Overclocking W3175-X - Help! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Overclocking W3175-X - Help!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-31-2020, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,169
Rep: 128 (Unique: 96)
Overclocking W3175-X - Help!

Just built a new rig this weekend - W3175-X on the EVGA SR-3 Dark MoBo.

I would like to get some help OC'ing the CPU. I'm currently running the 'OC Robot' auto-OC'ing utility but I think those settings are overkill. I'm running 4.5Ghz on all cores with AVX offset at 1.

Crushing the benchmarking which is nice but I want to dial in the OC a bit in terms of other settings (VCCSA, VIN, Mesh etc.).

What settings should I use?

Specs of the new system:

1.) 3175-X CPU
2.) Asetek 690LX-PN CPU cooler
3.) 3x sets of 32GB Corsair Dominator RGB @ 4000Mhz (96Gb) with 6 DIMMs
4.) Titan RTX SLI
5.) Highpoint SSD7103 RAID controller
6.) 2x Sabrent 4TB NVMe SSD in RAID-0
7.) EVGA 1600W T2 PSU
8.) EVGA SR-3 Dark MoBo

P.S. I'm having an issue with the system RAM - I bought 3 Corsair Dom RGB kits (32GB each @ 4000Mhz C19 @ 1.350V) for 96GB total but only 80GB shows up in BIOS. The DIMM4 (labeled "CH3" in the BIOS) is just empty. I've tried different sticks, nothing seems to work. I even reseated the CPU and made sure everything is screwed in tightly and sitting correctly. I looked at the DIMM slot AND the CPU socket to make sure there are no bent pins and there are none. Any suggestions on how to fix this?

Also, if I use the XMP setting (4000Mhz), only one stick of RAM shows up in BIOS (16GB)!

A quick snapshot of the system:


Baasha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-31-2020, 09:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,783
Rep: 46 (Unique: 34)
i want your money..... thats it, i have nothing else to contribute to this thread. bye now

**Intel System** Asus Z390E Strix / 8700k @ 4.85Ghz / 32GB BDie @ 3200 CL14 / PowerColor 5700XT / eVGA 850w PSU / Sammy 960 EVO m.2 / MX500 250gb games SSD / 49" Samsung UltraWide 144Hz

**Games Only** Asus Maximus Formula XII / i9 10900k @ 5.3GHz / 32gb 4x8GB Patriot Viper DDR4 4400 @ 4133 / 2080Ti / Everything watercooled using Dual Loops and many 420mm rads


newls1 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-31-2020, 11:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
D-EJ915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 437
Rep: 15 (Unique: 14)
I think Luumi said in his video that this CPU has hard time going over 3600MHz on all 6 channels, I'd try lowering ram speed until they show up then try tuning from there. Other thing would be to get rid of the crappy cooler and get one of the actual waterblocks instead.

I actually kinda want to get one of these but I know it's not really a good use of money since I don't run any big workloads lol it would just be fun to play with.

Here is first Luumi video where he tries to OC with desktop waterblock and 4 memory channels as 2 are blocked.

Kanna
(13 items)
Mitty
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7820X
Motherboard
Asrock X299 OC Formula
GPU
Asus Strix 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR C14 3200MHz XMP 4x8GB
Hard Drive
Intel P3520 NVMe PCIE AIC 1.2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250 1250 Watt PSU
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 62
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus PA329Q 32" 4k 60Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Mouse
Logitech G600
Audio
HDMI to my Yamaha CX-A5000 preamplifier and studio monitors.
CPU
Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty X79 Champion
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Ti
RAM
Mushkin Redline
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Optical Drive
Asus DVD±RW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Fractal ARC MIDI
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
D-EJ915 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-01-2020, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,169
Rep: 128 (Unique: 96)
Quote: Originally Posted by D-EJ915 View Post
I think Luumi said in his video that this CPU has hard time going over 3600MHz on all 6 channels, I'd try lowering ram speed until they show up then try tuning from there. Other thing would be to get rid of the crappy cooler and get one of the actual waterblocks instead.

I actually kinda want to get one of these but I know it's not really a good use of money since I don't run any big workloads lol it would just be fun to play with.

Here is first Luumi video where he tries to OC with desktop waterblock and 4 memory channels as 2 are blocked. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BpiIw_9x910
That's definitely interesting... I have it dialed in at 4.50Ghz on all cores with AVX offset at 0 and Mesh @ x30. VCore is 1.175v - still gets very hot under load but boy does this thing crush the workloads.

The DIMM4 slot on the board seems to be bad - tried a different RAM kit altogether and it doesn't even post. I spoke to EVGA CS and they said it's either a bad DIMM slot or the CPU isn't making contact with all the pins. I checked that twice and the CPU is definitely seated properly with the cooler tightened down. No bent pins in the CPU socket etc.

In that video, Luumi uses 1.98V on the memory to get 3600Mhz !! That is insane - I thought that would damage the IMC in the CPU (?) and the board itself. The BIOS won't let you go past 1.60V on the DIMMs unless you unlock "extreme voltage" which is meant only for LN2 OC'ing iirc.

Thanks for the video link.
Baasha is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,169
Rep: 128 (Unique: 96)
I'm curious as to why this thread has so few responses and almost nobody willing to help. I thought this was "OVERCLOCK" dotnet.

Asked for help in OC'ing the CPU in this thread AND sent a couple of PMs to people and I got no responses to PMs and barely got any responses in this thread.

Thanks, I guess.
Baasha is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-04-2020, 05:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 20
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I think it’s more because very few of us even had the 3647 platform with the 3175X

Frankly none of us could speak of any due to lacking experience with this particular chip and 6-channel DDR4
danny9428 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-04-2020, 06:11 PM
Invalid Media
 
J7SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1,707
Rep: 79 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by danny9428 View Post
I think it’s more because very few of us even had the 3647 platform with the 3175X

Frankly none of us could speak of any due to lacking experience with this particular chip and 6-channel DDR4

^^ That !

I do remember seeing YouTube vids (I thought by DerBauer, but not sure, could have been Linus) about the 'odd' mounting mechanism for Intel's 3647 socket CPUs being quite tricky and affecting memory channels, but I simply cannot locate them w/o several hours of viewing earlier vids. In any case, OCN's knowledge base is far more likely to be able to troubleshoot dual and quad channel than 6- or 8-channel RAM.

In addition, there's Level1Techs vid below about TRX40 AMD TR running 256GB quad-channel on 8 slots @3600...not the same as 6-channel 3175X or a 'dead RAM slot', but nevertheless underscoring oc-challenges with high-cap, all-slot RAM

J7SC is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-04-2020, 06:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,510
Rep: 17 (Unique: 17)
What's the VRM and PCH temp on the SR-3? I wonder if running coolant through the block wouldn't be mandatory when OC'ing?

Threadripper 3960X @ broken PBO EDC=40 | Aorus TRX40 Xtreme | Enermax Liqtech II 360 TR4 + EK Clear flush + 3x Noctua A12x25 | 4x8GB G.Skill TridentZ Neo 3800C14 @ 3733 CL14-15-15-30 CR1 | EVGA Kingpin 2080Ti @ 2115MHz / 8250MHz + Noctua A12-25 | 4x1TB 970 PRO raid0 | Corsair MP600 2TB | Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W | In Win D-Frame 2.0 Gold | ASUS PG349Q
Martin778 is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-06-2020, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,169
Rep: 128 (Unique: 96)
Quote: Originally Posted by danny9428 View Post
I think it’s more because very few of us even had the 3647 platform with the 3175X

Frankly none of us could speak of any due to lacking experience with this particular chip and 6-channel DDR4
I realized this after I posted - haven't seen many, if any, builds of this platform on this forum.

I am building a second rig with the 10900K and have all the parts except the CPU in hand - so hopefully OC'ing that will be more of a group-effort than this platform.

Quote: Originally Posted by J7SC View Post
^^ That !

I do remember seeing YouTube vids (I thought by DerBauer, but not sure, could have been Linus) about the 'odd' mounting mechanism for Intel's 3647 socket CPUs being quite tricky and affecting memory channels, but I simply cannot locate them w/o several hours of viewing earlier vids. In any case, OCN's knowledge base is far more likely to be able to troubleshoot dual and quad channel than 6- or 8-channel RAM.

In addition, there's Level1Techs vid below about TRX40 AMD TR running 256GB quad-channel on 8 slots @3600...not the same as 6-channel 3175X or a 'dead RAM slot', but nevertheless underscoring oc-challenges with high-cap, all-slot RAM

Yes - finally figured out the issue. It was indeed a bad DIMM slot (DIMM4) - I got a new board and the 96GB was recognized instantly at stock settings. The only "issue" I'm having now is if I load XMP (4000Mhz @ 1.35V), it only recognizes 32GB. I figure it's a voltage thing since Luumi's videos on this platform showed him using 1.98V to get 3600Mhz which is downright insane.

I spoke to EVGA CS and they told me to try a kit that has been tested & verified with this MoBo and so I bought another RAM kit - same 4000Mhz as the Corsair Dom Platinum RGB so hopefully that works out of the box.

Quote: Originally Posted by Martin778 View Post
What's the VRM and PCH temp on the SR-3? I wonder if running coolant through the block wouldn't be mandatory when OC'ing?
Are those temps available through HW Monitor? Yes, that is one of the things about my builds - I have neither the interest nor the patience for water-cooling so the VRM water-block is just passively-cooled at this point. I confirmed with EVGA before buying the board that it is perfectly fine to use passive cooling for the VRMs even when OC'ing (not extreme OC'ing I presume).

Regarding VRM temps, I guess I'm running into yet another issue there - I turned off C-States in the BIOS and set the "Power Management" to "High Performance" however during Cinebench R20 (or R15), I see that the CPU downclocks to about 3.3Ghz (my OC is 4.50Ghz) - see pic. Can this be caused due to the VRM temps? If the C-States and Power Management settings are made to prevent down-clocking - why is it still doing it?

The SR-3 BIOS has a tool for "Stress Testing" and "OC Robot" - when I stress-test with this OC setting, it does NOT downclock at all. Only during Cinebench do I see it downclock (of course, I haven't tested the CPU with any other benchmark yet - do you guys recommend any other good programs for testing CPU OC?)

For my OC, this is what I have:

1.) V-Core: 1.20V
2.) Mesh: 30
3.) AVX Offset: 0

Everything else is on Auto - this is where I need help. What do I set Uncore voltage, VCCIO, VCCST, VCCPLL etc.?

Again, with the Asetek 690PX-LN AIO CPU cooler and passive-cooling on the VRM/chipset, there's only so much I can do but I want to optimize my settings as much as possible.

HWMonitor - BEFORE Cinebench R20 run:






HWMonitor - AFTER Cinebench R20 run:





the completed rig:


Baasha is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-06-2020, 01:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
D-EJ915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 437
Rep: 15 (Unique: 14)
On the SR-3 Luumi set his code reader to show VRM temp, you should be able to do it in the bios.

Kanna
(13 items)
Mitty
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7820X
Motherboard
Asrock X299 OC Formula
GPU
Asus Strix 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR C14 3200MHz XMP 4x8GB
Hard Drive
Intel P3520 NVMe PCIE AIC 1.2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250 1250 Watt PSU
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 62
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus PA329Q 32" 4k 60Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Mouse
Logitech G600
Audio
HDMI to my Yamaha CX-A5000 preamplifier and studio monitors.
CPU
Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty X79 Champion
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Ti
RAM
Mushkin Redline
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Optical Drive
Asus DVD±RW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Fractal ARC MIDI
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
D-EJ915 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off