Is T2300 64 Bit? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Is T2300 64 Bit?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2007, 11:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,360
Rep: 41 (Unique: 39)
hey guys on my laptop, i have an Intel centrino duo T2300
is this 64 bit? as i want to install a 64 bit os just to try it out.
ta

Joshn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2007, 11:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 647
Rep: 47 (Unique: 42)
I'm fairly certain it's 64bit.

-== Hard worK never killed anybody... ==-
-== biggrin.gif But why take chances. biggrin.gif =-


thumb.gifWhen someone helps you, +rep him/her thumb.gif
tlan is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2007, 11:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,746
Rep: 276 (Unique: 231)
Yes it is... all intel CPU's after the pentium 5xx series support EM64T, except select Celerons and a few others.

Sandy Beach
(13 items)
CPU
2500K @ 4.5GHz/1.32v
Motherboard
P8P67-PRO [BIOS 1704]
GPU
MSI GTX780 TFIV
RAM
G.Skill 4x4GB DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24-1T)
Hard Drive
512GB 850EVO, WD Black 1TB & ES.2 1TB & Cuda 3TB
Power Supply
SilverStone Strider Plus 750W [Sleeved]
Cooling
XSPC Rasa w/ RS240
Case
Custom Stacker 832
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Dell SX2210
Keyboard
Filco Ninja w/ Browns
Mouse
Logitech G500
Mouse
Steelseries 4HD
▲ hide details ▲
kidwolf909 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2007, 11:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,360
Rep: 41 (Unique: 39)
beauty . thanks guys.

Joshn is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2007, 11:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Easty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,207
Rep: 74 (Unique: 67)
yeah, check the spec here


Easty is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2007, 11:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,987
Rep: 170 (Unique: 147)
I believe it cannot. Just to point out something, I think some of you are confused. This is a Core Duo CPU. Not a Core 2 Duo.
64-bit is not listed for the T2300
dannyyboii is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-14-2007, 11:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Easty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,207
Rep: 74 (Unique: 67)
including you?

see my link above, if its a duo its a dual "core"


Intel® Centrino® Duo Processor Technology

Inte® 64 Architecture
An built-in technology that can take advantage of 64-bit applications as they become available.


Easty is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-15-2007, 12:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,746
Rep: 276 (Unique: 231)
Wow... upon further investigation, it doesn't support it, so stop if you're installing! lol

Look here, only T7000's do, the 2000's don't: http://www.intel.com/products/centrino/compare.htm

I thought for sure all Core-series did... sorry for the confusion Joshn!

Sandy Beach
(13 items)
CPU
2500K @ 4.5GHz/1.32v
Motherboard
P8P67-PRO [BIOS 1704]
GPU
MSI GTX780 TFIV
RAM
G.Skill 4x4GB DDR3-1600 (8-8-8-24-1T)
Hard Drive
512GB 850EVO, WD Black 1TB & ES.2 1TB & Cuda 3TB
Power Supply
SilverStone Strider Plus 750W [Sleeved]
Cooling
XSPC Rasa w/ RS240
Case
Custom Stacker 832
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Dell SX2210
Keyboard
Filco Ninja w/ Browns
Mouse
Logitech G500
Mouse
Steelseries 4HD
▲ hide details ▲
kidwolf909 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-15-2007, 12:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,987
Rep: 170 (Unique: 147)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Easty View Post
including you?

see my link above, if its a duo its a dual "core"


Intel® Centrino® Duo Processor Technology

Inte® 64 Architecture
An built-in technology that can take advantage of 64-bit applications as they become available.
Do your research correctly. The link you posted linked to Core 2 Duo processors. A T2300 IS NOT a Core 2 Duo. It is indeed a dual core CPU but it belongs to the Core Duo line. However different. Core 2 Duo and Core Duo are both two different series of CPUs and they are both dual core CPUs. But they are entirely different. The Core 2 Duos support 64-bit. Not the Core Duos.
dannyyboii is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-15-2007, 12:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: At the end of the rainbow
Posts: 6,631
Rep: 406 (Unique: 262)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidwolf909 View Post
Wow... upon further investigation, it doesn't support it, so stop if you're installing! lol

Look here, only T7000's do, the 2000's don't: http://www.intel.com/products/centrino/compare.htm

I thought for sure all Core-series did... sorry for the confusion Joshn!
Just as danny... stated this CORE DUO

CORE 2 DUO is 64bit

offtopic.gif
iampoor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off