID at 5.2 ghz windows idle is 1.305v

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #112 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 04:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
86Jarrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 33
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Is this the chip that you said can run Cinebench R20 at 5.3 ghz @ 1.279v load voltage?
Interesting. Mine needs at least 1.320v load voltage for that.

But I notice your VID @ 5 ghz 29C is 1.215v while mine is 1.210v.
My VID at 5.2 ghz windows idle is 1.305v
Yeah it's that chip. I restored optimized defaults. Set the settings you asked for, enabled forced freq or whatever it's called, and left vcore on auto.

First custom build.
(27 items)
CPU
10900k
Motherboard
Maximus HERO xii Z490
GPU
FTW3 Ultra 2080ti
RAM
2x8 Z Royal 4266 c19
Hard Drive
970 EVO plus nvme
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA
Cooling
Monsta 560 rad
Cooling
Monsta 560 rad
Cooling
Corsair XD5 Pump
Cooling
Corsair XD5 Pump
Cooling
Hydrocopper Waterblock
Cooling
Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora Edge
Cooling
8 Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Cooling
2 Corsair LL140 Fans
Cooling
100mm Shit Fan
Case
Tower 900
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus 27 1080
Monitor
Alienware AW3420DW
Keyboard
G Pro
Mouse
G502
Audio
Sennheiser 660s
Audio
Topping D50 DAC
Audio
Alex Cavalli Tube Hybrid Amp
Audio
Mod Mic 5
Other
Corsair Commander Pro
▲ hide details ▲
86Jarrod is offline  
post #113 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 05:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,598
Rep: 39 (Unique: 29)
Quote: Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
what is the safest max vcore to run these cpus at? wanting to try for 52x multi now. At 51x multi (vcore set to "auto") I get Core 0-9 VID @ 1.409, then cpu vcore is 1.376... Wondering what "Auto" vcore and setting 52x multi will do and if it would be safe. With all that said, falkentyne, what would "YOU" use for an average 52x vcore?
here is a screen shot of my VID and VCORE after applying 52x multi, vcore = "Auto" and SVID Behavior = "Trained" Are these to much for 24/7? Temps are crazy low, hottest core got to 67c I just dont understand why "VID" is in the 1.380's range, and Vcore is 1.279v Loaded.... This is normal right, and 1.279v 100% loaded should be safe i would think right?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VID2.png
Views:	74
Size:	472.3 KB
ID:	348288  


**Intel System** Asus Z390E Strix / 8700k @ 4.85Ghz / 32GB BDie @ 3200 CL14 / PowerColor 5700XT / eVGA 850w PSU / Sammy 960 EVO m.2 / MX500 250gb games SSD / 49" Samsung UltraWide 144Hz

**Games Only** Asus Maximus Formula XII / i9 10900k @ 5.2GHz / 32gb 4x8GB Patriot Viper DDR4 4400 @ 4000MTs / 2080Ti / Everything watercooled using Dual Loops and many 420mm rads



Last edited by newls1; 05-22-2020 at 05:45 PM.
newls1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #114 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,346
Rep: 440 (Unique: 306)
So, I increased the cache ratio to x50 (what) from x49, at x53 all cores, lowered the bios voltage set by 5mv, from 1.435v to 1.430v, Level 6 loadline calibration,
and was somehow able to pass both a few runs of Cinebench R20, a few map loads of battlefield 5 (violent transients, sometimes you get 100% load
on all cores to load assets), and 10 loads of Minecraft Java without an internal parity error (those are harmless) and no CPU Cache L0 errors.

I have no idea why it would suddenly be more stable with x50 than with x49. No idea at all. But the 96C temps are NOT helping matters.

Also, for the rest of you, can you please look in your BIOS, go to VF Points, and tell me the VF points VID for your processor at x52 and x53?
Are they the exact same?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	53_50_core_cache_cb20.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	654.1 KB
ID:	348308  


[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #115 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 06:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
86Jarrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 33
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Is this the chip that you said can run Cinebench R20 at 5.3 ghz @ 1.279v load voltage?
Interesting. Mine needs at least 1.320v load voltage for that.

But I notice your VID @ 5 ghz 29C is 1.215v while mine is 1.210v.
My VID at 5.2 ghz windows idle is 1.305v
Here's some more info from bios. I guess i had VRM switching frequency to fast, LLC 6, cache up to 49. Also another screenshot of R20 and AIDA stress. Bumped up voltage a little bit for stability.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200522_185231.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	2.39 MB
ID:	348300  

Click image for larger version

Name:	10900k.png
Views:	77
Size:	2.68 MB
ID:	348302  

Click image for larger version

Name:	10900k2.1.png
Views:	49
Size:	488.1 KB
ID:	348304  


First custom build.
(27 items)
CPU
10900k
Motherboard
Maximus HERO xii Z490
GPU
FTW3 Ultra 2080ti
RAM
2x8 Z Royal 4266 c19
Hard Drive
970 EVO plus nvme
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA
Cooling
Monsta 560 rad
Cooling
Monsta 560 rad
Cooling
Corsair XD5 Pump
Cooling
Corsair XD5 Pump
Cooling
Hydrocopper Waterblock
Cooling
Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora Edge
Cooling
8 Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Cooling
2 Corsair LL140 Fans
Cooling
100mm Shit Fan
Case
Tower 900
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus 27 1080
Monitor
Alienware AW3420DW
Keyboard
G Pro
Mouse
G502
Audio
Sennheiser 660s
Audio
Topping D50 DAC
Audio
Alex Cavalli Tube Hybrid Amp
Audio
Mod Mic 5
Other
Corsair Commander Pro
▲ hide details ▲
86Jarrod is offline  
post #116 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 06:43 PM - Thread Starter
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,346
Rep: 440 (Unique: 306)
Quote: Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
here is a screen shot of my VID and VCORE after applying 52x multi, vcore = "Auto" and SVID Behavior = "Trained" Are these to much for 24/7? Temps are crazy low, hottest core got to 67c I just dont understand why "VID" is in the 1.380's range, and Vcore is 1.279v Loaded.... This is normal right, and 1.279v 100% loaded should be safe i would think right?
Hello,
Can you pass this same test with only "Stress FPU"?
Having stress CPU, FPU and Cache all selected at the same time puts a very low load on the CPU.

I also can't answer your VID question. My VID at 5.2 ghz is 1.305v at idle. VID is basically a quality rating for the processor, and is used by Intel to calculate the processor's "Voltage request" via AC Loadline, with the target being an AC Loadline value of 1.1 mOhms, DC LL of 1.1 mOhms and VRM Loadline (Loadline Calibration) of 1.1 mOhms---LLC3 on Asus boards, LLC: "Standard / Normal" on Gigabyte boards, etc.
Base VID (you can see base VID with SVID Behavior on "best case scenario") or ACLL / DCLL at 0.01 mOhms is the VID shown at idle, also known as " vCPU ".

vCPU will rise up or down depending on temps...starting at 100C, and dropping 1.55mv every 1C temp drop (-1.55mv / 1C), so if your CPU is at 0C, your base VID will be 155mv lower than it would be at 100C.
Disabling "Thermal Velocity Boost Voltage Optimizations" in your BIOS will treat the vCPU as if your CPU were always at 100C, which can be useful in some situations, if you need a "higher" vCPU at lower temps.


Laptops use these Serial VID by default, via direct Serial VID (Offset mode with a 0mv offset, basically). Desktops will use VID this way also, but will only calculate vcore via VID in offset or adaptive modes.
Loadline calibration on laptops is fixed at 1.1 mOhms. On desktops, the lowest level starts at 1.7 mOhms (Asus) and 1.1 mOhms (Gigabyte), with each higher level reducing vdroop by a certain PERCENTAGE of the base vdroop loadline (a lower mOhms value of LLC=lower vdroop).

Easy math example of vdroop:
200A IOUT: (amps).

vTarget: 1.350v set in BIOS, fixed vcore.

1350mv - (200 * 1.1) = 1.130v VOUT (Loadline=intel spec defaults of 1.1 mOhms, or Level 3 LLC on Asus).

1350mv - (200 * .485) = 1.253v VOUT (Loadline=0.485 mOhms, or Level 6 LLC on Asus, LLC Turbo on Gigabyte Z490, etc).

Level 4 LLC on Asus is 0.97 mOhms, btw.

Anyway, that was for fixed voltage.
For offset voltage with a "0mv" offset (not "Auto" offset!!!):

It's
Vcore = vCPU + (amps * ACLL mOhms) - (amps * VRM LLC mOhms). Remembering that vCPU will rise/drop depending on temps also (unless you disable TVB voltage optimizations).

This is exactly how LAPTOPS get their vcore always.

On laptops, OVERRIDE VOLTAGE doesn't set Vcore. it overwrites the vCPU completely with your override value!

Gigabyte Z490 Aorus master and extreme have an "Override" voltage and "Fixed" voltage.
For Asus, you should use adaptive voltage and you can train your "AC Loadline" by the AI options (I still am not fully sure about this procedure), and keep your LLC at level 4.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #117 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 06:46 PM - Thread Starter
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,346
Rep: 440 (Unique: 306)
Quote: Originally Posted by 86Jarrod View Post
Here's some more info from bios. I guess i had VRM switching frequency to fast, LLC 6, cache up to 49. Also another screenshot of R20 and AIDA stress. Bumped up voltage a little bit for stability.
Hi jarrod. Those aren't the VF points in your screenshots. You gave me "Turbo ratio limits". Don't need those.

Go to your advanced settings and look for the menu called "VF Points". Thats what I need

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #118 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 07:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
86Jarrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 33
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Here's the VF points for my current oc. Plus Aida stress FPU only. Thanks for all the awesome info in the thread!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200522_205144.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	2.76 MB
ID:	348332  

Click image for larger version

Name:	10900k2.4.png
Views:	42
Size:	483.3 KB
ID:	348334  


First custom build.
(27 items)
CPU
10900k
Motherboard
Maximus HERO xii Z490
GPU
FTW3 Ultra 2080ti
RAM
2x8 Z Royal 4266 c19
Hard Drive
970 EVO plus nvme
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA
Cooling
Monsta 560 rad
Cooling
Monsta 560 rad
Cooling
Corsair XD5 Pump
Cooling
Corsair XD5 Pump
Cooling
Hydrocopper Waterblock
Cooling
Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora Edge
Cooling
8 Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Cooling
2 Corsair LL140 Fans
Cooling
100mm Shit Fan
Case
Tower 900
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus 27 1080
Monitor
Alienware AW3420DW
Keyboard
G Pro
Mouse
G502
Audio
Sennheiser 660s
Audio
Topping D50 DAC
Audio
Alex Cavalli Tube Hybrid Amp
Audio
Mod Mic 5
Other
Corsair Commander Pro
▲ hide details ▲
86Jarrod is offline  
post #119 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-22-2020, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,346
Rep: 440 (Unique: 306)
Quote: Originally Posted by 86Jarrod View Post
Here's the VF points for my current oc. Plus Aida stress FPU only. Thanks for all the awesome info in the thread!
Thank you very much! Very helpful!

For some reason, my VF point 8 says 5.3 ghz, with the same VID as 5.2 ghz, while yours has 5.4 ghz with no 5.3 VID VF point, with the OC point (I assume favored cores boost). I see that in my AI training profile also, but I guess because I set my AI options to manual, it put a 5.3g VID there with the same VID as 5.2g. Unless there is an ES CPU bug I ran into or something. I'll check Bios 509 with all defaults later to see.

BTW my 5.2v VID in BIOS is 1.394v VF point. But in windows (idle desktop) its 1.305v... hmm...Bios might be showing prediction values maybe.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #120 of 232 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 12:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 44
Rep: 15 (Unique: 8)
Each vf point in bios or the aisuite tool reads back the current ratio and vid associated with it and the last point for 10900k is used for oc ratios either 53x if ratio is not set to any higher or 5xx if you overwrote it with 54x etc . For vf points, you will not be able to request for a non monotonic curve so it must be ever increasing , or at minimum, flat. As in you can set it to be non monotonic but pcode will not honor the request

Last edited by shamino1978; 05-23-2020 at 12:58 AM.
shamino1978 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off