*Official* Core i3 Owners Club - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

*Official* Core i3 Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,385
Rep: 289 (Unique: 220)

Intel Core i3 Owners Club

Ideas/suggestions for the front page are appreciated. Anyone that wants to officially join, just post up your processor model (530, 540, or 550), your highest stable OC and, since these are supposed to be the low volt chips, your vcore - and I'll add you to this post.

Note: club now open to any Clarkdale owner. They're all the same chip, so why support Intel's intentionally confusing marketing?

All new members/posters, please include your chip model (530 or 540), batch number, and VID in your first post. Even if you don't care about "joining" the club, it would be much appreciated if all i3 owners could post this information. The information is helpful to those guests and future users browsing the thread, as well as members and guests that are doing research while shopping.

Members:
Sandy Bridge in orange

AyeYo - Core i3 530/4.0ghz/1.192v - 4.4ghz/1.328v
shnur - Core i3 530/2.93ghz/stock
kroaton - Core i3 530/4.6ghz/1.424v
Prelude - Core i3 530/4.01ghz/1.232v - 5.02ghz/1.592v
Smax4 - Core i3 530/4.00ghz/1.232v
SickStew - Core i5 650/4.60ghz/1.385v
preyash - Core i3 530/4.20ghz/1.344v
benyu - Core i3 530/4.00ghz/1.200v
Tator Tot - Core i3 330m/2.13ghz/1.050v
jtluongo - Core i3 530/3.52ghz/1.152v
boxy44 - Core i3 530/4.00ghz/1.200v
hbeevers - Core i3 530/3.99ghz/1.36v
hardly - Core i3 530/4.3ghz/1.336v
aunaturalantony - Core i3 330m/2.13ghz
col musstard - Core i3 530/3.65ghz/1.152v
4x4n - Core i3 550/4.51ghz/1.408v - 4.944ghz/1.520v (IGP enabled)
JTK21351 - Core i3 530/4.21ghz/1.328v
NAP - Core i3 530/4.31ghz/1.332v
levontraut - Core i3 330m/2.13mhz
Shev7chenko - Core i3 330m/2.13mhz
DG170775 - Core i3 530/4.00ghz/1.224v
TheOcelot - Core i3 550/4.2ghz/1.320v
ekg84 - Core i3 540/4.0ghz/1.240v
ammarmalik - Core i3 530/4.0ghz/1.25v
bahmtf - Core i3 530/4.0ghz/1.392v
camry racing - Core i3 540/3.77ghz/1.132v
Sam Maghsoodloo - Core i3 540/stock
jdmfish - Core i3 530/4.01ghz/1.294v
Razi3l - Core i3 540/3.22ghz/1.215v
michintom - Core i3 530/4.20ghz/1.312v
Ste v - Core i3 530/3.52ghz/1.152v
ben h - Core i3 530/5.01ghz/1.568v
IonFive - Core i3 530/4.12ghz/1.368v
loliarkanoid - Core i3 530/4.42ghz/1.328v
hardypham - Core i3 530/4.02ghz/1.296v
Satans Hell - Core i3 530/4.0ghz/1.23v
americanz - Core i3 530/3.99ghz/1.128v
ryanbob1234 - Core i3 330m
newpc - Core i3 540/4.7ghz/1.40v
Fletcherea - Core i3 550/4.02ghz/1.272v
1337guy - Core i3 550/4.0ghz/1.256v
anubis1127 - Core i3 530
xJavontax - Core i3 2100



Sig Tag:

Code:

[CENTER]:wheee:[URL="https://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/653618-official-core-i3-owners-club.html#post8255686"][B][U][COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"]Intel Core i3 Owners Club[/COLOR][/U][/B][/URL]:wheee:[/CENTER] 



Relevant threads:

i7 vs. i3 gaming performance:
https://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...ght-would.html
https://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...omparison.html

Hyperthreading on vs. off:
https://www.overclock.net/general-pro...bled-real.html



Voltage/Temperature Information:

PLEASE, observe Intel voltage specifications and do your research. These are not 45nm chips and they WILL NOT tolerate the same voltages.
Clarkdale dies with the quickness at 1.475 vcore




Keep in mind, these are MAXIMUM ABSOLUTE voltages before physical damage occures. These are NOT 24/7 save maximums - those will be substantially lower. If using LLC, your 24/7 voltage will have to be even lower still.

Tcase for these chips is 72.6C. They should not be run above this in 24/7 usage - OC and cool appropriately.


Intel spec sheet for i3 530

Core voltage tolerance in relation to current draw:







Clarkdale/H55 platform overview:




Original, pre-club first post that started this thread:

Quote:
Well, now that I've got the GPU squared away (get the easy stuff out of the way first) I'm going to give the CPU a rip.

What I'm looking for though is only a stock voltage OC. From what I've read on this site, step one is to get my base voltage by running Prime95 and checking CPU-Z, which I've done, then manually set this as the vcore. Next would be to lock the PCI bus at 100mhz, then turn off all the power saving and such stuff. Once all that is done. Should I only be upping the base clock? Do I have to worry about QPI and such?

There's so many different voltage settings on this board I'm afraid I'm going to screw something up and fry my new chip. I've read up everything I could find on my own, but, this being my first real OC, I'd feel more comfortable if someone walked me through step by step.


AyeYo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 12:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrLinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 3,351
Rep: 488 (Unique: 415)
Anandtech got his to 3.3ghz on stock voltage, and 4.0 with 1.3v. Give this page a read, it could help: http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=3724&p=5

Home fileserver: Pentium G3258, ASRock H97M-ITX/ac, two 4TB HDDs in Raid 1
Netflix machine: 13.3" Retina MacBook Pro


MrLinky is offline  
post #3 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,385
Rep: 289 (Unique: 220)
Good link, but what I need help with is the specific BIOS settings. For example, in the BIOS, I set the CPU voltage from "offset" to "manual", which then brings up the option for "CPU fixed voltage". I'm assuming this is the vcore setting. This setting is moveable in steps of 0.00625v. This makes me overshoot my CPU-Z voltage of 1.176v to around 1.18, is this ok?

Also, there's an option for CPU PLL voltage, what is this for?

Then there's Load-line Calibration, which defaults to Auto. The ASUS manual describes the settings as:

Auto - automatic configuration
Disabled - follow Intel specs
Enabled - Improve CPU vdroop directly

Why wouldn't this default to disabled in the first place, and should I disable it while OC'ing?

Forgive the newbishness, but this MB manual is clearly written for people that already understand all the settings and I just don't want to fry my brand new chip.


AyeYo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,385
Rep: 289 (Unique: 220)
Ok, so I have the vcore set at 1.1875 in the BIOS. That yields 1.176v at idle in CPU-Z and 1.160v under Prime95 load. Is this ok? Previous load voltage was 1.176v.

Should I go one step higher to try to bring up the load voltage or should I try enabling load line calibration?


AyeYo is offline  
post #5 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 04:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrLinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 3,351
Rep: 488 (Unique: 415)
The cpu pll is the cpu's internal clock generator. You can leave that at stock, but some people have found that more or less can help stability in different situations.

Load-line calibration overides intel's vdroop technology. vdroop is the motherboard artificially raising cpu volts during load, in order to protect the cpu from voltage spikes/dips when transitioning between high and low loads. Most people turn LLC on for higher overclocks, as it "lowers" the vcore required.

If you haven't already, try googleing "p7h44-m pro overclocking guide" or something like that.

Home fileserver: Pentium G3258, ASRock H97M-ITX/ac, two 4TB HDDs in Raid 1
Netflix machine: 13.3" Retina MacBook Pro


MrLinky is offline  
post #6 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,385
Rep: 289 (Unique: 220)
Yea, there's not a whole lot on this board, it's pretty new.

I think I've got the hang of the voltage settings now, but one more question: is it safe to leave all the other voltages (like CPU PLL for example) on "auto" or is that unsafe in the same way that leaving vcore on "auto" is unsafe? This BIOS doesn't show what the actual stock settings are, it just shows things on auto.


AyeYo is offline  
post #7 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 04:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrLinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 3,351
Rep: 488 (Unique: 415)
Quote:
Yea, there's not a whole lot on this board, it's pretty new.
lol i was afraid of that.

If it were me, i'd set manual values for everything that is currently on auto... but im kinda anal retentive that way. For mild to moderate overclocks, auto shouldn't produce any weird settings/values... but when you start getting more serious OCs, manual settings are a must.

Home fileserver: Pentium G3258, ASRock H97M-ITX/ac, two 4TB HDDs in Raid 1
Netflix machine: 13.3" Retina MacBook Pro


MrLinky is offline  
post #8 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,385
Rep: 289 (Unique: 220)
How would I even find the stock values for those things? Like I said, the BIOS stock setting is auto, and it makes no indication of what value auto has it set at.

Also what are you considering mild to moderate?


AyeYo is offline  
post #9 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 07:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrLinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 3,351
Rep: 488 (Unique: 415)
For me, mild = stock vcore, moderate = 50% or less of maximum vcore (example: stock is 1.0v, max is 1.5v, moderate = 1.25v or less). Thats by no means an official rateing or anything, but just kinda makes sense to me

If they are values for the cpu (like vcore, vtt, pll, etc), then they are determined by your cpu. If its stuff for the motherboard (IOH, ICH, pci-e, etc), then you can probably assume that similar lga1156 motherboard share the same limits/defaults.

You could download a program like Everest, which can read just about every voltage and frequency you can imagine, and write down what everything is running at.

Home fileserver: Pentium G3258, ASRock H97M-ITX/ac, two 4TB HDDs in Raid 1
Netflix machine: 13.3" Retina MacBook Pro


MrLinky is offline  
post #10 of 2440 (permalink) Old 01-22-2010, 10:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Artmasterx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 93
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
I just bought a i3 530 and a Gigabyte P55M-UD4 motherboard, and I am in the process of trying to figure it out as well.

My last overclocking was an Athlon X2 probably 3 years ago, so things have changed a bit.

Once I get my Windows 7 issue solve (reinstalling now), I will see about overclocking.

One issue I noticed was that the board is downclocking the RAM. I have 1600MHz Corsair XMS3 RAM, and if I set the RAM multiplier to 10x, BCLK to 160, the board seems like it will run the ram at 1600, but upon rebooting it changes the RAM to 8x to run at <1300. It seems to not want to run it above 1333, which was the default.

I will report anything I find, and I look forward to hearing your experience.

Artmasterx is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off