i7-930 OC or i7-980x - Page 8 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

i7-930 OC or i7-980x

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #71 of 75 (permalink) Old 02-19-2014, 10:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pc-illiterate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6,198
Rep: 359 (Unique: 284)
i am stable at 4.4ghz with 1.4v only raising multi and vcore offset. boots fine at 4.5ghz but not stable with just the multi bump. i havent messed with it to try to stabilize 4.5ghz cause, well it isnt worth it to me.

post-flame-small.gif_.=5 GHz Overclock Club=._post-flame-small.gif
pc-illiterate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72 of 75 (permalink) Old 02-19-2014, 10:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrDucktape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Catalunya
Posts: 569
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Well I must be missing something cause either my 980x is greatly degraded or I am a complete noob as I can't get it over 4GHz stable frown.gif

MrDucktape is offline  
post #73 of 75 (permalink) Old 02-19-2014, 10:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheReciever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11,316
Rep: 434 (Unique: 322)
L5639 or X5660 would be what you would want to look at

Biased rPGA and MXM 3.0A/B Elitest.
TheReciever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #75 of 75 (permalink) Old 02-19-2014, 02:17 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
Max clocks appear to be obtained with cpu voltage to factory spec so it yields a bit less voltage than entered.

For true stability try 1.475 cpu, 1.475 qpi, a 250mv bump in the pll from minimum of 1.81 i believe to about 1.85 on the pll. Make sure the qpi clock is 6400 and the uncore i believe is half that but one setting higher is stable mean 3200 is ideal but i believe the next jump up works too and yields about 5gb's faster memory performance.

SInce the 980x doesn't need a 7200mhz qpi you might be able to run less on the qpi but 1.475 seems very nice regardless in terms of pure power output, stability, and temps.

Set ram to 1.55v if running at it's base just set ram to it's spec of whatever you have ddr3-1600 @ 1600mhz.

Northbridge can handle a 250mv hop from the minimum. Leave southbridge at minimum.

Should be stable at peak overclocks with the above settings.

Good Luck

Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off