HPCS Setup Guide (Linux and Windows) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HPCS Setup Guide (Linux and Windows)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 46,110
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)

Hey guys. For those of you who don't know, HP are testing their Cloud Service by allowing people to beta test them. Getting accepted means you'll have access to two servers (AZ1 and AZ2), and you're able to use 20 cores on each server. The best methodseems to be 10 2core instances on each server, all doing SMP. It's still some very nice PPD for free. :D

 

To sign up, go to http://www.hpcloud.com/sign_up and enter @hpcloud in the Twitter field. :thumb:

 

Note: If you're using both AZ1 and AZ2 servers, you'll need to get an access key for each server. You'll need those files later.

 

How to get your access key (Click to show)

How to get your access key

 Thank you to _s3v3n_ for much of this section.

 

1) From your "Manage Server Screen", click the "Key Pair" link.

8.png


2) Enter a desired keyname. This can be any name you wish; I will use hpdefault, but you can choose another. Just rememer to replace it with your choice later in the guide. Then, click "CREATE" button.

1.png

3) Copy the Key Pairs contents. See below;

5.png

 

 

Linux:

Rightclick on your Desktop, and choose Create Document> Empty File.

 

6.png

 

Name it hpdefault (no need for an extension), and paste the contents in. Then save the file.

 

 

Windows:

Open Notepad, paste the contents in, and save as hpdefault.txt (again, you can use whatever name you want, just remember that I'll refer to it as hpdefault.txt). You'll need that later.

 

Linux Guide (Click to show)

 

 

"I'm comfortable with Linux" quick guide (Click to show)

 

"I'm comfortable with Linux" quick guide

 

1) Download hpdefault.pem from your HPCloud account.

 

2) Open Terminal and cd to the directory containing the downloaded file.

 

3) Commands:

chmod 400 hpdefault

ssh -i hpdefault [email protected]xxx.xx

yes (Confirming you wish to connect)

wget http://www.ppdpolice.com/hpcs/install

bash install

<Enter your Folding details>

 

5) For HFM set up:

mv fah /

chmod 777 /fah

apt-get update

apt-get install apache2

nano /etc/apache2/sites-available/default

<Change to the picture below (using your home IP)>

Screenshot-17.png

 

<Exit nano>

service apache2 restart

 

6) Starting Folding client:

If using apache: cd /fah

If not using apache: cd fah

For 2 vCPU instances: nohup ./fah6 -smp 2 &

 

To add to HFM, check "Adding to HFM" section below.

 

 

 

"I don't like Linux" comprehensive guide (Click to show)

 

"I don't like Linux" comprehensive guide

 

<I am assuming you've entered your CC details and activated at least one server; AZ1 or AZ2>

 

Ok, now you're in your server space. You'll want to create ten (10) Standard.small (2vCPU) instances:

 

7.png

 

 

For each instance, make sure to select Ubuntu Maverick 10.10 Server 64-bit as the Install Image:

2.png

 

 

Earlier, you would have made your access key (if not, follow the Key Pair instructions above). Move this file to the to the Downloads folder (this is where the guide will assume the file is).

 

Now we'll use Terminal to SSH in (basically, remote connect to the server). Open Terminal (this is the equivalent of Command Prompt in Windows) from the menu in the top-left corner:
3.png

 

Command:
cd Downloads

Screenshot-3.png

 

Command:
chmod 400 hpdefault

2.png

 

Now, you will SSH in to your instance. You'll need the IP of one of your servers (in my case, it is 15.185.101.41; your ones will be different).

Command:

ssh -i hpdefault [email protected]15.185.xxx.xx

 

You'll be asked "Are you sure you want to continue connecting (yes/no)? Answer yes.

3.png

 

After the text, you will see something like [email protected] (again, your server # will be different). Now we're connected to the server, we'll install the Folding client.

 

Command:

wget http://www.ppdpolice.com/hpcs/install

 

Screenshot-6.png

 

Command:

bash install

 

You'll now need to enter your Folding details, as follows:
Screenshot-8.png

 

 

 

Prepping for HFM (Click to show)

Prepping for HFM

 

Command:

mv fah / (there is a space between "fah" and "/")

chmod 777 /fah

 

Screenshot-12.png

 

Command:

apt-get update (You'll see a lot of text now; just wait until "[email protected]#" comes back)

apt-get install apache2

Wait a second and it'll ask "Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Enter y.

Screenshot-14.png

 

Command:

nano /etc/apache2/sites-available/default

 

Now, this is the tricky bit. "nano" is a text editor, and you should see the following:

Screenshot-16.png

 

You'll need to change:

DocumentRoot /var/www to ->  DocumentRoot /fah

<Directory /var/www/> to -> <Directory />

Allow from all to -> Allow from IP (this is your personal IP, not the IP of the HP instance) If you don't have a static IP, leave as "allow from all"!

 

It should now look like this:

Screenshot-17.png

 

nano should still be open at this stage, so to save and close:

CTRL+X

Y

ENTER key

 

You'll now be back in Terminal. Enter:
service apache2 restart

 

 

 

Now to start the Folding client.

If you followed the HFM instructions, enter: cd /fah

If you didn't follow the HFM instructions, enter: cd fah

 

For the 2 vCPU instances, enter: nohup ./fah6 -smp 2 &

 

(nohup will cause the client to run in the background, which will allow you to close the VM of Linux and your instance will continue to Fold.)

Screenshot-21.png

 

To make sure it's Folding. now just enter:

top

 

Give it a minute (or two, if you're doing -bigadv), and you should see FahCore_a3.exe or FahCore_a5.exe at the top. It will have 100%*vCPUs. So for -bigadv, you should see 800%:

 

Screenshot-25.png

 

 

Windows Guide (Click to show)

 

 

Windows guide

 

 

 

<I am assuming you've entered your CC details and activated at least one server; AZ1 or AZ2>

 

1) Ok, now you're in your server space. You'll want to create ten (10) Standard.small (2vCPU) instances:

 

7.png

 

 

For each instance, make sure to select Ubuntu Maverick 10.10 Server 64-bit as the Install Image:

2.png

 

 

2) You should have the hpdefault.txt file from earlier (if not, follow the "Key Pairs" section above).Download PuTTY (used to connect to the server) and PuTTYgen (used to convert the .txt file to use with PuTTY itself) using the following links:

PuTTY

PuTTYgen

 

Put these two files and the hpdefault.txt file into a new Folder (call it HPCS) on the Desktop:

4.png

 

Now open PuTTYgen.exe. Click on Conversions> Import Key.

2.png

 

Load up the hpdefault.txt key, and click Save Private Key. Select yes on the popup, and save the file (any name you wish):

3.png

 

5) Open PuTTY. Enter your HP instance IP as the Host Name. (You might also want to enter is as a "Saved Session", so you can reconnect easily; just enter the IP and click "Save"). Don't press "Open" yet:

4.png

 

Click on Connection> SSH> Auth. For "Private key file for authentication", load the hpdefault.ppk file we generated earlier. Leave all other settings as default:

5.png

 

Now press Open, and answer Yes to the security popup:

6.png

 

Finally, when it asks for a logon name, enter root:

7.png

 

 

After the text, you will see something like [email protected] (again, your server # will be different). Now we're connected to the server, we'll install the Folding client.

 

Command:

wget http://www.ppdpolice.com/hpcs/install

 

8.png

 

Command:

bash install

 

You'll now need to enter your Folding details, as follows:
9.png

 

If you are on an 8 vCPU instance, you will need the corehack to do -bigadv WUs:

 

-bigadv Corehack (Click to show)

 

Command:

cat /proc/stat | awk 'BEGIN { TARGET_NCPUS=16 } ; { if ($1 == "intr") { for (i=NR-2;i<TARGET_NCPUS;i++) print "cpu" i S } ; S="" ; for (i=2;i<=NF;i++) S=S " " $i ; print }' > /tmp/stat.save
mount --bind /tmp/stat.save /proc/stat

 

10.png

 

To confirm the corehack worked, enter:
cat /proc/stat

 

Scroll up, and you should see CPU0-CPU15, like so:

11.png

 

 

 

Prepping for HFM (Click to show)

Prepping for HFM

 

Command:

mv fah / (there is a space between "fah" and "/")

chmod 777 /fah

 

12.png

 

Command:

apt-get update (You'll see a lot of text now; just wait until "[email protected]#" comes back)

apt-get install apache2

Wait a second and it'll ask "Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Enter y.

13.png

 

Command:

nano /etc/apache2/sites-available/default

 

Now, this is the tricky bit. "nano" is a text editor, and you should see the following:

14.png

 

You'll need to change:

DocumentRoot /var/www to -> DocumentRoot /fah

<Directory /var/www/> to -> <Directory />

Allow from all to -> Allow from IP (this is your personal IP, not the IP of the HP instance)

 

It should now look like this:

15.png

 

nano should still be open at this stage, so to save and close:

CTRL+X

Y

ENTER key

 

You'll now be back in Terminal. Enter:
service apache2 restart

 

 

 

Now to start the Folding client.

If you followed the HFM instructions, enter: cd /fah

If you didn't follow the HFM instructions, enter: cd fah

 

For 2 vCPU instances, enter: nohup ./fah6 -smp 2 &

 

(nohup will cause the client to run in the background, which will allow you to close the VM of Linux and your instance will continue to Fold.)

16.png

 

To make sure it's Folding. now just enter:

top

 

Give it a minute (or two, if you're doing -bigadv), and you should see FahCore_a3.exe or FahCore_a5.exe at the top. It will have 100%*vCPUs. So for -bigadv, you should see 800%:

 

17.png

 

 

 

 

Adding to HFM (Click to show)

 

Adding to HFM

 

If you set up apache for HFM earlier, you can now add the server instance to your HFM:

 

Note: You can set this up before connecting to your HP server if you prefer; it's how I do it. ;)

 

• Open HFM

• Click Clients> Add Client.

• Click the "Web Server" button.

• In "URL to Log Directory", enter http://HPserverIP/ (this should be the same IP you SSH'd into)

• Leave the rest empty, and choose whichever "Instance Name" you prefer.

 

4.png

 

Success! I accept cookies as thanks.

 

If you cannot connect to one of your servers instances:

 

Connection Issues? (Click to show)

 

Connection Issues

 

Some people have had the following error when trying to connect to a server instance:

 

Quote:

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
@    WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!     @
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
IT IS POSSIBLE THAT SOMEONE IS DOING SOMETHING NASTY!
Someone could be eavesdropping on you right now (man-in-the-middle attack)!
It is also possible that the RSA host key has just been changed.
The fingerprint for the RSA key sent by the remote host is
*****
Please contact your system administrator.
Add correct host key in /home/x6-temp/.ssh/known_hosts to get rid of this message.
Offending key in /home/x6-temp/.ssh/known_hosts:2
RSA host key for 15.185.x.x has changed and you have requested strict checking.
Host key verification failed.

 

If you ever rebuild your server and your new one has the same IP as before, you will get this message. The keys have changed remotely and no longer match those you have stored in the SSH database. To remove the old keys, enter this command (replacing the x's with your own info):

ssh-keygen -R 15.185.xxx.xxx

 

Cheers Digi. :thumb:

 

 


I was not fired.
Megadoomer
(13 items)
CPU
Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
GPU
GTX 760
RAM
Kingston 8GBx2
Hard Drive
Crucial M550
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf 8TBx2
Power Supply
CM 1000M
Cooling
CM Hyper 212+
Case
HAF 922
Operating System
Windows 7 Professional x64
Monitor
Samsung T220
Keyboard
Logitech MX3000 Laser
Mouse
Logitech VX Revolution
▲ hide details ▲


zodac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 01:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
OutlawNeedsHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,793
Rep: 46 (Unique: 39)
1st. Thanks for the guide z.

Main
(14 items)
CPU
[Intel] Core i7 7700k
Motherboard
[ASUS] Maximus IX Formula
GPU
[Zotac] RTX 2080 AMP
RAM
[Corsair] 16Gb Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Hard Drive
[Crucial] BX100 25Gb
Hard Drive
[Samsung] 860 EVO 500Gb
Hard Drive
[Seagate] Barracuda 3Tb
Power Supply
[Corsair] AXi 860
Cooling
[EK] EK Supremacy Evo
Case
[Corsair] Obsidian 750D
Operating System
Win10 64bit
Monitor
[ASUS] PB287Q 4k
Keyboard
[Corsair] Vengeance K70 Blue
Mouse
[Corsair] M65
▲ hide details ▲


OutlawNeedsHelp is offline  
post #3 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 46,110
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)

Pictures have been added to the guide now. :P


I was not fired.
Megadoomer
(13 items)
CPU
Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
GPU
GTX 760
RAM
Kingston 8GBx2
Hard Drive
Crucial M550
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf 8TBx2
Power Supply
CM 1000M
Cooling
CM Hyper 212+
Case
HAF 922
Operating System
Windows 7 Professional x64
Monitor
Samsung T220
Keyboard
Logitech MX3000 Laser
Mouse
Logitech VX Revolution
▲ hide details ▲


zodac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 01:15 PM
Retired Staff
 
derickwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 12,389
Rep: 379 (Unique: 291)
Why didn't you make one using putty.... 1000000000x easier. No Linux or VM involved.


derickwm is offline  
post #5 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 01:18 PM
I heard you were dead...
 
sweffymo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Migrant Fleet
Posts: 8,475
Rep: 144 (Unique: 97)
Looks good to me.


To annoy Audiophiles: Schiit Modi 2 --> Schiit Vali --> Sennheiser HD 6XX
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac go_quote.gif

My responses and opinions aren't often based in fact or reality. Just a general whimsy.
-Other things worth having in my sig: (Click to show)
Quote:
-iceblade^: you have male-ploofy
-iceblade^: do you know how special you are?
Quote:
-iceblade^: see i read a thing in readers digest a LONG time ago where it said that hersheys has a giant place of fun and happiness
-iceblade^: sort of like candyland but they don't steal your kidney
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrillian go_quote.gif

The persistence of a human may never win against the persistence of time, but the...


sweffymo is offline  
post #6 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 01:20 PM
Retired Staff
 
arvidab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bjuråker, Sweden
Posts: 5,592
Rep: 271 (Unique: 151)
Maybe there should be a warning that only a few 8C instances are able to complete all the BA in time, I've only one (out of eight) that should be fast enough for both the 6903 and 6904. Or are others having a better ratio?
Quote:
Originally Posted by derickwm View Post

Why didn't you make one using putty.... 1000000000x easier. No Linux or VM involved.

You got it wrong, it should be the other way around.


arvidab is offline  
post #7 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 46,110
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)

Haven't used Putty yet; I'll try it after the VM guide, and then make a guide with that if I get time. :D


I was not fired.
Megadoomer
(13 items)
CPU
Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
GPU
GTX 760
RAM
Kingston 8GBx2
Hard Drive
Crucial M550
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf 8TBx2
Power Supply
CM 1000M
Cooling
CM Hyper 212+
Case
HAF 922
Operating System
Windows 7 Professional x64
Monitor
Samsung T220
Keyboard
Logitech MX3000 Laser
Mouse
Logitech VX Revolution
▲ hide details ▲


zodac is offline  
post #8 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 01:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cyanmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin GA
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 96 (Unique: 87)
Quote:
Originally Posted by derickwm View Post

Why didn't you make one using putty.... 1000000000x easier. No Linux or VM involved.

This Xs eleventy billion. takes like 10 minutes and you can have a new server up and running with HFM monitoring.



cyanmcleod is offline  
post #9 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 46,110
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)

Ok, instructions for setting up a VM of Linux now added. :D

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanmcleod View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by derickwm View Post

Why didn't you make one using putty.... 1000000000x easier. No Linux or VM involved.

This Xs eleventy billion. takes like 10 minutes and you can have a new server up and running with HFM monitoring.



Like I said ~3 posts up, I haven't used Putty; I did it through Linux, since I had a VM already. When I do it, I'll make a guide for it.


I was not fired.
Megadoomer
(13 items)
CPU
Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
GPU
GTX 760
RAM
Kingston 8GBx2
Hard Drive
Crucial M550
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf 8TBx2
Power Supply
CM 1000M
Cooling
CM Hyper 212+
Case
HAF 922
Operating System
Windows 7 Professional x64
Monitor
Samsung T220
Keyboard
Logitech MX3000 Laser
Mouse
Logitech VX Revolution
▲ hide details ▲


zodac is offline  
post #10 of 867 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 02:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
OutlawNeedsHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,793
Rep: 46 (Unique: 39)
Something is going wrong during the ubuntu vmware install. Pics can explain the prob better than I can, here (They are in chronological order):
369

390

324

383


I need your help because when it comes to problems I go all
175

Main
(14 items)
CPU
[Intel] Core i7 7700k
Motherboard
[ASUS] Maximus IX Formula
GPU
[Zotac] RTX 2080 AMP
RAM
[Corsair] 16Gb Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Hard Drive
[Crucial] BX100 25Gb
Hard Drive
[Samsung] 860 EVO 500Gb
Hard Drive
[Seagate] Barracuda 3Tb
Power Supply
[Corsair] AXi 860
Cooling
[EK] EK Supremacy Evo
Case
[Corsair] Obsidian 750D
Operating System
Win10 64bit
Monitor
[ASUS] PB287Q 4k
Keyboard
[Corsair] Vengeance K70 Blue
Mouse
[Corsair] M65
▲ hide details ▲


OutlawNeedsHelp is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off