Streaming PC ? discussion - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Streaming PC ? discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2018, 11:25 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Streaming PC ? discussion

i recently picked up an Alienware Alpha R1 with the i5-4590t and these boogers decent powerful pcs but im wondering how i would use the Elgato hd 60 pro with it im aware of the cables and stuff but let me hear some ideas guys . Im stoked to make this happen
DanTheMAnrockz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2018, 11:35 PM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30,086
Rep: 3135 (Unique: 1869)
Given that this system has a fairly modern NVIDIA GPU, I'd probably try using NVENC to encode video for streaming and see how that does, before resorting to a dedicated capture card, especially since the system has no internal expansion slots.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2018, 11:50 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
nvenc makes it look a tad grainy i already have the hd60 pro and the hd 60 but the hd60 pro offers better quality im just estatic to try this what im wondering is what cable would i use ive looked all over but no clear answers yet it seems no one has tried this wouldnt the egou ordeal work?
DanTheMAnrockz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2018, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
ive been streaming for quite some time now and i want something small like this for a dedicated streaming pc
DanTheMAnrockz is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-26-2018, 11:53 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
i have a dedicated gaming pc as well so i shouldve clarified that im doing a dedicated streaming and a dedicated gaming setup
DanTheMAnrockz is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-27-2018, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Blameless View Post
Given that this system has a fairly modern NVIDIA GPU, I'd probably try using NVENC to encode video for streaming and see how that does, before resorting to a dedicated capture card, especially since the system has no internal expansion slots.
what are your suggestions?
DanTheMAnrockz is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-27-2018, 02:00 AM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30,086
Rep: 3135 (Unique: 1869)
Quote: Originally Posted by DanTheMAnrockz View Post
nvenc makes it look a tad grainy i already have the hd60 pro and the hd 60 but the hd60 pro offers better quality im just estatic to try this what im wondering is what cable would i use ive looked all over but no clear answers yet it seems no one has tried this wouldnt the egou ordeal work?
Egou? EGPU?

You might be able to connect the capture card the way you would an external GPU, but you'd probably be better off with a better external GPU.

However, since you've already got the capture card and seem to prefer it's video quality, the setup, if it's workable, should not be particularly complex. You attach the capture card the same way you would the external GPU--most solutions just convert the PCI-E lane(s) from the internal mini-PCIE slot to an external physical 16x slot--then passthrough the HDMI output from the system, through the capture card, then out to your display.

It should work the same way as on any other desktop, you simply have a more unconventional way to attach the capture card to the available PCI-E lanes.

Quote: Originally Posted by DanTheMAnrockz View Post
what are your suggestions?
Well, I would try playing with NVENC setting in OBS studio, but if you can't get the encode quality on par with the capture card, go ahead and use something like the EXP GDC to connect it to your R1.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-27-2018, 02:37 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Blameless View Post
Egou? EGPU?

You might be able to connect the capture card the way you would an external GPU, but you'd probably be better off with a better external GPU.

However, since you've already got the capture card and seem to prefer it's video quality, the setup, if it's workable, should not be particularly complex. You attach the capture card the same way you would the external GPU--most solutions just convert the PCI-E lane(s) from the internal mini-PCIE slot to an external physical 16x slot--then passthrough the HDMI output from the system, through the capture card, then out to your display.

It should work the same way as on any other desktop, you simply have a more unconventional way to attach the capture card to the available PCI-E lanes.



Well, I would try playing with NVENC setting in OBS studio, but if you can't get the encode quality on par with the capture card, go ahead and use something like the EXP GDC to connect it to your R1.
with the EXP GDC i wouldnt need a power supply right? since its such a low power consumption?
DanTheMAnrockz is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-27-2018, 02:38 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
there are no pcie lanes just the m.2 2230 its where the wireless/bluetooth card sits
DanTheMAnrockz is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-27-2018, 02:51 AM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30,086
Rep: 3135 (Unique: 1869)
Quote: Originally Posted by DanTheMAnrockz View Post
with the EXP GDC i wouldnt need a power supply right? since its such a low power consumption?
Still need a way to power the slot, so you'd still need a power supply.

Edit: the 12v DC input from the AC adapter/power brick should be sufficient. So, no you probably won't need a separate ATX power supply.

Quote: Originally Posted by DanTheMAnrockz View Post
there are no pcie lanes just the m.2 2230 its where the wireless/bluetooth card sits
That's PCI-E.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson

Last edited by Blameless; 05-27-2018 at 02:55 AM.
Blameless is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off