Alienware Alpha Owners Club! - Page 150 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Alienware Alpha Owners Club!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1491 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-03-2016, 08:23 PM
Prince of all Saiyans
 
Blindrage606's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 4,195
Rep: 318 (Unique: 281)
Edit: Shout out to sargentsmite as I reached out to him for a bit of collaboration. Credit for the modifications of each BIOS is given independently. Thanks.

Blindrage vBIOS does:

Locks default core clock 1300 Mhz from the stock 1097Mhz value.
Adjust power for 48w.
Adjust boost tables to match 1300 - 1400Mhz core clock.
Boost State MAX values matches the 1300 -1400Mhz core clock.
Locks memory clock at default 2800Mhz from the stock 1505Mhz value.

**New default core clock values are equivalent to a +200Mhz in MSI Afterburner (which means with the additional 135Mhz+ available via MSI Afterburner this BIOS pushes the new optional potential core clock to an equivalent of +335Mhz or 1435Mhz)

**New default memory values are equivalent to a +300Mhz via MSI Afterburner

After modding the vBIOS via:

Kepler Tweaker
nVflash x64

Verified clocks via:

MSI Afterburner
GPUz -- Used this to make a stock copy of the vBIOS.


vBIOS Tabs:

Common:
TDP Base clock: 1400Mhz
Boost Clock: 1400Mhz
Memory Clock: 2800

Power Table (48w) :
Def (mW): 48000

Boost Table: adjusted (right click table to change values)
1400 Mhz

Boost States (P00, P05, P08):
P00 Profile:
GPC: 1400Mhz MAX
XBAR: 1400Mhz MAX
L2C: 1400Mhz MAX

P05 Profile:
GPC: 1400Mhz MAX
XBAR: 1400Mhz MAX
L2C: 1400Mhz MAX

P08 Profile: N/A

Clock States: N/A


Current Alpha Specs:

i7 4785T 35w (3.2Ghz, HT)
16GB Kingston HyperX Impact 1.35v
nVidia 860m
512GB EVO SSD
IC7Diamond Thermal on both CPU/GPU
Coolermaster laptop cooling pad (forces cooler air into bottom induction vents)
MSI Afterburner: +135Mhz

Load GPU Temp: 82C
Min GPU Temp: 52C

FIRESTRIKE SCORE: 4637



AlphaR1BlindRage.zip 259k .zip file

NVFlash_Certs_Bypassed_v5.265_x64.zip 1091k .zip file

NVflash Guide that will work with the Alpha
Attached Files
File Type: zip AlphaR1BlindRage.zip (258.6 KB, 281 views)
File Type: zip NVFlash_Certs_Bypassed_v5.265_x64.zip (1.06 MB, 229 views)
Blindrage606 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1492 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-03-2016, 08:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sargentsmite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Awesome! The i7 does gain some points over the i3, I cant wait to swap CPUs.

Best Firestrike on the stock i3 is 4382

http://www.3dmark.com/fs/7771347

I will further tweak the vbios and repost once the E3 Xeon and dual 40mm liquid cooler are installed.



sargentsmite is offline  
post #1493 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-03-2016, 09:23 PM
Prince of all Saiyans
 
Blindrage606's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 4,195
Rep: 318 (Unique: 281)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sargentsmite View Post

Glad the vbios worked. The i7 does gain some points over the i3, I cant wait to swap CPUs.

Best Firestrike on the stock i3 is 4382

http://www.3dmark.com/fs/7771347

I will further tweak the vbios and repost once the E3 Xeon and dual 40mm liquid cooler are installed.


Oh, just to confirm the i7 4785T gave a PhysX score of: 7926

New FIREMARK after blindrage vBIOS: +135 core/+200 mem = 4753
Blindrage606 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1494 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-04-2016, 08:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
beingben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sargentsmite View Post

The higher wattage power bricks do make a difference.

I am using the Dell GA240PE1-00

My alpha is apart for the xeon e3 cpu upgrade and getting an ssd.
Also I have purchased a corsair mini itx cooler intended for the bulldog, to mod for the Alpha.
I have not seen anyone with a firestrike score ahead of my Alpha so far. I expect even better once the xeon cpu and mini cooler are installed.

http://www.3dmark.com/fs/7313650

The i3 is limiting the score with weak physics, the E3 xeon pulls 11k physics.

Here is my revision 4 vbios - use at your own risk. I was unstable until using a 240 watt power adaptter.

860m_mod4.zip 130k .zip file


Mind uploading pictures, I'm intrigued on how it looks with the mini itx cooler. I'm debating on trying to mod a eGPU setup into this system...any suggestions?
beingben is offline  
post #1495 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-04-2016, 08:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mikestate1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Ok, so if it (larger power brick) makes a difference for you and not for me then there are obviously variances in the alphas. My point is that people shouldn't go into it thinking for sure that a power brick is the solution.

I've added a different blower fan and thermal pastes with the case cover off also with no change.

Obviously if you change the vbios your going to get different results. Is this something most people know how to do though? No.
Mikestate1 is offline  
post #1496 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-04-2016, 09:37 AM
Prince of all Saiyans
 
Blindrage606's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 4,195
Rep: 318 (Unique: 281)
The TDP/voltage reg is done by the machine internally despite the external power adapter. Similar to alienware's laptops, where many of them have limited cutoffs for the PSU ... on exception of those with faulty the AW15/17 laptop BIOS where it would be throttled without the 240w PSU.


SO, this means that the performance of the alienware alpha is not limited by the external power brick wattage, but rather the TDP constraints put in place by the internal system BIOS (not vBIOS). A larger/more powerful external brick will not make a difference since we're limited by the small power delta of ~40-50w.

TL;DR: A higher wattage power brick DOES NOT increase performance! The alpha must remain in a small TDP envelope, this is done by the system BIOS lock and purchasing a $100 powerbrick does nothing.
Blindrage606 is offline  
post #1497 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-04-2016, 10:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rektifying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 132
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sargentsmite View Post

I was unstable until using a 240 watt power adaptter.

Nice! I always wondered if the Alpha would take more power if it was available to it.

If it's not broke, fix it until it is!
Rektifying is offline  
post #1498 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-04-2016, 01:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mikestate1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Very well said! Like I said before, to many people in this thread don't know what their talking about when it comes to performance enhancements. I bought several different power bricks only to be disappointed.

I emplore people that take the advice of the "experts" on this tread to think twice. The alpha is what it is.
Mikestate1 is offline  
post #1499 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-04-2016, 06:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iRUSH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,052
Rep: 214 (Unique: 154)
Such a great looking tiny machine! Imagine what performance is packaged in this size in 3-5 years from now.

I was on the fence about the Alpha ever since Dell had their $100 off. I ended up with a ROG G20 instead. Someday I'll have one of these too. I just need to wait a few more years smile.gif

How's every liking theirs?

I have used nearly every CPU from Sandy Bridge on and Phenom II on. I have also used most GPU's from 2011 on, from low, mid and high. I've built 100's of rigs over the years. Most for fun and some for side work. If you have any questions and want an unbiased opinion, please feel free to PM me.
iRUSH is offline  
post #1500 of 2169 (permalink) Old 03-05-2016, 01:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sargentsmite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I have a M6600 with the 2920xm/2gb firepro - I used the 240watt power brick from it.

After more poking and prodding the same results are indeed stable with the stock adapter. Blindrage606 is correct.

I will revisit this once the different TDP processor is installed, possibly an 80 watt CPU may cause more current to be drawn, if not then at least I tried, hehe.

I will include images once the cooling mod is in place as well. The stock fans dont really ramp up until 80c.



sargentsmite is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off