High CPU and Memory Usage? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

High CPU and Memory Usage?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
IamRolks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Beach, SoCal
Posts: 514
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
It's weird sometimes my PC gets so slow.
I currently have WMP and Firefox open and CPU usage is from 20-70%.
And Firefox slows way down.
I think my PC specs are pretty decent but Idk.

My Ram usage atm is 2.35gb
I am running my CPU @ 3.0ghz Currently.

Is this Normal?

Quote:
Quote:
5starog- i will sell u mine for 180 shipped and it comes with the fansStartekee - I'm in need of a new pc case. I would really like a cheap antec 900 or similar case
IamRolks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 10:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bazmecc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: secret weapons lab
Posts: 3,835
Rep: 429 (Unique: 369)
what's hogging your CPU cycles in Task Manager?

3DMark's 01 testing | 03 testing | 05 34718 | 06 25109 | Vantage P21261

Bazmecc is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 10:49 PM
Old school
 
Acoma_Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 14,377
Rep: 1522 (Unique: 1046)
Yeah look in task manager what is using a lot of CPU and memory. Perhaps post a screenie of it.

My CPU history
Main rigs: 386 33mhz > 486 DX2 > Pentium 90 > Pentium 3 666mhz > Pentium 4 1.8Ghz > AMD Athlon 2400+ > AMD Sempron 3000+ > Core 2 Duo E6300 > Core 2 Duo E8400 > Core 2 Quad Q9550 > Core i5 3570k > Core i7 7700k
Secondary: AMD Athlon 4000+ > AMD Athlon X2 3800+ > AMD Phenom II 940 > Pentium G3258 > AMD A10 6800K
Acoma_Andy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
IamRolks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Beach, SoCal
Posts: 514
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
mfpmp.exe
firefox.exe
wmplayer.exe

those 3

Quote:
Quote:
5starog- i will sell u mine for 180 shipped and it comes with the fansStartekee - I'm in need of a new pc case. I would really like a cheap antec 900 or similar case
IamRolks is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 10:54 PM
Old school
 
Acoma_Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 14,377
Rep: 1522 (Unique: 1046)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamRolks View Post
mfpmp.exe
firefox.exe
wmplayer.exe

those 3
Ah, mfpmp.exe is your problem. That is DRM for playing copyrighted content in Windows Media Player. There are ways to disable mfpmp.exe, but then you can't play copyrighted content anymore. Perhaps you can use another player?

My CPU history
Main rigs: 386 33mhz > 486 DX2 > Pentium 90 > Pentium 3 666mhz > Pentium 4 1.8Ghz > AMD Athlon 2400+ > AMD Sempron 3000+ > Core 2 Duo E6300 > Core 2 Duo E8400 > Core 2 Quad Q9550 > Core i5 3570k > Core i7 7700k
Secondary: AMD Athlon 4000+ > AMD Athlon X2 3800+ > AMD Phenom II 940 > Pentium G3258 > AMD A10 6800K
Acoma_Andy is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
IamRolks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Beach, SoCal
Posts: 514
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
Any player you guys would recommend?

Quote:
Quote:
5starog- i will sell u mine for 180 shipped and it comes with the fansStartekee - I'm in need of a new pc case. I would really like a cheap antec 900 or similar case
IamRolks is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 11:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
grayskunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 197
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
VLC Player -OR-
k-lite codec pack -OR-
I personally use GOM Player it is less then 4.5 mb including codecs

Honesty is the best policy, but insanity is a better defense.

grayskunk is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 11:03 PM
Old school
 
Acoma_Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 14,377
Rep: 1522 (Unique: 1046)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamRolks View Post
Any player you guys would recommend?
Personally I use VLC Media Player but a lot of people seem to dislike it.

You could get WinAmp or something?

My CPU history
Main rigs: 386 33mhz > 486 DX2 > Pentium 90 > Pentium 3 666mhz > Pentium 4 1.8Ghz > AMD Athlon 2400+ > AMD Sempron 3000+ > Core 2 Duo E6300 > Core 2 Duo E8400 > Core 2 Quad Q9550 > Core i5 3570k > Core i7 7700k
Secondary: AMD Athlon 4000+ > AMD Athlon X2 3800+ > AMD Phenom II 940 > Pentium G3258 > AMD A10 6800K
Acoma_Andy is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-15-2009, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
IamRolks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Beach, SoCal
Posts: 514
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
Ok
Thank you very much.

Quote:
Quote:
5starog- i will sell u mine for 180 shipped and it comes with the fansStartekee - I'm in need of a new pc case. I would really like a cheap antec 900 or similar case
IamRolks is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off