i7 980x vs ps3 cell processor... - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

i7 980x vs ps3 cell processor...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
sabbathcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,437
Rep: 27 (Unique: 26)
Hey guys some troll is trying to say that his ps3 can run crysis at 16aa bwahahah!!! Any ways what are the advantages of the ps3 cell processor and the i7 980x? This is what he had to say.

"Yes my ps3 runs crysis in max settings with 16aa without even using 1% of the cell processor hell i could run it on max settings only using the rsx gpu and im pretty sure ill be able to run crysis 2 and even 3 on max settings. You should learn more about the ps3 cell processor to know what the ps3 can really do i mean didn't you see on the news that scientist used ps3's to make there super computers faster. There is still no processor faster than the ps3 cell processor not even the i7 i mean the i7 only does 51 GFLOPS and the cell processor does 218 GFLOPS can you really compare that no you cant you fag. with the cell processor ps3 does not need any ****ing graphics cards or gpu for example they only mad mgs4 and uncharted 2 and more games i cant remember with the cell processor and those games are impossible to be done on the pc or xbox 360."

Im probily going to link him to this so dont hold back.

sabbathcrazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:44 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,371
TBH waste of time posting this here everyone know's he's attempting to troll. Which he is failing at at his PS3 cannot even play PC games for a start also the 980X is in a different league to the Cell when it come's to running a proper OS such as Windows etc the 2 processors cannot simply be compared they are diverse applications for 2 completely different markets.
Wingzero is offline  
post #3 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
B!0HaZard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 6,622
Rep: 370 (Unique: 310)
Lulz. That guy is fake and gay. You know how close we are to the limit of the consoles? Do you know that Crysis was a PC exclusive because PS3 and Xbox couldn't run the game?

Obvious troll is obvious. Forget about him. No matter what you say, he'll ignore it. Even if you prove what you've said is true.

The cell might be fast, but it won't ever run a normal PC. I highly doubt it.

Achievements:
i5 3570K @ 5.1 GHz | i5 2500k @ 5.2 GHz | E8200 @ 4.0 GHz
M1XN
(18 items)
CPU
i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VI Impact
GPU
MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
RAM
2x8 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 @ 2400 MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 64 GB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 128 GB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG Spinpoint M9T 2 TB
Optical Drive
LiteOn DL-8ATSH
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH-C14
Case
NCASE M1 V2.5
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit
Monitor
ViewSonic VP2770
Keyboard
Vortex Pok3r
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK+
Audio
HiFiMan HE-400
Other
Logitech C920
▲ hide details ▲
B!0HaZard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,316
Rep: 52 (Unique: 49)
The Cell and PC CPU are different in so many ways you really can't compare them. So...

THE CHEVY Owners CLUB!!!Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geglamash go_quote.gif
OCN will suffice. OCN > Friends.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackHoleSon go_quote.gif
Nope.

I like blasting my load all over an old middle school gym shirt. If you take the venom out of a snake you have a belt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagle3092 go_quote.gif
Exactly what I thought, you almost got attacked by those fanboys taking it the wrong way.

nVidia BSOD-free Club
SupaSupra is offline  
post #5 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,132
Rep: 291 (Unique: 238)
Sounds like a Macfag. Link him at Tesselation and the like.

Kand is offline  
post #6 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:52 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,144
Rep: 4426 (Unique: 2045)
Don't forget the PC uses a video card as well...

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #7 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 10,488
Rep: 537 (Unique: 413)
If the cell doesn't need a graphics chip, then why did Sony change their mind and include one at the last minute?


RonindeBeatrice is offline  
post #8 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
this n00b again's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lost
Posts: 5,543
Rep: 687 (Unique: 493)
you're trying to compare 2 different breeds of CPUs.

the cell processor has like 1 full functioning core and like 8 SPEs around 3.2GHz each. It does somewhere around 2XX GFlops where the i7 can only do around 5X GFlops.

when it comes down to crunching numbers. the Cell processor will pwn the i7.

Coding for the cell processor is a different world than apps and etc on the i7.


BUT



if you add that GFX's like the 470 can do:
Peak single-precision arithmetic rate: 1.35 Tflops
&
Peak double-precision arithmetic rate: 168 Gflop

and the 5870 can do:
Peak single-precision arithmetic rate: 2.72 Tflops
&
Peak double-precision arithmetic rate: 544 Gflops

having some 470s or 5870s in your pc to do processing is more computing power than the ps3 cell processor

biggrin.gif


this n00b again is offline  
post #9 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
sabbathcrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,437
Rep: 27 (Unique: 26)
Dose the ps3 even use AA?

sabbathcrazy is offline  
post #10 of 181 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 08:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MaCnRYdER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Royal City, WA
Posts: 373
Rep: 20 (Unique: 18)
LoL the 980x would rape that cheap lil ps3 cell processor and come back and rape it again.
MaCnRYdER is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off