[Build Log] Density! 11TB, 1.4 cubic feet, mATX - and QUIET - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build Log] Density! 11TB, 1.4 cubic feet, mATX - and QUIET

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 07:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CTRLurself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 2,645
Rep: 262 (Unique: 224)
Hey guys, this is my first build for myself in a while. I didn't like my old HTPC that I had built out of spare parts, so I decided to do it properly. This is a combination new, used and extra parts I had laying around, but I'm trying to build it right this time.

This little guy is a combination File Server and HTPC, so it has to be quiet, and big on the inside. As a reference, here's some of the other stuff I've built recently:
Avenger [Retired]
Maximum Dwarf

I settled on the Node 804 because I LOVE Fractal cases. I've used them a ton for all different builds, and they are just great. And to start it just had the parts from my previous HTPC in it, which were unimpressive (so much so that I didn't even take a picture before I started taking it apart).

Here's all the parts that I need to ADD to this computer - nothing is being taken out, just adding a RAID card, more storage, better cooling and a better GPU.



Here's the GPU I picked up on sale, the ASUS GT730 Corporate Stable Model (passive heat sink on it, and it's only 23W under full load). Also, the PERC 5i I snagged off eBAY, with a BBU, and the cable, for $30 shipped!


Literally all I did was take the HSF off the CPU (it was the stock one) and snap a picture - this was unimpressive to start with.


The Phanteks PH-TC14PE is seriously huge. It's technically larger than what *should* fit into this case, but it does in fact fit (barely). I have it set up going bottom -> top so they'll be pulling air from across all the other components in the expansion area.


Here's everything installed on the front side of the case (except fans). Giant HSF, GT730, ASUS PCE-AC56 Wireless Card, and my PERC 5i I snagged off of eBay.





You'll have to sub for more. I have to clone the the OS drive, get all my media swapped onto the 10TB of movie storage, boot it, and load a ton of drivers. Then it'll be time for stress testing and temps, so stay tuned! I've also got plenty of fans to add, but they'll only go in if they're needed.

Term of Service: If I can google your question and get a correct answer in the first 5 links, on my first try; I reserve the right to link you through Let MeGoogleThatForYou.com with the number for the correct answer.



CTRLurself is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CTRLurself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 2,645
Rep: 262 (Unique: 224)
Reserved

Term of Service: If I can google your question and get a correct answer in the first 5 links, on my first try; I reserve the right to link you through Let MeGoogleThatForYou.com with the number for the correct answer.



CTRLurself is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-03-2014, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CTRLurself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 2,645
Rep: 262 (Unique: 224)
I got everything cloned onto the new hard drive, everything is installed and working. I'm now troubleshooting why and how the network speeds are so tremendously terrible on it. Also, my normal photographer is on vacation right now, so final rig shots will have to wait.

Term of Service: If I can google your question and get a correct answer in the first 5 links, on my first try; I reserve the right to link you through Let MeGoogleThatForYou.com with the number for the correct answer.



CTRLurself is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-13-2014, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CTRLurself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 2,645
Rep: 262 (Unique: 224)
Talked with SeaSonic and got my hands on an awesome little site to order any replacement cables you could want for their power supplies: http://www.btosinte.com/Cables-for-PS2-power-supply_c7.htm

How have people not posted about this site before? There are people on these forums who've pain-stakingly built new cables for these power supplies, and the cables are readily available, cheaply!!!

Term of Service: If I can google your question and get a correct answer in the first 5 links, on my first try; I reserve the right to link you through Let MeGoogleThatForYou.com with the number for the correct answer.



CTRLurself is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off