Corsair Obsidian 250D Club - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Corsair Obsidian 250D Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 09:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,825
Rep: 160 (Unique: 133)
Quote:
Originally Posted by weredawg View Post

Case is going to arrive tomorrow! biggrin.gif but no word when my motherboard will show up though :/
This is my first major change. So what do you guys do when changing motherboards?

Anyways. I currently have a Corsair TX650 (V2) PSU and that's a lot of unnecessary cables. So I was thinking of going down to a semi-modular, if not fully modular, PSU. I really do want one of the RM series PSUs from Corsair but Newegg has a $20 rebate offer going on right now with the CX M PSU line. So according to PC Partpicker my proposed build has an estimated wattage of 339W.
Would the CX430M be enough or should I go up to the CX500M?

Forgot to mention that I've never overclocked my i5-2500K but feel like I've been missing on its full potential and have been thinking about OC'ing it finally.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2RnS0
Just simply remove the CPU, RAM, and heatsink and swap it into your new motherboard. Why don't you just wait it out on the PSU? For the money I rather wait for a good deal that is fully modular and better quality then the CX series.
Tennobanzai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 09:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 204
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennobanzai View Post

Just simply remove the CPU, RAM, and heatsink and swap it into your new motherboard. Why don't you just wait it out on the PSU? For the money I rather wait for a good deal that is fully modular and better quality then the CX series.

Well I know that but I meant in terms of drivers and anything I need to do to make sure Windows and other software are fine with the change. I know some programs rely on the motherboard to identify a computer.

Yeah I guess I can wait for a nice deal to pop up on the RM line. And hey, with time and patience I might be able to still pull off a nice and tidy case even with all of the extra cables.
weredawg is offline  
post #13 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 10:02 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
RyReZar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: England, UK
Posts: 523
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Im thinking of getting a short cable kit for my corsair ax850 for when my 250d arrives. Im looking at this set http://www.moddiy.com/products/Corsair-AX-Professional-Series-Individually-Sleeved-Modular-Cable-Set.html# from moddiy. Has anyone used them before? can you comment on the quality?

As £51 for 4 cables is a lot of money. Also would 30cm be to short for the 250D?

RyReZar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 10:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,825
Rep: 160 (Unique: 133)
Quote:
Originally Posted by weredawg View Post

Well I know that but I meant in terms of drivers and anything I need to do to make sure Windows and other software are fine with the change. I know some programs rely on the motherboard to identify a computer.

Yeah I guess I can wait for a nice deal to pop up on the RM line. And hey, with time and patience I might be able to still pull off a nice and tidy case even with all of the extra cables.
You have to reformat when you use a new motherboard. I get my drivers from station-drivers.com and the Asus website, but Asus is very slow when it comes to using newer drivers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyReZar View Post

Im thinking of getting a short cable kit for my corsair ax850 for when my 250d arrives. Im looking at this set http://www.moddiy.com/products/Corsair-AX-Professional-Series-Individually-Sleeved-Modular-Cable-Set.html# from moddiy. Has anyone used them before? can you comment on the quality?

As £51 for 4 cables is a lot of money. Also would 30cm be to short for the 250D?
My CPU, Mobo and PCIE cables are from moddiy. Quality is pretty good. The picture above shows my moddiy cables. My CPU and mobo cables are 30mm long and PCIE cables are 45mm long. Everything fits perfect except I could of went with 40mm PCIE cables. They usually have coupons so make sure to use one when you order
Tennobanzai is offline  
post #15 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 10:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CaptainZombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,622
Rep: 33 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennobanzai View Post

Thanks!

I just installed my air cooler, Noctua NH-U9B SE. Temps are still about the same since I'm only OC'd to 4.2 with undervolting.



and for reference, here is a picture of my Caselabs S3 right by the 250D. If anyone wants I could get my brothers Prodigy in the picture as well.

CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), default quality

What are the temps on your card? Looks like you are using an EVGA ACX in there, but not sure which one. I have a 770 ACX and was considering between going with this case or the RVZ01. The RVZ01 would cost me more since I would also need to get the SFX PSU vs. what I have now and I fear my H60 might not properly fit in the RVZ01 even though they say that it would, but there hasn't been any builds done with that case. Linus and PCPer have had the case for a month now and said they would do builds in them within the month of January, but they never did.

Hopefully the next case that Corsair designs in the ITX market is a Steam machine based case that sits like a HTPC case with all the nice trimmings. Imagine an Obsidian 150D that is about the same size or a bit bigger than the RVZ01, would be awesome.

I can't wait to see more build posts since I'm debating on which case to go with for ITX.
CaptainZombie is offline  
post #16 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 10:21 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
RyReZar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: England, UK
Posts: 523
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennobanzai View Post

My CPU, Mobo and PCIE cables are from moddiy. Quality is pretty good. The picture above shows my moddiy cables. My CPU and mobo cables are 30mm long and PCIE cables are 45mm long. Everything fits perfect except I could of went with 40mm PCIE cables. They usually have coupons so make sure to use one when you order
Oh awesome thanks. Is 45/40cm to long for the pcie cables? could you get away with 30cm? as i want to reduce cable length as much as possible.

RyReZar is offline  
post #17 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 10:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,825
Rep: 160 (Unique: 133)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainZombie View Post

What are the temps on your card? Looks like you are using an EVGA ACX in there, but not sure which one. I have a 770 ACX and was considering between going with this case or the RVZ01. The RVZ01 would cost me more since I would also need to get the SFX PSU vs. what I have now and I fear my H60 might not properly fit in the RVZ01 even though they say that it would, but there hasn't been any builds done with that case. Linus and PCPer have had the case for a month now and said they would do builds in them within the month of January, but they never did.

Hopefully the next case that Corsair designs in the ITX market is a Steam machine based case that sits like a HTPC case with all the nice trimmings. Imagine an Obsidian 150D that is about the same size or a bit bigger than the RVZ01, would be awesome.

I can't wait to see more build posts since I'm debating on which case to go with for ITX.
I have the 780 SC ACX. Max temps is about 65C but my fan profile is pretty aggressive.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyReZar View Post

Oh awesome thanks. Is 45/40cm to long for the pcie cables? could you get away with 30cm? as i want to reduce cable length as much as possible.
I'll have to tear down part of my rig tonight so I can try to get a more accurate idea. Just off the top of my head, I would think 40mm is good. The 30cm cables I have are perfect for the CPU/Mobo, but the distance is less compared to the GPU. Also, i'm using a Seasonic 660 Platinium, so the PSU connectors might be slightly different compared to your Corsair. It might make a 1-3cm difference.
Tennobanzai is offline  
post #18 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 10:38 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
RyReZar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: England, UK
Posts: 523
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennobanzai View Post

I'll have to tear down part of my rig tonight so I can try to get a more accurate idea. Just off the top of my head, I would think 40mm is good. The 30cm cables I have are perfect for the CPU/Mobo, but the distance is less compared to the GPU. Also, i'm using a Seasonic 660 Platinium, so the PSU connectors might be slightly different compared to your Corsair. It might make a 1-3cm difference.

Thanks, yeah its a pain because I cant find the pcie cables seperately on moddiy, so i have to buy the kit but of course can only choose one size. If you could measure the distance from the psu to the gpu power connections that would be great.

RyReZar is offline  
post #19 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 10:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,825
Rep: 160 (Unique: 133)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyReZar View Post

Thanks, yeah its a pain because I cant find the pcie cables seperately on moddiy, so i have to buy the kit but of course can only choose one size.
You don't have to buy the full kit. I left them an email saying I want only 5 cables and you can get them in different lengths.
Tennobanzai is offline  
post #20 of 3071 (permalink) Old 02-11-2014, 11:11 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
RyReZar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: England, UK
Posts: 523
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tennobanzai View Post

You don't have to buy the full kit. I left them an email saying I want only 5 cables and you can get them in different lengths.
Awesome now going to email them! I think i'll go for mobo 24pin, cpu power, sata power in 30cm and then pcie in 40cm just to be safe.

Thanks for your help! thumb.gif

RyReZar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off