Is my new i9 10900K actually locked or defective or something? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Is my new i9 10900K actually locked or defective or something?

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-30-2020, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
Is my new i9 10900K actually locked or defective or something?

Hello folks,

I'm new here, but certainly no stranger to overclocking CPUs as I've been doing it since the mid 1990s.

So, I recently built up a brand new Intel i9 based gaming computer and have run into a very odd issue.

I chose the i9 10900K X-series processor to be sure it was an unlocked one that I could do some overclocking with. This is a miniITX build, so I chose the popular ASRock mini-ITX board H470M-ITX/ac for my motherboard.

The build went smoothly and it runs great and all, however even though this board and CPU are designed to be overclockable, and the BIOS even has an "OC Tweaking" section, there are absolutely no options to overclock anything, no CPU ratio multiplier options or anything!

This board uses the ASRock UEFI BIOS interface and it normally would have lots of options for CPU/Memory frequency/voltage settings. Of course I did lots of Googling before deciding to post on here, but I couldn't find anything on this issue as others don't seem to have this issue. I even found some videos of people instructing on how to OC on this board and they have all the OC options they need and are not present in my BIOS options.

Naturally, I then updated the BIOS to the current version to make sure it wasn't a version issue or something like that and did so successfully, but still no OC options exist!