I9 9900kf cannot get stable over clock even at 4.7ghz - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

I9 9900kf cannot get stable over clock even at 4.7ghz

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-24-2020, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I9 9900kf cannot get stable over clock even at 4.7ghz

Like I said in the title, I've been bashing my head against the wall trying to figure out what's going on. Settings I've changed:
-cstates off
-xmp enabled (also tried while disabled)
-Vcore tried up to 1.355
-clock speed 100
-multiplier 4.7-4.9
-enhanced multicore performance off(also tried on)
-LLC set to turbo

Specs:
-gigabyte z390 ultra (updated to latest bios)
-9900kf
-850w power supply
-corsair h100i AIO

I just cannot get it to pass prime95/occt/aida64. BSOD(whea) after about 10-15 mins every time at 4.7. one thing I did notice is if I run AIDA64 without ram stress, it doesn't crash. Runs all stress tests fine at stock. I did find out my ram I'm using isn't on QVL. However, like I said, I tried it without xmp enabled. So I'm not sure. Any help would be appreciated. I know silicone lottery said 100% of this chip should be able to do 4.8.
Crux133 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-24-2020, 05:01 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,365
Rep: 145 (Unique: 124)
Could be a crappy IMC.
In saying that my 9900K uses 1.22V for 4.8 and i think like 1.17 or lower for 4.7Ghz.
Try lowwww voltage.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is online now  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-24-2020, 07:37 PM
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,896
Rep: 457 (Unique: 317)
Quote: Originally Posted by Crux133 View Post
Like I said in the title, I've been bashing my head against the wall trying to figure out what's going on. Settings I've changed:
-cstates off
-xmp enabled (also tried while disabled)
-Vcore tried up to 1.355
-clock speed 100
-multiplier 4.7-4.9
-enhanced multicore performance off(also tried on)
-LLC set to turbo

Specs:
-gigabyte z390 ultra (updated to latest bios)
-9900kf
-850w power supply
-corsair h100i AIO

I just cannot get it to pass prime95/occt/aida64. BSOD(whea) after about 10-15 mins every time at 4.7. one thing I did notice is if I run AIDA64 without ram stress, it doesn't crash. Runs all stress tests fine at stock. I did find out my ram I'm using isn't on QVL. However, like I said, I tried it without xmp enabled. So I'm not sure. Any help would be appreciated. I know silicone lottery said 100% of this chip should be able to do 4.8.
Please RMA the chip immediately.
Since you disabled XMP, it isn't anything to do with RAM at all. Your chip is unstable at STOCK.

You should be able to pass most "basic" stress tests (AIDA64 stress FPU, Prime95 AVX disabled small FFT, Cinebench R20, Realbench 2.56), at 4.7 ghz 1.205v Bios set (dont set 1.20v--there is a bug I don't want to go into) , LLC Turbo, and ALL stress tests (including AVX small FFT) at 1.250v Bios set, LLC Turbo. The fact that you can't do this means your CPU is unstable at stock.

The CPU should, at all auto settings, and at "failsafe" AC/DC Loadline settings (1.6 mOhms AC, 1.6 mOhms DC LL), Loadline calibration set to standard and Vcore set to "Auto", request around 1.20-1.28v at load. These are worst case settings.

The fact that you can't even get stable at 1.35v bios set, LLC Turbo, means your CPU is defective. Please RMA it. Trust me.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-25-2020, 02:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xarot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,195
Rep: 46 (Unique: 43)
Your RAM might be an issue also unless you tried with another kit. Try checking if any of the modules is bad individually.

i9-7980XE / Asus Rampage VI Extreme / Corsair Dominator Platinum 64 GB 3200 MHz CL16-18-18/ Palit RTX2080TI / Intel 750 NVME / Samsung 1TB / Corsair AX1500i / Phanteks Enthoo Primo / Asus PG279Q
xarot is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2020, 05:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
vMax65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 195
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Agreed. the 9900K should do 4.8GHz with ease without changing anything..Not sure on the motherboard but I personally have not had issues with Gigabyte as I have the Z490 Ultra and it is a very good board for me..

Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Please RMA the chip immediately.
Since you disabled XMP, it isn't anything to do with RAM at all. Your chip is unstable at STOCK.

You should be able to pass most "basic" stress tests (AIDA64 stress FPU, Prime95 AVX disabled small FFT, Cinebench R20, Realbench 2.56), at 4.7 ghz 1.205v Bios set (dont set 1.20v--there is a bug I don't want to go into) , LLC Turbo, and ALL stress tests (including AVX small FFT) at 1.250v Bios set, LLC Turbo. The fact that you can't do this means your CPU is unstable at stock.

The CPU should, at all auto settings, and at "failsafe" AC/DC Loadline settings (1.6 mOhms AC, 1.6 mOhms DC LL), Loadline calibration set to standard and Vcore set to "Auto", request around 1.20-1.28v at load. These are worst case settings.

The fact that you can't even get stable at 1.35v bios set, LLC Turbo, means your CPU is defective. Please RMA it. Trust me.

Gigabyte Z490 Aorus Ultra - i7-10700K - 4x8GB TT Toughram RGB DDR4 RGB 3600 - 1 X ADATA 500GB NVMe M.2 SSD - 1 x Samsung EVO 250GB SSD - 1 x 256GB M4 Crucial SSD - 1 x 1TB Hard Drives - MSI Geforce RTX 2080 Gaming X - Antec Crystal P120 Case - Arctic Freezer II 360mm AIO.
vMax65 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2020, 05:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
vMax65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 195
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
I just remembered one thing on RAM and Gigabyte. Sometimes putting the RAM into the other two slots makes a huge difference. If you have not tried that, place the RAM in the other slots and try again. Could be nothing but worth a try.

Quote: Originally Posted by Crux133 View Post
Like I said in the title, I've been bashing my head against the wall trying to figure out what's going on. Settings I've changed:
-cstates off
-xmp enabled (also tried while disabled)
-Vcore tried up to 1.355
-clock speed 100
-multiplier 4.7-4.9
-enhanced multicore performance off(also tried on)
-LLC set to turbo

Specs:
-gigabyte z390 ultra (updated to latest bios)
-9900kf
-850w power supply
-corsair h100i AIO

I just cannot get it to pass prime95/occt/aida64. BSOD(whea) after about 10-15 mins every time at 4.7. one thing I did notice is if I run AIDA64 without ram stress, it doesn't crash. Runs all stress tests fine at stock. I did find out my ram I'm using isn't on QVL. However, like I said, I tried it without xmp enabled. So I'm not sure. Any help would be appreciated. I know silicone lottery said 100% of this chip should be able to do 4.8.

Gigabyte Z490 Aorus Ultra - i7-10700K - 4x8GB TT Toughram RGB DDR4 RGB 3600 - 1 X ADATA 500GB NVMe M.2 SSD - 1 x Samsung EVO 250GB SSD - 1 x 256GB M4 Crucial SSD - 1 x 1TB Hard Drives - MSI Geforce RTX 2080 Gaming X - Antec Crystal P120 Case - Arctic Freezer II 360mm AIO.
vMax65 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2020, 11:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 285
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
Make sure your uncore is at 43 (4.3ghz) in bios. Check what your llc is. Some boards have a lot of vdroop where even 1.35v could be dropping down to 1.20v.
Are you sure your power supply is good?

CPU
Core I9-9900k @ 5.0
Motherboard
Asus Maximus XI Gene
GPU
EVGA 2080TI XC Black Edition
RAM
CMK16GX4M2K4700C19
Hard Drive
Intel 905p 960GB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB m.2
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1KW
Cooling
280mm Slim + 360MM Thick
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 64bit
Monitor
HP Omen x27 240hz
Audio
Sennheiser HD 800s + Questyle CMA600i
▲ hide details ▲
xSneak is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2020, 12:10 PM
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,896
Rep: 457 (Unique: 317)
Quote: Originally Posted by xSneak View Post
Make sure your uncore is at 43 (4.3ghz) in bios. Check what your llc is. Some boards have a lot of vdroop where even 1.35v could be dropping down to 1.20v.
Are you sure your power supply is good?
100% of 9900K/KF should be more than rock solid stable at 1.20v LOAD voltage at 4.7 ghz.
Uncore at x43 is default, and x44 (3 below core) won't change this stability. Now yes, uncore at x47---that's a problem. And first release (for a few beta cycles) of Z390 Gigabyte Bioses had uncore at x47 at stock. Which was awful. But I doubt any board exists with a bios that old onboard.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off