[Build Log] Antec ISK 110: Tinier than Tiny - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] Antec ISK 110: Tinier than Tiny

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 130 (permalink) Old 11-23-2012, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
996gt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,680
Rep: 166 (Unique: 143)
Recently built a workstation/HTPC rig around an Antec ISK 110 case.

Core i5-3570K + Gigabyte H61N-USB3 Mini-ITX Motherboard (Microcenter combo)
Intel HD 4000 graphics
2x4GB 30nm Samsung DDR3
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
500GB WD Scorpio Blue HDD


This case is a bit of a cable management nightmare, and you can basically forget about neat cable management in this case. There is simply not enough room. The best you can do is keep the wires out of the CPU fan's way, and that's about it. However, the form factor is incredible considering that there is a 3570K and two drives inside.

I initially had some reservations about putting a 3570K into a case with a 90W PSU, but after some extensive research I learned that a 90W PSU would be more than sufficient for a 3570K that was not going to be overclocked. I checked out the PSU that came with the ISK 110, and it comes with a nice power brick made by Delta. The internal DC-DC converter has Nippon Chemi-Con caps and looks well-made. It has no trouble running the hardware in this rig even at full load. Even a 30-minute run of Prime95 was fine without any undervolting.

Exterior:




Assembled:


Back side, showing SSD and 2.5" HDD:


Close-up of DC-DC converter, showing Nippon Chemi-Con capacitors:



Size comparison with a standard 3.5" WD Caviar Black hard drive:


996gt2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 130 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 02:24 AM
17.6 liters
 
WiSK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5,565
Rep: 553 (Unique: 361)
Excellent! Glad it worked out with the PSU smile.gif


WiSK is offline  
post #3 of 130 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 08:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KillThePancake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sauk City, WI
Posts: 1,316
Rep: 18 (Unique: 15)
Nice! Makes me want to start my sff build. Why can't February come here fast enough? FFFUUUU

EDIT: Wrong month lol

Yesterday's Pancakes, today.
-Egami

My Scratch build log: Durandal
My current build log (WIP): Larry
post-flame-small.gif Athlon 64 X2 5000+ @ 3.1ghz post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif Phenom II X6 1045T @ 3.417ghz post-flame-small.gif
post-flame-small.gif FX 8350 4.2ghz @ 1.28v post-flame-small.gif
KillThePancake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 130 (permalink) Old 11-27-2012, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
996gt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,680
Rep: 166 (Unique: 143)
996gt2 is offline  
post #5 of 130 (permalink) Old 11-27-2012, 10:20 PM
Zap
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,754
Rep: 198 (Unique: 168)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 996gt2 View Post

Added pics

Wow, very professional looking pics! thumb.gif

Oyaji

Zap is offline  
post #6 of 130 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 02:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 479
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Damn it amazes me how much computing power you can squeeze into such a small form factor, I've seen 3.5" portable HDD bigger than that. 996gt2 your builds are always great with awesome photography too.

post-flame-small.gifNew Zealand Overclock.net Clubpost-flame-small.gif
void is offline  
post #7 of 130 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 05:25 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
She loved E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,651
Rep: 94 (Unique: 67)
drool.gif

killer, man... very impressive and IMO a lot cleaner execution (wire mgmt) than you're giving yourself credit for.

Any idea if there's a way to get a 200W PSU into that thing? Would be fun to hack the mesh off that panel, run a full-size cooler (Noctua, Megahalems, etc) and crank the volts.


She loved E is offline  
post #8 of 130 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 12:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ivoryg37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 918
Rep: 19 (Unique: 19)
would this SFF be able to do any gaming since it has no GPU. Would it be able to run something along the lines of Dota 2?
ivoryg37 is offline  
post #9 of 130 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
996gt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,680
Rep: 166 (Unique: 143)
Quote:
Originally Posted by She loved E View Post

drool.gif

killer, man... very impressive and IMO a lot cleaner execution (wire mgmt) than you're giving yourself credit for.

Any idea if there's a way to get a 200W PSU into that thing? Would be fun to hack the mesh off that panel, run a full-size cooler (Noctua, Megahalems, etc) and crank the volts.

Yes, you can use a Pico-PSU (google it), I think they go up to 150W or perhaps 200W. And the side panel can be removed, there is no cutting required.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivoryg37 View Post

would this SFF be able to do any gaming since it has no GPU. Would it be able to run something along the lines of Dota 2?

The HD4000 graphics on the 3570K can handle quite a few games pretty decently, as long as you're not trying to play at 1080P or higher on max detail settings.
996gt2 is offline  
post #10 of 130 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 09:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
funfortehfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tower of Heaven
Posts: 2,122
Rep: 109 (Unique: 94)

If I wanted to use an A10-5800K with this build and I bought a 150W pico-PSU, how would I plug it in?


flickr | Camera Hardware: Nikon D90 + AF-S DX Nikkor 12-24 f/4G + AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G + AF-S micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G + Yongnuo YN-560 III + Crumpler 7MDH wheee.gif
Hilarious Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Question - the dollar sign goes before U.S. monetary amounts. If I am speaking in terms of Canadian dollars, do I put CAD before or after the amount?
you put it on top like a hat, i.e. canada aka USA's hat
CAD
3.50


funfortehfun is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off