Prime95 Failed after 18 Hours Being on!!! What Should I do? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Prime95 Failed after 18 Hours Being on!!! What Should I do?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 03-06-2009, 10:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
corey407woc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 453
Rep: 21 (Unique: 21)
do i need to mess with the mch reference then if i up the mch voltage to 1.5?
corey407woc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 03-07-2009, 02:08 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by corey407woc View Post
hey guys i was running prime95 for 24 hours and it failed 18 hours what would you do
Call it a day, and game/encode or do whatever you do on a day-to-day basis with it. If you get a BSOD while under every day normal use, then worry about tweaking it from there.


Lyric is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 03-07-2009, 02:10 AM
Retired Staff
 
ericeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 17,403
Rep: 2741 (Unique: 1482)
Quote:
Originally Posted by corey407woc View Post
do i need to mess with the mch reference then if i up the mch voltage to 1.5?
If you have the MCH at 1.5v on the UD3P, you are overvolting the hell out of it.

With a Q9650 running 445 FSB, I can run the MCH at 1.26v on that board.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div><span></span><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span><span></span><div class="quote-block"><span>Originally Posted by </span><strong>DuckieHo</strong><span> </span><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;p=4306551#post4306551"><img alt="go_quote.gif" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a></div><span></span><div><span>Benchmarking is so boring......</span></div><span></span></div><span></span></div><span></span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/229532-essentials-overclocking-680i-nvidia-reference-boards.html">eVGA 680i Overclocking guide</a><span> .......... </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/269840-asus-p5e-x38-thread.html">ASUS P5E/Rampage Formula Thread</a><span>.......... </span><a href="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=521851" target="_blank">4.4GHz CPU-Z</a><br><br><div style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/426626-official-rog-asus-rampage-formula-x48.html"><span><b>The Official Asus Rampage Formula Club</b></span></a></span></div></div></div>


ericeod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 03-07-2009, 04:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DeadSkull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,790
Rep: 114 (Unique: 94)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericeod View Post
If you have the MCH at 1.5v on the UD3P, you are overvolting the hell out of it.

With a Q9650 running 445 FSB, I can run the MCH at 1.26v on that board.
Same here, but for some reason when I had q6600 I had to run mch north of 1.5V.


DeadSkull is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 01:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cyclik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by corey407woc View Post
yeah guys i have the f7 bios

running 3.6 400x9

1.35 in bios LLC enabled

1.328 in cpuz but hits 1.312 on load idk why

2.12 in bios ram 5-5-5-15 @ 800 1:1 ratio but 2.1 in everest and every other program on windows

1.40 mch voltage which failed after 18 hours now raising to 1.44 mch

mch reference left at auto but now putting at .943 to test tonight
I would be willing to bet it has something to do with your MCH Core Voltage. I had to keep cranking mine to achieve a stable OC

Cyclik is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 06:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
aquax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 365
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
Prime95 is a fail, it will never give you accurate results, it can fail after 1 hour / 10 hours / 20 hours and it take too much time. I would try LinX and make at least 50/100 passes, it will take around 2/3 hours but at this time you will be sure that your CPU is 100% stable. I passed 12 hours prime95 blend, and I was getting a random BSOD at windows startup (0x124), unfortunately prime95 didn't catch the instability, so I give LinX a try and I failed in the pass #22, so I knew my vcore is not enough, raising it and till now no BSOD

aquax is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 08:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PlUgOuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 843
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
But isn't linX dangerous because even though it's a good program to test stability it raises temps drastically and most of the time above intels max recommended temps during the process.

PlUgOuT is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 09:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kremtok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Homer, AK
Posts: 5,183
Rep: 369 (Unique: 298)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquax View Post
Prime95 is a fail, it will never give you accurate results, it can fail after 1 hour / 10 hours / 20 hours and it take too much time. I would try LinX and make at least 50/100 passes, it will take around 2/3 hours but at this time you will be sure that your CPU is 100% stable. I passed 12 hours prime95 blend, and I was getting a random BSOD at windows startup (0x124), unfortunately prime95 didn't catch the instability, so I give LinX a try and I failed in the pass #22, so I knew my vcore is not enough, raising it and till now no BSOD
This is not good advice. Prime95 is a very thorough test, and yes, it does take time to properly test your system. If you know how to use the program, then it is very useful and can tell you where your problem is.

Which Prime95 test were you using that wouldn't reveal your system's instability? Your BSOD at startup is probably relate to the load line calibration or vdroop control feature. More voltage is probably not doing you as much good as you think.

Reason. Purpose. Self Esteem.
My Little Pony: Overclocking is Magic!
XBox Live Gamertag: Kremtok



kremtok is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 10:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
aquax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 365
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kremtok View Post
This is not good advice. Prime95 is a very thorough test, and yes, it does take time to properly test your system. If you know how to use the program, then it is very useful and can tell you where your problem is.

Which Prime95 test were you using that wouldn't reveal your system's instability? Your BSOD at startup is probably relate to the load line calibration or vdroop control feature. More voltage is probably not doing you as much good as you think.
it was prime95 blend test passed 12 hours but I would get random BSOD with this settings

aquax is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 10:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PlUgOuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 843
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
Yeah idk why but i get a lot of random bsod's too. Nothing happened when i increased vcore.

PlUgOuT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off