Q6600 fsb 450 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Q6600 fsb 450

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
larrytan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 110
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
I just got my crucial ballistix today. So I decided to OC my q6600 to a higher FSB. My target for now is 450 FSB. The following is the settings I will be using. I wanna know any problem with the settings and whether is this setting good for long term usage. All suggestion are most welcome.

CPU = 450 x 8 = 3600
CPU VCORE = 1.504V
CPU VTT = 1.404V
CPU PLL = 1.5V
NB = 1.555V
larrytan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 11:23 AM
Retired Staff
 
ericeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 17,403
Rep: 2741 (Unique: 1482)
While high, none of those are dangerously high. All are below the max tolerance except the CPU (1.55v absolute max according to Intel), and even the Q6600 can run that safely as long as it is kept cool.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div><span></span><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span><span></span><div class="quote-block"><span>Originally Posted by </span><strong>DuckieHo</strong><span> </span><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;p=4306551#post4306551"><img alt="go_quote.gif" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a></div><span></span><div><span>Benchmarking is so boring......</span></div><span></span></div><span></span></div><span></span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/229532-essentials-overclocking-680i-nvidia-reference-boards.html">eVGA 680i Overclocking guide</a><span> .......... </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/269840-asus-p5e-x38-thread.html">ASUS P5E/Rampage Formula Thread</a><span>.......... </span><a href="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=521851" target="_blank">4.4GHz CPU-Z</a><br><br><div style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/426626-official-rog-asus-rampage-formula-x48.html"><span><b>The Official Asus Rampage Formula Club</b></span></a></span></div></div></div>


ericeod is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
larrytan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 110
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Thank for the fast reply. What's the max safe voltage for NB?
larrytan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 11:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DraganUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 4,788
Rep: 398 (Unique: 325)
MAke sure u keep that NB cool enough. They know to run hot on those voltages



DraganUS is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
larrytan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 110
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Thank for your warmest reminder. I will keep a look out. Now stressing @ NB = 1.404. hope it work.
larrytan is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 11:52 AM
Retired Staff
 
ericeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 17,403
Rep: 2741 (Unique: 1482)
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrytan View Post
Thank for the fast reply. What's the max safe voltage for NB?
It is really high! The max safe NB voltage for the X48 is 1.71v. On air cooling, you should have no problem running it up to 1.59v.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div><span></span><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span><span></span><div class="quote-block"><span>Originally Posted by </span><strong>DuckieHo</strong><span> </span><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;p=4306551#post4306551"><img alt="go_quote.gif" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a></div><span></span><div><span>Benchmarking is so boring......</span></div><span></span></div><span></span></div><span></span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/229532-essentials-overclocking-680i-nvidia-reference-boards.html">eVGA 680i Overclocking guide</a><span> .......... </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/269840-asus-p5e-x38-thread.html">ASUS P5E/Rampage Formula Thread</a><span>.......... </span><a href="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=521851" target="_blank">4.4GHz CPU-Z</a><br><br><div style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/426626-official-rog-asus-rampage-formula-x48.html"><span><b>The Official Asus Rampage Formula Club</b></span></a></span></div></div></div>


ericeod is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
larrytan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 110
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
OMG That's freaking high. I wonder if Q6600 can hit a 2k FSB... When I was at 3.6 1600FSB. I leave all the voltage untouched except Vcore. NB and CPU VTT was at around 1.2 or close to 1.3. Now I only want to push another 50FSB I guess I do not need to do much work right?
larrytan is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 01:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DraganUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 4,788
Rep: 398 (Unique: 325)
Yea , I saw Q66 hit 500FSB with 1.52 NB vcore on EP45-UD3P.
One of the members here at OCN achived that.



DraganUS is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
larrytan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 110
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Cool. I wonder will I be next?
larrytan is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2009, 01:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
microman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 10,516
Rep: 757 (Unique: 565)
I hit 489 on a 680i never tried for a high fsb on any of my other boards
microman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off