[Official] uSFF/SFF Club - Page 250 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] uSFF/SFF Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2491 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-06-2016, 02:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
iFreilicht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,189
Rep: 29 (Unique: 22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Six-Strings View Post

https://www.caseking.de/silverstone-sst-ml05b-milo-htpc-gehaeuse-schwarz-gesv-311.html

Any way to get a 750 TI in this bad boy?

Try as I might, I can't figure out a way to beat the TU100 in portability. frown.gif

As CynicalUnicorn showed, you can make a cooler-swap from a single-slot Quadro card, but the intake of that one would be blocked by the PSU in your case, so that rig could get very loud under load.

You could also explore watercooling, but I think you'd need to find a very special block to make that work with an LP 750Ti.

Both of these options get more feasible when you use a riser card to put the GPU in the slot above the mainboard. That way it could either draw air directly from the outside or you could easily fit the block and tubing required to watercool. Don't ask me where the rad would go, though biggrin.gif
iFreilicht is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2492 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-06-2016, 04:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jimbags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 3,306
Rep: 83 (Unique: 73)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iFreilicht View Post

As CynicalUnicorn showed, you can make a cooler-swap from a single-slot Quadro card, but the intake of that one would be blocked by the PSU in your case, so that rig could get very loud under load.

You could also explore watercooling, but I think you'd need to find a very special block to make that work with an LP 750Ti.

Both of these options get more feasible when you use a riser card to put the GPU in the slot above the mainboard. That way it could either draw air directly from the outside or you could easily fit the block and tubing required to watercool. Don't ask me where the rad would go, though biggrin.gif
I also think the gigabyte gt210 lp card fits the lp gtx750ti I have. Ill try measure holes tomorrow smile.gif I have both cards.




Jimbags is offline  
post #2493 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-06-2016, 09:20 AM
Hey I get one of these!
 
KyadCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,297
Rep: 307 (Unique: 217)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hampurista View Post

There's the NF-A9 PWM by Noctua, a 92mm fan with the same color scheme but 25mm height i/o the normal 14mm NF-A9x14 PWM. Might help you. On the other hand: is that the CM HAF Stacker in the background? Holy cow, that's ginourmus compared to the Node.

Edit: added PWM remark to NF-A9

Stacker 945, yep. tongue.gif The Node packs nearly half the power of my stacker, don't let it fool you. Still, the Stacker has 480mm of rads in it and a 1200w and stays much colder.

As for cooler, I gave up. I'm going to seal the GPU and CPU sections off from one another fully, and the CPU is going to get a APX-100. I've already modified the case to make the Fury fit, so no bother for me to do a little more. The cooler should be the maximum height the case allows (taller by 2mm actually), forcing the CPU fan to suck in outside air rather than hot boxing; positive flow should force the hot air out the side. The Node could have benefited greatly from a 120mm fan mount over the CPU, like the RVZ01 has.

Forge
(18 items)
Forge-LT
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X399 Designare
GPU
EVGA 1080ti SC2 Hybrid
GPU
EVGA 1080ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB (4x8GB 3200Mhz 14-14-14)
Hard Drive
Intel 900P 480GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Cooling
EK Predator 240
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise x64
Monitor
2x Acer XR341CK
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB
Audio
Sennheiser HD700
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5
Audio
Audio Technica AT4040
Audio
30ART Mic Tube Amp
CPU
i7-4720HQ
Motherboard
UX501JW-UB71T
GPU
GTX 960m
RAM
16GB 1600 9-9-9-27
Hard Drive
512GB PCI-e SSD
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
4k IPS
▲ hide details ▲
KyadCK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2494 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-08-2016, 11:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BirdofPrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 377
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
I've also recently built a system in a Node 202. No pictures at the moment, though. I have a bit more work to do. I need to replace the cables with custom ones (PSU is modular so no extraneous cables, but the ones I have are too long), and am going to install some internal antennas wince the outer casing is plastic (I had bought some, but missed the fact M.2 uses a different connector than mPCIe). I am also going to upgrade the video card; I was going to do it later, but with its tarting to run in hairdryer mode more now that winter is over, I might do it sooner. In the mean time, case fans maybe.

I have to thank SFN for pointing out some mistakes I made (almost tried to buy a Prolimatech Samuel without realized it was too tall after adding the fan, and forgot H170 was an option instead of Z170 since I won't be overclocking)

Anyways, here's the build:
CPU: i5-6500
MB: Gigabyte H170-WiFi
RAM: 2x 8GB Corsair vengance DDR4-3000
GPU: Saphire Radeon HD 7950
SSD: 512 GB Samsung 950 Pro
PSU: Silverstone Strider 450W
CPU Cooler: Cryorig C7
Case: Fractal Design Node 202


I do have to say, it's hard to find the HTPC(esqe) case that has both an internal PSU and full height card support off a riser. Most of the cases that looked good were for low profile expansion cards straight off an mATX board, and a few had external power bricks, which I hate.

As mentioned, future plans are to do custom cables, and I am planning on upgrading to a Nano (maybe a Fury, maybe something else)

BirdofPrey is offline  
post #2495 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-10-2016, 07:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
-Leopold-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 144
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Can anyone Recommend a Case under 10ltrs wich can fit a 120mm or a 240mm rad, sfx psu + 3,5" hdd for a apu system? otherwise i would go with the Silverstone ML06 + Raijintek pallas.
-Leopold- is offline  
post #2496 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-11-2016, 01:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jimbags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 3,306
Rep: 83 (Unique: 73)
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Leopold- View Post

Can anyone Recommend a Case under 10ltrs wich can fit a 120mm or a 240mm rad, sfx psu + 3,5" hdd for a apu system? otherwise i would go with the Silverstone ML06 + Raijintek pallas.
UMX-1 PLUS. It has everything you need, needs small mod for 120mm rad but def room.
This is my modest one. Someone here on ocn fitted a 240 and 120 rad.



http://www.cooltek.de/en/jonsbo/umx
Edit. Sorry its 16L-ish. Just re-read your post.


Jimbags is offline  
post #2497 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-11-2016, 01:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ccRicers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,791
Rep: 72 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Leopold- View Post

Can anyone Recommend a Case under 10ltrs wich can fit a 120mm or a 240mm rad, sfx psu + 3,5" hdd for a apu system? otherwise i would go with the Silverstone ML06 + Raijintek pallas.

A sub 10L case that can fit up to 240mm rad? I can't think of any that is possible without modding, but the Node 202 case comes real close at 10.2 liters.

Since you want an APU build you could just use the entire GPU compartment of the case for the radiator and fans, and should fit no problem as long as the total thickness doesn't exceed 75mm. But you'll need to drill holes inside the case in order to mount the radiator and fans in place.
ccRicers is offline  
post #2498 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-11-2016, 02:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BirdofPrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 377
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
The GPU compartment of the Node 202 has holes for a pair of 120mm fans. I don't know if they are spaced properly for a 240 radiator, but I don't see why you wouldn't be able to screw in at least half of the radiator.
The real problem is the HDD, since the Node 202 doesn't have any spots provisioned for 3.5" drives.

BirdofPrey is offline  
post #2499 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-11-2016, 02:46 PM
Hey I get one of these!
 
KyadCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,297
Rep: 307 (Unique: 217)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdofPrey View Post

The GPU compartment of the Node 202 has holes for a pair of 120mm fans. I don't know if they are spaced properly for a 240 radiator, but I don't see why you wouldn't be able to screw in at least half of the radiator.
The real problem is the HDD, since the Node 202 doesn't have any spots provisioned for 3.5" drives.

They're spaced right for a 240mm, yes.

And correct, no 3.5" slot, but it can handle two 2.5" drives and has a large enough hole for an M.2 on the back of the MB.

Forge
(18 items)
Forge-LT
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X399 Designare
GPU
EVGA 1080ti SC2 Hybrid
GPU
EVGA 1080ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB (4x8GB 3200Mhz 14-14-14)
Hard Drive
Intel 900P 480GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Cooling
EK Predator 240
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise x64
Monitor
2x Acer XR341CK
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB
Audio
Sennheiser HD700
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5
Audio
Audio Technica AT4040
Audio
30ART Mic Tube Amp
CPU
i7-4720HQ
Motherboard
UX501JW-UB71T
GPU
GTX 960m
RAM
16GB 1600 9-9-9-27
Hard Drive
512GB PCI-e SSD
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
4k IPS
▲ hide details ▲
KyadCK is offline  
post #2500 of 2861 (permalink) Old 04-11-2016, 04:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ccRicers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,791
Rep: 72 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyadCK View Post

They're spaced right for a 240mm, yes.

And correct, no 3.5" slot, but it can handle two 2.5" drives and has a large enough hole for an M.2 on the back of the MB.

They are spaced for 240mm, but depending on the radiator you choose, the area with the ports may interfere either with the I/O panel on the front or the large-ish AC power connector in the back. (Pic for reference) If that happens, you'll have to drill some offset holes to get the radiator to fit completely.
ccRicers is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off