[Build log] Hubble: a Node 304 Skylake build - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Build log] Hubble: a Node 304 Skylake build

post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-19-2015, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)

I've been using a late-2008 15" MacBook Pro for the past 7 years. The machine performed beautifully throughout college, at times dual-booting into Windows and/or running the Windows partition in a VM for certain Windows-specific applications. However, it's been painfully slow of late, probably due to it's 4gb of RAM and core 2 duo processor.

I've wanted to upgrade for a couple years now, and considered everything from an iMac to a Chrome Book. Since I've graduated from college, I no longer require the portability of a laptop, and I've got an iPad for all my couch-computing needs, so I discarded that idea. The 27" retina iMacs are gorgeous, but they just don't have the bang-for-the-buck I'm looking for.

The best possible solution seems to be to build myself a PC! I've also managed to set aside the funds required to build a machine without much compromise.

It's new-PC time, baby!

The only other PC I've built myself was a budget-oriented HTPC that's been living under my TV for a few years now, and recently moved into the closet behind the TV. It serves as a Plex Media Server streaming content to the iPad, as a file server pushing content to our laptops, as a Netflix client, and as a Spotify player. It's low powered Celeron processor has been performing beautifully and has handled everything I've thrown at it with ease!

We've affectionately named the HTPC Houston - because saying "Houston, we have a problem" whenever something doesn't work is awesome.

With this in mind, I've decided to name my new PC...

Hopefully I'll get Steam In-Home Streaming setup and can have Hubble stream images to Houston - hehe.

Parts list