The i5-760 OC Club - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The i5-760 OC Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tjbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Posts: 297
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)

News/Guides/Concerns/OC attempts on i5-760 systems:
 


Main thread for all overclockers of 760. We have done the research for you. Although we can't stop you from doing more and sharing new ideas.

Thanks for everyone that will post here. This thread will surely help others in maximizing their chip faster and safer. But remember that overclocking results may vary from exactly two similiar systems. All depends on the behavior of your rig. Feel free to discuss or ask regarding the overclocking of i5-760.

Please make sure you have already read the guides of this forum on overclocking before asking.

Here are some external links that you would help you in overclocking i5-760:
1. 3 Step Overclocking guide - Lynnfield
NOTE: Some users experience OCCT to be unreliable/inaccurate in stability testing. To minimize CPU degradation(5yrs+ life), user must keep temps @65-70c normal usage, vcore not exceeding 1.35v. If you want to go further, it is ok but cpu life might not be longer as expected(3-5yrs life). The safe limits would be @85c during IBT max, 1.4v.
2. Motherboard must have LOTES socket for above 1.4Vcore
3. VCore, VTT, DRAM, PLL, PCH Explained
4. Intel Core i5-760 Technical Specifications
5. Stablity Testing: Many users have already experienced that running IBT @max for 20 loops is insufficient. It is best to run prime95 blend for 6-12 hours or depending on how long/frequent you use your computer. If you use it 24/7 then run prime95 for a day.

I welcome everyone especially those that have recently purchased their i5-760. The more info you give, the more you will be able to help others. Please do post the following:
1. Purpose or general usage of your rig.
2. CPUID CPU-Z (CPU and Memory) or a CPU-Z validated link
3. Stability tests (prime95 small/large/blend, IntelBurnTest, memtest86+, actual usage)
4. Temps(C) for idle and load (Real Temp 3.60) Voltages (HWMonitor)
5. Bios settings/screenshots
6. Benchmarks: 3DMark, PCMark, SuperPi, Aquamark, etc.


For the newbies, please send me a PRIVATE MESSAGE (include post link) "No PM, no membership." I have a very busy schedule and cannot look at all pages everytime. NOTE: If I have not updated your most recent OC/specs/stability/link, please also send me a private message together with the permalink so I can easily find it. Thanks!


The i5-760 OC Club
XtremeCuztoms 4.840Ghz 1.552v PROOF: 1
NG_Navarro 4.424Ghz 1.432v PROOF: 1
Poisoner 4.409Ghz 1.364v PROOF: 1
De Cossatot 4.219Ghz 1.364v PROOF: 1 2
Karmyy 4.214Ghz 1.288v PROOF: 1
Boiller 4.214Ghz 1.304v POST: 1 STABILITY: 1
gelarman 4.202Ghz 1.376v POST:1 PROOF:1 2 3
mijason4 4.2Ghz 1.296v PROOF:1 2 BIOS: 1 3DMARK: 1
PotatoChip 4.2Ghz 1.341v PROOF: 1
.Andres 4.2Ghz 1.38v PROOF: 1
Captain Mayhem 4.173Ghz 1.36v POST: 1 PROOF: 1
dembo1305 4.166Ghz 1.256v PROOF: 1 2 3 BIOS: 1
Nahte27 4.116GHz 1.35v POST: 1
Alwrath 4.106Ghz 1.344v PROOF: 1
hotpeanut 4.1Ghz 1.3v PROOF: 1 2
geek33 4.059Ghz 1.368v PROOF:1
pjsockett 4.032Ghz 1.235v PROOF: 1 2
Karmyy 4.018Ghz 1.256v PROOF: 1
~sizzzle~ 4.016Ghz 1.141v PROOF: 1 2 3 GUIDE: 1
rdrdrdrd 4.013Ghz 1.248v PROOF: 1
S02 4.011Ghz 1.224v PROOF: 1 POST: 1
0mar32 4.011Ghz 1.232v PROOF: 1 2
Liquoid 4.011Ghz 1.36v PROOF: 1
iliatay 4.01Ghz 1.24v PROOF: 1 2
h3fty 4.01Ghz 1.312v PROOF: 1 2
RainbowKisser 4.01Ghz 1.448v PROOF: 1
xstasy 4.009Ghz 1.264v PROOF: 1
chowtyme2 4.002Ghz 1.28v POST: 1
wandering_goat 4Ghz 1.231v POST: 1 PROOF: 1
Basalt 4Ghz 1.248v PROOF: 1 STABILITY: 1
dennyb 4Ghz 1.25v POST: 1 PROOF: 1 2
Hyperactive 4Ghz 1.25v POST: 1
jedi304 4Ghz 1.25v POST: 1
Swift Castiel 4Ghz 1.264v POST: 1 PROOF: 1 2 3
Kevdog 4Ghz 1.264v PROOF: 1
Whos-bad 4Ghz 1.2875v POST: 1
dog5566 4Ghz 1.298v POST/BIOS: 1 2 PROOF: 1
moshah 4Ghz 1.344v PROOF: 1 POST: 1
euihyun2210 3.99Ghz 1.224v POST: 1
chinesethunda 3.954Ghz 1.364v PROOF: 1
tjbridge 3.904Ghz 1.294v PROOF: 1 2 BIOS: 1
ForTehNguyen 3.83Ghz 1.246v POST: 1
aravi_992 3.812Ghz 1.216v POST: 1 PROOF: 1 2
VIDEO: youtube.com/watch?v=QFw_BPvaa5o
DFortinbras 3.809Ghz 1.2v POST/BIOS: 1 2
Zabador 3.809Ghz 1.232v PROOF: 1
Benny99 3.809Ghz 1.296v POST/BIOS: 1 PROOF: 1
breadcrums 3.800Ghz 1.28v PROOF: 1
SOneThreeCoupe 3.76Ghz 1.288v POST: 1
logan666 3.7Ghz 1.25v POST: 1 PROOF: 1
Bassdoken 3.686Ghz 1.176v POST: 1 PROOF: 1 2
nikkisman69 3.61Ghz 1.28v PROOF: 1
uturn68 3.6Ghz 1.12v PROOF: 1
SmithyD86 3.6Ghz 1.2v POST: 1 2 PROOF: 1
tonyspanos 3.52Ghz 1.18v POST: 1 PROOF: 1 2
SortOfGrim 3.427Ghz 1.232v PROOF: 1
Metmop 3.4Ghz 1.1875v POST: 1 2

The i5-760 OC Club
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 500 Series Owners Club
The Official Corsair H50/H70 Hydro Series Club
We Are Gr33n Machine
NVIDIA GTX 560/560 Ti OC Club
tjbridge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 04:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Whos-bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Well I had mine i5-760 on 4Ghz 24/7 stable at 1.2875V , with QPI 1.25V, DRAM 1.64V, 200 FSB x 20 multiplier, LLC- off. Prime ran 16 hours without errors, Linx 20 runs on 2Gb memory w/o errors and intelburntest on High 15 runs w/o errors. Max temp on Real Temp was 60C/ 33C-idle.

Yesterday I set it to 4.2Ghz, changed multiplier on x21. I Ran Intel Burntest on 1.39V and it gave error, then switched to 1.4V and it stayed stable for 15 runs on high linpack test. Linx was stable also on 20 runs on 2Gb memory, so now Im running Prime95, and for now 6 hours is stable with max temps 72C/ 38C-idle.

I believe I can run it 24/7 on 4.2Ghz , what do you thinl ?

Whos-bad is offline  
post #3 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 04:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tjbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Posts: 297
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
i have read somewhere on the web that making your vcore to 1.4v endagers the socket 1156 and may burn due to overvoltage especially if it is a FOXCONN sockets instead of a LOTEs socket. I am really not sure what our motherboards are using...

The i5-760 OC Club
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 500 Series Owners Club
The Official Corsair H50/H70 Hydro Series Club
We Are Gr33n Machine
NVIDIA GTX 560/560 Ti OC Club
tjbridge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 05:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Whos-bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 21
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/...3-lotes-socket

I guess there is the answer Lotes socket in P55A

Whos-bad is offline  
post #5 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 08:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
~sizzzle~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,297
Rep: 190 (Unique: 134)
About time someone started a 760 Club

~sizzzle~/4.01GHz/1.141v /Folding stable + a bunch of other tests/ http://hwbot.org/community/submissio...760_9sec_250ms

As for the sockets just look on the socket . Well worked for me anyway.



I know some boards had Foxconn sockets for the early revisions and then switched to Lotes. Not sure what difference it really makes myself but hey mine is a Lotes.

Here is my 4.0 Screenie.

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1450230


You should include some guides in the OP. Such as http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/...ide-lynnfield/ and maybe a link to the i5 760 HWBOT page http://hwbot.org/hardware/processor/...5_760?tab=info


~sizzzle~ is offline  
post #6 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 09:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mental.patient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wolverhampton, England
Posts: 2,124
Rep: 76 (Unique: 61)
What about my 4.5Ghz 750 ?

Quote:
ASUS LOSTALLMYTOOTH X58 fatherboard
mental.patient is offline  
post #7 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tjbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Posts: 297
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whos-bad View Post
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/...3-lotes-socket

I guess there is the answer Lotes socket in P55A
Thanks for the link. So i guess, my is also a LOTES...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~sizzzle~ View Post
About time someone started a 760 Club

You should include some guides in the OP. Such as http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/...ide-lynnfield/ and maybe a link to the i5 760 HWBOT page http://hwbot.org/hardware/processor/...5_760?tab=info
Thanks for the suggestions... I will continue to overclock mine, but i'm still having problems with the memory side... seems i can't get it beyond 1600.. whether manual or XMP timing based.

The i5-760 OC Club
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 500 Series Owners Club
The Official Corsair H50/H70 Hydro Series Club
We Are Gr33n Machine
NVIDIA GTX 560/560 Ti OC Club
tjbridge is offline  
post #8 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tjbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Posts: 297
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
@ sizzle i was wondering, how were you able to get to that low 1.141v to get to 4Ghz. upto what voltage did you start testing? how much increment at a time? what happens when i get to low the voltage too much?

The i5-760 OC Club
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 500 Series Owners Club
The Official Corsair H50/H70 Hydro Series Club
We Are Gr33n Machine
NVIDIA GTX 560/560 Ti OC Club
tjbridge is offline  
post #9 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 05:31 PM
lAptOp jUnKie
 
drBlahMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: iN tHe mINd
Posts: 4,632
Rep: 243 (Unique: 210)
Not to ruin the Gigabyte P55A mobo users but there has been alot of confusion over the cpu socket regarding if it's a Lotes socket. Gigabyte P55A mobos are using only the Lotes Bracket. The cpu socket is a revised Foxconn. It's all over the web, just Google and you will see many Gigabyte P55A owners had discovered this as well as some site reviews. The Lotes bracket is suppose to secure the cpu to the socket much better than the Foxconn bracket. The socket burns that had occurred, mostly had happen with the lower model P55 mobos. You can always make sure by looking at a picture of the Lotes socket (not bracket) to see if it matches the socket on the Gigabyte mobo.

So if you have a Foxconn socket, it does not necessarily mean that your socket is going to fry when OC'ing the cpu @ 4GHz. You just need to be careful regarding to the mobo model you have and don't go crazy with the high vcore.
drBlahMan is offline  
post #10 of 1926 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tjbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Posts: 297
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drBlahMan View Post
Not to ruin the Gigabyte P55A mobo users but there has been alot of confusion over the cpu socket regarding if it's a Lotes socket. Gigabyte P55A mobos are using only the Lotes Bracket. The cpu socket is a revised Foxconn. It's all over the web, just Google and you will see many Gigabyte P55A owners had discovered this as well as some site reviews. The Lotes bracket is suppose to secure the cpu to the socket much better than the Foxconn bracket. The socket burns that had occurred, mostly had happen with the lower model P55 mobos. You can always make sure by looking at a picture of the Lotes socket (not bracket) to see if it matches the socket on the Gigabyte mobo.

So if you have a Foxconn socket, it does not necessarily mean that your socket is going to fry when OC'ing the cpu @ 4GHz. You just need to be careful regarding to the mobo model you have and don't go crazy with the high vcore.
thanks for the info, so i suppose it mine might have a FOXCONN socket but only a LOTES bracket... too bad... anyway i wouldn't want to raise my vcore that high cause the temps would also rise. So i think it wouldnt really matter what time of socket as long as you dont do extreme overclocking.

The i5-760 OC Club
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 500 Series Owners Club
The Official Corsair H50/H70 Hydro Series Club
We Are Gr33n Machine
NVIDIA GTX 560/560 Ti OC Club
tjbridge is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off