Alienware Alpha R2 Owners Club - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Alienware Alpha R2 Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-06-2016, 02:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
spoonablehippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 133
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by retroPhil View Post

Just transferring files and running windows updates atm, which makes me miss having an ssd biggrin.gif

16gb went in no problem. Don't make the same mistake as me and start unscrewing the CPU heatsink screws durhhh.

Haha won't do! Had a R1 Alpha, so have swapped the RAM in these before.

I'm taking the 500GB HDD straight out and putting in a 2TB one I'm pilfering from my PS4. Its only 5400RPM, but as the OS and program files will be on the M.2 and the HDD is only for actual game installs it shouldn't slow it up too much (I hope).
spoonablehippo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-06-2016, 02:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
retroPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 61
Rep: 8 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonablehippo View Post

Haha won't do! Had a R1 Alpha, so have swapped the RAM in these before.

I'm taking the 500GB HDD straight out and putting in a 2TB one I'm pilfering from my PS4. Its only 5400RPM, but as the OS and program files will be on the M.2 and the HDD is only for actual game installs it shouldn't slow it up too much (I hope).

I'm such a newbie biggrin.gif

I'll post a benchmark in abit.
retroPhil is offline  
post #23 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-06-2016, 05:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
retroPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 61
Rep: 8 (Unique: 2)
Goes great with my clutter biggrin.gif




KI



https://youtu.be/CJ5IwqxwAm0
retroPhil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-06-2016, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonablehippo View Post

Haha won't do! Had a R1 Alpha, so have swapped the RAM in these before.

I'm taking the 500GB HDD straight out and putting in a 2TB one I'm pilfering from my PS4. Its only 5400RPM, but as the OS and program files will be on the M.2 and the HDD is only for actual game installs it shouldn't slow it up too much (I hope).

The inclusion of the M.2 slot really makes this a desktop replacement class box. I was between this and the new Aurora but I think im good with just the Alpha/Steam R2 now.
r3zon8 is offline  
post #25 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-06-2016, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonablehippo View Post

I'll check the forbes one out, just trying to see if there is a prefited screw for the M.2 drive!

Mines now out for delivery, so today's the day!

If you get yours before mine, let me know what you find :-)
(ie, if the memory works etc)

No prefitted screw for the M.2 slot. Bastards!
r3zon8 is offline  
post #26 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-06-2016, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
r3zon8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnusson2004 View Post

Hi

I do not currently own an Alpha R2, but am at the point of buying one.

I was just wondering, how it performs in games in general? How are settings in 1920x1080 and 2560x1440 and the fps?

Read a review where the say that it can be loud under stress, is this really that noticeable?

Any issues with heat under full load?

// Michael

I owned an Alpha R1 prior to this and all games were >30fps at 1080p/medium. fan noise was not noticeable from the couch during long extended gaming sessions.

With the R2..the fan is noticeably louder. The GF even noticed the added sound when playing Doom(2016) and Overwatch- the only 2 games Im playing at the moment.

I played plenty of Doom on the R1 and Overwatch. Mostly had to use Low/Medium on Doom and Medium on Overwatch. with the R2 Im at High on Doom and Ultra on Overwatch. 60fps without issue.

This little machine really is a beast guys! Im really happy with the R2 upgrade. Im glad Dell/Alienware listened to all the fans and placed a proper GPU in this.
r3zon8 is offline  
post #27 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-07-2016, 02:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
retroPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 61
Rep: 8 (Unique: 2)
retroPhil is offline  
post #28 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-07-2016, 05:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
spoonablehippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 133
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Well, got mine yesterday!

Had a nightmare trying to get it to recognise my Samsung M.2 drive though. Finally got it sorted by changing the SATA mode in BIOS to ACHI. The default was RAID ON.

But anyway, what a beast!

I have been having an email conversation with Richard Leadbetter from Digital Foundry, and he has given me some overclocking settings to try that worked well with the desktop GTX 960.

I've used MSI Afterburner, and have added the full +200 to the core and +400 to the RAM as rich suggested. No problem!

Gained an impressive amount during the 3D Mark Skydiver test, and during stress testing, the GPU temperature got up to 82 deg but stayed at that level.

I went to try and change the thermal paste on the GPU like I did with the R1 Alpha, but I don't think you can!?
The heatsink for the GPU is a monster compared to the R1, and I couldnt see any screws to remove it. It even has some copper heat pipes running around the bottom.

Below is the pic of the skydiver results, before and after overclocking:



Heatsink:




One thing I've noticed though, is that when under load my GPU starts to buzz!!! Can anyone with an R2 listen to theirs and see if it does it too or if mine has a problem?

Cheers
spoonablehippo is offline  
post #29 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-07-2016, 06:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
retroPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 61
Rep: 8 (Unique: 2)
some awesome work there!

I don't get any buzzing at this end.
retroPhil is offline  
post #30 of 259 (permalink) Old 07-07-2016, 06:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
spoonablehippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 133
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by retroPhil View Post

some awesome work there!

I don't get any buzzing at this end.

Looked into it. and apparently is something called "coil whine" and quite common/normal.

I let it stress test at full load for around half hour, and the noise has stopped :-)
spoonablehippo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off