i5 3570k on P8Z77-V LX Bad Overclock? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

i5 3570k on P8Z77-V LX Bad Overclock?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2020, 03:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Blitzur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
i5 3570k on P8Z77-V LX Bad Overclock?

I have it since 2012 and was always interested in Overclcocking it, but i never go it stable.
In the years trying to OC i solved many Problems like:
- Read the correct Core temperature from the DIE and not from the CPU package ^^
- The mounting of the cooler was wrong so i haven't had enough pressure
- Deliding the CPU and applying liquid metal

I was now finally able to get 4.4GHz stable mit no HW errors, no app or Game crashes, no Bluescreens and Prime95 running fine for hours with temps below 90 degree on max and i think it was like 86C average. One core feels badass and is almost always 10C degrees cooler than the others?
BUT it only works when the MOBO is using automatic offsetvoltage and he is bootsing the Volts to 1.46 sometimes.
I tried manually to get it stable with lower volts but i quit trying when i manually reached 1.295V with LLC at maximum i think it was.
I then just thought i don't care it is stable when he is doing it alone ...
I dont really care if it will break in the longrun because then i will switch to a new AM4 and Probably the r5 3600

So here is my question.
Am i just super unlucky with my silicone?
Even at stock settings its boosting its volts to like 1.17 where i read others had 4.5GHz OC with 1.21V and i am at 1.4 to get 4.4 ...
Should i try 4.5 with automatic Volts or would the board kill the CPU when trying to keep it stable and go above 1.5V ?
Maybe retry where 4.4 is stable wit manual fixed volts to see if 4.5 is possible manually?
Could OCing my RAM help? I have 1600.
Or do you have any other ideas?
Thanks
Blitzur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2020, 04:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Comatosed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 264
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
I would say yeah you probably got bad silicone, if your cpu cant do 4.8 on at least 1.36v then its pretty much trash imo, nearly all my cpu I get are needing around 1.36 for 4.8 stable which is average, auto overclock will always push more than it needs which is why we all manually o/c first to test the limits. If yours is delidded and cooler is mounted right and your still needing to push 1.4v through it to be stable at 4.4, i would sell and buy another, I hate to say it but thats one really bad chip. It could also be the mobo, im thinking bad batch on both but im no where near as good at overclocking as some others on this site so there might be something we both could be missing, I hope I am proven wrong.

Sharing is the first step to solving all the problems of humanity.
Main
(16 items)
CPU
9600k 1.38 -1.39 (still testing)
Motherboard
Asus PRIME Z370-P II
GPU
GTX 980ti
RAM
Corsair vengence
Hard Drive
samsung evo
Optical Drive
LG blu-ray rw/r
Power Supply
thermaltake 730w modular
Cooling
xspc rasa block, dual front rad, 900lh pump
Case
ModdedTrendsonic
Operating System
win 10 64
Monitor
23"GD245HQ & 2 x 21" in surround
Monitor
3x1920 nvidia surround
Keyboard
logitech wireless
Mouse
g602
Mouse
Thermaltake tai chi m2
Audio
logitech G935
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Comatosed; 05-29-2020 at 04:20 AM.
Comatosed is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2020, 04:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Blitzur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Yeah i already thought that to
I was thinking about an used i7 3770k which is one of the highest cpu i can get for 1155 i gues but they are around 100€ and for 300€ i would get a r5 3600, DDR4 Ram 16GB and a new AM4 Mainboard so that would be to much.
Or do you know some good sites where i could get a cheap one?

On the other hand if my mainboard is bad that wouldn't help ^^
Should i maybe try to cool my Mainboard VRMs? They haven't got any cooling on them.
if HW info is correct my powerconsumption under Full load is like 100 Wats. That doesn't look that much to me but i might be wrong?

If i see corectly i have 6 phases with doublers.
Blitzur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2020, 05:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Comatosed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 264
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Just a heatsink on the VRM are usually adequate, you only really need to wc them if your going into the extremes and ur cpu/mobo bless, is no where near that but you do seem more versed on that than me, as far as cheap cpu/parts go, you can't beat ebay on firesales, I have been fairly lucky with cpu's from ebay, have had a few DOA mobo though so only buy new on them or anything with a really good RMA warranty (2 years plus), main thing is patience and luck on ebay though (or just vet the guy your buying off, i dont buy off anyone with less than 300 100% feedback), or you can go to a reputable store like the other overclocker uk site or currys for extra insurance but that depends on what country you are in.

Sharing is the first step to solving all the problems of humanity.
Main
(16 items)
CPU
9600k 1.38 -1.39 (still testing)
Motherboard
Asus PRIME Z370-P II
GPU
GTX 980ti
RAM
Corsair vengence
Hard Drive
samsung evo
Optical Drive
LG blu-ray rw/r
Power Supply
thermaltake 730w modular
Cooling
xspc rasa block, dual front rad, 900lh pump
Case
ModdedTrendsonic
Operating System
win 10 64
Monitor
23"GD245HQ & 2 x 21" in surround
Monitor
3x1920 nvidia surround
Keyboard
logitech wireless
Mouse
g602
Mouse
Thermaltake tai chi m2
Audio
logitech G935
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Comatosed; 05-29-2020 at 05:18 AM. Reason: typos
Comatosed is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2020, 05:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 879
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hi,

I had the same problem of 10 C hotter on one core with the liquid metal. It's best to put some LM on the underside of the IHS as well as the die to make sure the best conductivity is achieved but great care is needed. Also good thermal paste on top of the IHS and under the cooler plate that sits on top of the IHS.

I used IC_Diamond_7 for this which is more viscous than Noctura NT-H1
fra z is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-29-2020, 05:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Blitzur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Comatosed View Post
Just a heatsink on the VRM are usually adequate, you only really need to wc them if your going into the extremes and ur cpu/mobo bless, is no where near that but you do seem more versed
I don't really know how much one phase is able to deliver and forgot what the doubling has as benefit or negative.
My VRMs are completly naked and i can't see their temperatures in HW Info ???? So i don't know if there good ...
Quote: Originally Posted by fra z View Post
Hi,

I had the same problem of 10 C hotter on one core with the liquid metal. It's best to put some LM on the underside of the IHS as well as the die to make sure the best conductivity is achieved but great care is needed. Also good thermal paste on top of the IHS and under the cooler plate that sits on top of the IHS.

I used IC_Diamond_7 for this which is more viscous than Noctura NT-H1
I had the Problem before deliding too an i heared thats a sign of bad paste under the IHS when it sgetting old. But i got almost same difference after.
LM was applyied on cpu and ihs so that it will fit good.
Really strange ^^
Blitzur is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2020, 07:20 AM
Nvidia Enthusiast
 
philhalo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,936
Rep: 270 (Unique: 211)
that's a lot of voltage for 4.4, im using my 3570K system right now and 1.38V keeps it stable at 4.8 and even that is a lot of voltage for 4.8. I also wouldn't go above 1.45V ever on an ivy bridge chip i would keep it under 1.44V and you should be ok for 24/7. But general rule is the lower the voltage the longer life it will have.

gaming rig
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K 5GHz 1.25V
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Hero
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3600MHz 32GB
Hard Drive
HGST 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2.5 Inch 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 660p NVME 512GB
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i 850W
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360MM Corsair LL120
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T White
Operating System
windows 10 Pro
Monitor
MSI OPTIX MAG24C
Monitor
Acer XFA240 bmjdpr
Keyboard
G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780 MX
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
▲ hide details ▲
philhalo66 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2020, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Blitzur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
good to know. Then i wont try pushing it to 4.5 ^^
Maybe i'll try to keep it stable at 4.4 with manual volts maybe i can lower them a bit.
Its only peeking into 1.46 sometimes but most ov the time its way lower when idling or doing normal workloads.
Thats also the reason i kinde like the automatic volts. They go way lower when the cpu isn't working hard. Weird silicone i got there ^^
Blitzur is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2020, 09:01 AM
Nvidia Enthusiast
 
philhalo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,936
Rep: 270 (Unique: 211)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blitzur View Post
good to know. Then i wont try pushing it to 4.5 ^^
Maybe i'll try to keep it stable at 4.4 with manual volts maybe i can lower them a bit.
Its only peeking into 1.46 sometimes but most ov the time its way lower when idling or doing normal workloads.
Thats also the reason i kinde like the automatic volts. They go way lower when the cpu isn't working hard. Weird silicone i got there ^^
i would try 1.4v with LLC on high or maybe even the next step and see if it is stable. im having a real hard time believing you need 1.46V just for 4.4.

gaming rig
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K 5GHz 1.25V
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Hero
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3600MHz 32GB
Hard Drive
HGST 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2.5 Inch 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 660p NVME 512GB
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i 850W
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360MM Corsair LL120
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T White
Operating System
windows 10 Pro
Monitor
MSI OPTIX MAG24C
Monitor
Acer XFA240 bmjdpr
Keyboard
G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780 MX
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
▲ hide details ▲
philhalo66 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-30-2020, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Blitzur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
1.448 was max but sometimes it goes hihger. 1.46 was the higest i've ever seen but i think i had asus multicore enhancment activated which raised the bus speed i gues cos i ha 4401MHz instead of dead 4400

What about PLL?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Unbenannt.png
Views:	5
Size:	166.6 KB
ID:	350620  

Blitzur is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off