NOOB with folding and UBUNTU - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

NOOB with folding and UBUNTU

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JPigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
So I just started folding yesterday morning with a dedicated FX-8120 using ubuntu and my main rig 2600k (4.8ghz) + 6990 and 2 6970's. The 2600k rig only folded with the gpus' because when i tried to fold on the cpu and 4 gpus the cpu status stayed a 0% the entire time. However I must ask how to i find out how many PPD im getting with the FX-8120 on ubuntu? Its a total noob question, but im surprised i was even ale to set it up..lol. I know pretty much nothing with linux, so a descriptive answer would be nice.

side note yesterday between both computers, it came out to 46416 points... dont know if thats good or not

95.567% of people make up the stats in their sig. If you are part of the 4.433% who uses real stats, put
this in your sig.
JPigg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 06:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ElementR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 2,471
Rep: 100 (Unique: 87)
Link
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac View Post

HFM Guide:

What you Need:

HFM.NET. The .zip file, under "Featured downloads".
(Direct Link)

Installation:


1) Since there isn't support for the framework HFM is based off in Linux, you will need to configure the OS first. Open Terminal (again), and enter the following command:


Quote:


sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list


A text editor will open. At the bottom of this file, add these lines:
Code:
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/directhex/monoxide/ubuntu jaunty main 
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/directhex/monoxide/ubuntu jaunty main




Save the file and close it.


2) Now, more commands to add:


Quote:


sudo apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-keys 23DC003A


sudo apt-get update


sudo apt-get install libmono-winforms2.0-cil


Extract the .zip file you downloaded to a folder called HFM on the Desktop.


Now, go back to terminal and enter these lines:


Quote:


cd ~/Desktop/HFM

mono HFM.exe


HFM will open. For now, close it. We'll now make a launcher for it.


3) Create a file on the Desktop. Call it HFMLaunch:





Open the file, and type this in and save the file:

Quote:


mono ~/Desktop/HFM/HFM.exe


4) Open Terminal and use these commands:


Quote:


cd ~/Desktop


sudo mv HFMLaunch /bin


cd /bin


chmod +x HFMLaunch


5) Now, we make a launcher. Rightclick the top Panel> Add to Panel> Custom Application Launcher.


• Leave "Type" as "Application".

• For "Name", enter "HFM".

• For "Command", enter:

Quote:


HFMLaunch


Again, download this icon:




Click the spring thing again, and replace the icon.





It should now look like this:




6) Now we can set HFM to monitor the SMP client. Go to Clients> Add Client.


• For "Instance Name", enter what you'd like to call the client.

• For "Client Processor MHz", enter the CPU speed in Mhz.

• For "Log Folder", enter:

Quote:


~/Desktop/SMP/






It should look like this:





7) Finally, we need to save the configuration file. Go to File> Save Configuration As> Save the file as Config:





Then go to Edit> Preferences> Startup _External. Check the "Load Configuration File" box, and select the Config.hfm file you just saved.



ElementR is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 06:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JPigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
5) Now, we make a launcher. Rightclick the top Panel> Add to Panel> Custom Application Launcher.

what "panel" is it talking about...thanks for the help btw +rep

95.567% of people make up the stats in their sig. If you are part of the 4.433% who uses real stats, put
this in your sig.
JPigg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 06:30 AM
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)

The bar along the top of the screen


I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JPigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
338

the bar at the top doesnt do anything when i "right-click it" or the left one for that matter

95.567% of people make up the stats in their sig. If you are part of the 4.433% who uses real stats, put
this in your sig.
JPigg is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 06:36 AM
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)

Well, the guide is for v10 of Ubuntu... if you're using a newer version, I can't help. :P


I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JPigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
well crap..lol

95.567% of people make up the stats in their sig. If you are part of the 4.433% who uses real stats, put
this in your sig.
JPigg is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 06:38 AM
Retired Staff
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Rep: 509 (Unique: 309)

Google it - there's probably just a different method to get the pop-up for it.


I was not fired. sozo.gif



zodac is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JPigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
googled it and i still have now idea... it doesnt help that i really done know what im looking for anyway

95.567% of people make up the stats in their sig. If you are part of the 4.433% who uses real stats, put
this in your sig.
JPigg is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 07:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ElementR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 2,471
Rep: 100 (Unique: 87)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPigg View Post

googled it and i still have now idea... it doesnt help that i really done know what im looking for anyway

What version are you using?

Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk 2



ElementR is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off