Is it possible for a CPU memory controller to become unstable? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Is it possible for a CPU memory controller to become unstable?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TheMafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 277
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Is it possible for a CPU memory controller to become unstable?

Situation:
Memory stopped booting (motherboard in perma reset cycle)
Replaced motherboard (mem-ok button on new one) (mobo still has issues booting, memok fixes sometimes, powerdown = start the problem all over)
Replaced memory through manufacturer (kingston)

Now:
New mobo
new memory
still issues booting

Memok:
doesnt work on first try, not often
most of the time is able to boot at 1066hz or 1333hz

Question:
Is it possible that the CPU is having stability issues and cannot settle on a memory clock?
What else could be the cause of this? PSU?


Hardware:
Kingston HyperX Savage Memory Red - 32GB Kit (4x8GB)
Intel i7 4790k
previous mobo: Gigabyte X97 SLI (GA-Z97X-SLI)
current mobo: Asus Z87-PRO (refurbished)

edit: current mobo updated

My Competition site: http://MrLazyInc.comVersion 2:Coming soonVersion 1:Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)i7 4Ghz Club|69xx Owners ClubCPU-Z i7 920 + 2x 6950 2GBGPU-Z #1 6950 2GB|GPU-Z #2 6950 2GB
SexyComp v2
(18 items)
CPU
i7 4790k (BX80646I74790K)
Motherboard
asus z87-pro
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1070 Xtreme Gaming 8G (GV-N1070XTREME-8GD)
RAM
Kingston HyperX Savage 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel SSD 80GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro (2.4GB/s Read)
Hard Drive
1 TB (Storage) Marvell Raid - Mirror
Hard Drive
2 TB (Storage 2)
Optical Drive
LG DVDR+
Power Supply
Ultra X4 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Ent
Monitor
Asus 27" VG278HE 144hz 1920x1080
Keyboard
WASD Keyboards Semi Custom Cherry MX Black
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Mouse
STEELSERIES QCK+ XXL (45cm x 39.9cm)
Other
Logitech G930 7.1 Dolby Wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by TheMafia; 06-23-2020 at 12:06 PM.
TheMafia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 12:04 PM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,231
Rep: 734 (Unique: 386)
yes.

I can only run x79 at below rated speed these days.

you're nearly in the same boat, specially if the chip's been in service since release.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TheMafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 277
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
yes.

I can only run x79 at below rated speed these days.

you're nearly in the same boat, specially if the chip's been in service since release.
Do you have the same issue booting as me? new power on = same problems.... it seems to never be able to use my previous working settings. takes ages to get it to boot again.


Any tips on memok usage (advanced methods)?

edit: so to confirm, cpu is the issue here?

My Competition site: http://MrLazyInc.comVersion 2:Coming soonVersion 1:Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)i7 4Ghz Club|69xx Owners ClubCPU-Z i7 920 + 2x 6950 2GBGPU-Z #1 6950 2GB|GPU-Z #2 6950 2GB
SexyComp v2
(18 items)
CPU
i7 4790k (BX80646I74790K)
Motherboard
asus z87-pro
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1070 Xtreme Gaming 8G (GV-N1070XTREME-8GD)
RAM
Kingston HyperX Savage 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel SSD 80GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro (2.4GB/s Read)
Hard Drive
1 TB (Storage) Marvell Raid - Mirror
Hard Drive
2 TB (Storage 2)
Optical Drive
LG DVDR+
Power Supply
Ultra X4 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Ent
Monitor
Asus 27" VG278HE 144hz 1920x1080
Keyboard
WASD Keyboards Semi Custom Cherry MX Black
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Mouse
STEELSERIES QCK+ XXL (45cm x 39.9cm)
Other
Logitech G930 7.1 Dolby Wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲
TheMafia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 12:21 PM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,231
Rep: 734 (Unique: 386)
its now in retirement, gifted to a friend in need of something more reliable.

she very often times restarts into a "settings failed, loading optimized defaults" everything health checks fine though. IE - memory controller decay or something... even though that was supposed to be one of the improvements made with Ivy-E over Sandy-E.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TheMafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 277
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
its now in retirement, gifted to a friend in need of something more reliable.

she very often times restarts into a "settings failed, loading optimized defaults" everything health checks fine though. IE - memory controller decay or something... even though that was supposed to be one of the improvements made with Ivy-E over Sandy-E.

damn i wish it was that easy for me to reset the settings, b/c even at defaults nothing works until i go through a few memok cycles

My Competition site: http://MrLazyInc.comVersion 2:Coming soonVersion 1:Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)i7 4Ghz Club|69xx Owners ClubCPU-Z i7 920 + 2x 6950 2GBGPU-Z #1 6950 2GB|GPU-Z #2 6950 2GB
SexyComp v2
(18 items)
CPU
i7 4790k (BX80646I74790K)
Motherboard
asus z87-pro
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1070 Xtreme Gaming 8G (GV-N1070XTREME-8GD)
RAM
Kingston HyperX Savage 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel SSD 80GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro (2.4GB/s Read)
Hard Drive
1 TB (Storage) Marvell Raid - Mirror
Hard Drive
2 TB (Storage 2)
Optical Drive
LG DVDR+
Power Supply
Ultra X4 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Ent
Monitor
Asus 27" VG278HE 144hz 1920x1080
Keyboard
WASD Keyboards Semi Custom Cherry MX Black
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Mouse
STEELSERIES QCK+ XXL (45cm x 39.9cm)
Other
Logitech G930 7.1 Dolby Wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲
TheMafia is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 12:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
i n f a m o u s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Aperture Science
Posts: 666
Rep: 40 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheMafia View Post
Situation:
Memory stopped booting (motherboard in perma reset cycle)
Replaced motherboard (mem-ok button on new one) (mobo still has issues booting, memok fixes sometimes, powerdown = start the problem all over)
Replaced memory through manufacturer (kingston)

Now:
New mobo
new memory
still issues booting

Memok:
doesnt work on first try, not often
most of the time is able to boot at 1066hz or 1333hz

Question:
Is it possible that the CPU is having stability issues and cannot settle on a memory clock?
What else could be the cause of this? PSU?


Hardware:
Kingston HyperX Savage Memory Red - 32GB Kit (4x8GB)
Intel i7 4790k
previous mobo: Gigabyte X97 SLI (GA-Z97X-SLI)
current mobo: Asus Z87-PRO (refurbished)

edit: current mobo updated
I've had it happen to me with a Ryzen 3 2200g CPU. When I couldn't overclock my RAM I increased the SoC voltage slightly to stabilize my RAM OC and then the computer wouldn't boot unless I only used single-channel RAM.

I'm content
(14 items)
Dell XPS 13 9360
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
msi B450I GAMING PLUS AC
GPU
msi GeForce GTX 1070 Aero ITX OC
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB DDR4-3200MHz
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 970 EVO
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD Black
Power Supply
CORSAIR SF450
Cooling
Noctua NH-L12S
Case
NCase M1 V6
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 27GN850-B
Keyboard
Ducky One TKL RGB
Mouse
Logitech G203 Prodigy
Audio
CORSAIR HS60 PRO SURROUND
CPU
Core i5-7200U
GPU
intel HD Graphics 620
RAM
8GB LPDDR3 1866MHz
Hard Drive
TOSHIBA SG5
Hard Drive
Western Digital My Book
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
13.3” FHD InfinityEdge touchscreen
▲ hide details ▲


i n f a m o u s is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TheMafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 277
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by i n f a m o u s View Post
I've had it happen to me with a Ryzen 3 2200g CPU. When I couldn't overclock my RAM I increased the SoC voltage slightly to stabilize my RAM OC and then the computer wouldn't boot unless I only used single-channel RAM.

I did notice that with only one stick in, i had way more success!!!


Whats your conclusion about your situation looking back on it?

My Competition site: http://MrLazyInc.comVersion 2:Coming soonVersion 1:Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)i7 4Ghz Club|69xx Owners ClubCPU-Z i7 920 + 2x 6950 2GBGPU-Z #1 6950 2GB|GPU-Z #2 6950 2GB
SexyComp v2
(18 items)
CPU
i7 4790k (BX80646I74790K)
Motherboard
asus z87-pro
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1070 Xtreme Gaming 8G (GV-N1070XTREME-8GD)
RAM
Kingston HyperX Savage 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel SSD 80GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro (2.4GB/s Read)
Hard Drive
1 TB (Storage) Marvell Raid - Mirror
Hard Drive
2 TB (Storage 2)
Optical Drive
LG DVDR+
Power Supply
Ultra X4 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Ent
Monitor
Asus 27" VG278HE 144hz 1920x1080
Keyboard
WASD Keyboards Semi Custom Cherry MX Black
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Mouse
STEELSERIES QCK+ XXL (45cm x 39.9cm)
Other
Logitech G930 7.1 Dolby Wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲
TheMafia is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 12:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
i n f a m o u s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Aperture Science
Posts: 666
Rep: 40 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheMafia View Post
I did notice that with only one stick in, i had way more success!!!


Whats your conclusion about your situation looking back on it?
There was no point in me keeping the CPU since I have a dual-channel RAM kit and the PC won't boot unless I'm using it in single-channel mode, so I tossed it and purchased the current CPU in my sig rig.

edit: I just noticed you're running a quad-channel setup. That's definitely going to put more strain on your IMC too.

I'm content
(14 items)
Dell XPS 13 9360
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
msi B450I GAMING PLUS AC
GPU
msi GeForce GTX 1070 Aero ITX OC
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB DDR4-3200MHz
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 970 EVO
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD Black
Power Supply
CORSAIR SF450
Cooling
Noctua NH-L12S
Case
NCase M1 V6
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 27GN850-B
Keyboard
Ducky One TKL RGB
Mouse
Logitech G203 Prodigy
Audio
CORSAIR HS60 PRO SURROUND
CPU
Core i5-7200U
GPU
intel HD Graphics 620
RAM
8GB LPDDR3 1866MHz
Hard Drive
TOSHIBA SG5
Hard Drive
Western Digital My Book
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
13.3” FHD InfinityEdge touchscreen
▲ hide details ▲


i n f a m o u s is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TheMafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 277
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by i n f a m o u s View Post
There was no point in me keeping the CPU since I have a dual-channel RAM kit and the PC won't boot unless I'm using it in single-channel mode, so I tossed it and purchased the current CPU in my sig rig.

edit: I just noticed you're running a quad-channel setup. That's definitely going to put more strain on your IMC too.
Im running quad?? i thought i was doing dual, can my cpu even do quad?

My Competition site: http://MrLazyInc.comVersion 2:Coming soonVersion 1:Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)i7 4Ghz Club|69xx Owners ClubCPU-Z i7 920 + 2x 6950 2GBGPU-Z #1 6950 2GB|GPU-Z #2 6950 2GB
SexyComp v2
(18 items)
CPU
i7 4790k (BX80646I74790K)
Motherboard
asus z87-pro
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1070 Xtreme Gaming 8G (GV-N1070XTREME-8GD)
RAM
Kingston HyperX Savage 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel SSD 80GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro (2.4GB/s Read)
Hard Drive
1 TB (Storage) Marvell Raid - Mirror
Hard Drive
2 TB (Storage 2)
Optical Drive
LG DVDR+
Power Supply
Ultra X4 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Ent
Monitor
Asus 27" VG278HE 144hz 1920x1080
Keyboard
WASD Keyboards Semi Custom Cherry MX Black
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Mouse
STEELSERIES QCK+ XXL (45cm x 39.9cm)
Other
Logitech G930 7.1 Dolby Wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲
TheMafia is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 01:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
i n f a m o u s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Aperture Science
Posts: 666
Rep: 40 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheMafia View Post
Im running quad?? i thought i was doing dual, can my cpu even do quad?
You stated in your original post that you were running Kingston HyperX Savage Memory Red - 32GB Kit (4x8GB) RAM kit? If your motherboard has four memory slots, it should be able to support quad-channel.

I'm content
(14 items)
Dell XPS 13 9360
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
msi B450I GAMING PLUS AC
GPU
msi GeForce GTX 1070 Aero ITX OC
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB DDR4-3200MHz
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 970 EVO
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD Black
Power Supply
CORSAIR SF450
Cooling
Noctua NH-L12S
Case
NCase M1 V6
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 27GN850-B
Keyboard
Ducky One TKL RGB
Mouse
Logitech G203 Prodigy
Audio
CORSAIR HS60 PRO SURROUND
CPU
Core i5-7200U
GPU
intel HD Graphics 620
RAM
8GB LPDDR3 1866MHz
Hard Drive
TOSHIBA SG5
Hard Drive
Western Digital My Book
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
13.3” FHD InfinityEdge touchscreen
▲ hide details ▲


i n f a m o u s is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off