i7 980x vs ps3 cell processor... - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

i7 980x vs ps3 cell processor...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
this n00b again's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lost
Posts: 5,543
Rep: 687 (Unique: 493)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaCnRYdER View Post
LoL the 980x would rape that cheap lil ps3 cell processor and come back and rape it again.
no - but maybe the P90x


Quote:
Originally Posted by sabbathcrazy View Post
He said he put windows 7 on his ps3...
highly unlikely, but it is possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by CryWin View Post
Any dual core made in the past five years leaves the Cell processor in the dust...

And I have nothing better to do so I'm willing to argue about it.
no

biggrin.gif


this n00b again is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
WaXyDeAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 1,097
Rep: 40 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabbathcrazy View Post
He said he put windows 7 on his ps3...
lmao. fail. First off if he is up to date with PSN they removed that feature last i checked. Also I'm pretty sure the PS3 doesn't even meet the RAM requirement for windows 7 to install (i may be wrong as im not sure of the ram requirements.)
This is all the RAM the PS3 has.
•256MB XDR Main RAM @3.2GHz
•256MB GDDR3 VRAM @700MHz
WaXyDeAd is offline  
post #23 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
sabbathcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,437
Rep: 27 (Unique: 26)
haha 256mb vram could never run 16aa in crysis

sabbathcrazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:16 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
jameschisholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somerset, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,895
Rep: 98 (Unique: 83)
With that amount of ram, it should run win 7 32-bit only, but struggle a bit, will run out of memory fast.

This is a good point, load times on consoles are silly, red dead redemption is a good example, ram is so cheap, why didnt they put 2gb in them?

I'd rather build something to be proud of. Build a system that is my own. Acquire upgrades and peripherals in my own time. Enjoy my creation as it evolves.STEAM ID: KPAkillerOrigin ID: KPAkiller[URL="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2039900"]


jameschisholm is offline  
post #25 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
B!0HaZard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 6,622
Rep: 370 (Unique: 310)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameschisholm View Post
With that amount of ram, it should run win 7 32-bit only, but struggle a bit, will run out of memory fast.

This is a good point, load times on consoles are silly, red dead redemption is a good example, ram is so cheap, why didnt they put 2gb in them?
Becos itz nawt niiddead wif teh awesum cell prosecccor!

Achievements:
i5 3570K @ 5.1 GHz | i5 2500k @ 5.2 GHz | E8200 @ 4.0 GHz
M1XN
(18 items)
CPU
i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VI Impact
GPU
MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
RAM
2x8 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 @ 2400 MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 64 GB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 128 GB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG Spinpoint M9T 2 TB
Optical Drive
LiteOn DL-8ATSH
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH-C14
Case
NCASE M1 V2.5
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit
Monitor
ViewSonic VP2770
Keyboard
Vortex Pok3r
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK+
Audio
HiFiMan HE-400
Other
Logitech C920
▲ hide details ▲
B!0HaZard is offline  
post #26 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
this n00b again's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lost
Posts: 5,543
Rep: 687 (Unique: 493)
if you're wondering about crysis

>> PS3

biggrin.gif


this n00b again is offline  
post #27 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:21 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
jameschisholm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somerset, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,895
Rep: 98 (Unique: 83)
I actually had to read that response 3 times for it to make sense, epic mocking of illiterate console fanboys. +1

I'd rather build something to be proud of. Build a system that is my own. Acquire upgrades and peripherals in my own time. Enjoy my creation as it evolves.STEAM ID: KPAkillerOrigin ID: KPAkiller[URL="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2039900"]


jameschisholm is offline  
post #28 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:21 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by B!0HaZard View Post
Becos itz nawt niiddead wif teh awesum cell prosecccor!
LOL you hitting the sauce already? What time is it over there?


Bodycount is offline  
post #29 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ceiron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 738
Rep: 57 (Unique: 48)
Quote:
Originally Posted by this n00b again View Post
if you're wondering about crysis

>> PS3
Phase Change cooling and Quad-SLI 480GTX?
Totally win.

I like to edit my posts


Ceiron is offline  
post #30 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 10:25 AM
T D
New to Overclock.net
 
T D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 1,260
Rep: 79 (Unique: 75)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameschisholm View Post
With that amount of ram, it should run win 7 32-bit only, but struggle a bit, will run out of memory fast.

This is a good point, load times on consoles are silly, red dead redemption is a good example, ram is so cheap, why didnt they put 2gb in them?
Windows 7 would never run on it since Cell is based on PPC and Windows runs on x86 CPUs.

On that note.. does anyone remember why Apple switched from PPC to x86?

Quote:
Originally Posted by waqasr go_quote.gif
you have to press the "any key" right at the end to get the 60x multiplier.
T D is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off