OC 970 and 980ti - Little help - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

OC 970 and 980ti - Little help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ryahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rye, NY
Posts: 1,250
Rep: 28 (Unique: 19)
Currently for folding, I am running stock. I would like to get a little bit more out my GPUs and would like to apply an OC to them.

Current 970



Current 980ti


Ryahn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 12:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,631
Rep: 272 (Unique: 129)
Just by bumping up the core clock. Watch for any warnings or errors in the FAH Log.


mmonnin is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ryahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rye, NY
Posts: 1,250
Rep: 28 (Unique: 19)
Ryahn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 01:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,631
Rep: 272 (Unique: 129)
Most of the PPD increase will come from the core clock. You can try memory after finding max stable core clock. Thats what I do.


mmonnin is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ryahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rye, NY
Posts: 1,250
Rep: 28 (Unique: 19)
Came so close. Was at 1.2mil PPD and lost it. It was stable up to about +130 on the 980ti. For safety, I dropped it to +100 until it can stabilize again.

DIdnt have an OC applied to the 970 and it looks like it crashed



Ryahn is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 01:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,631
Rep: 272 (Unique: 129)
The driver crashed. You'll have to restart the PC.

After upping the clocks a fail may not happen right away. It may not happen tomorrow. Depending on how stressful the individual WUs are it could crash later. Core21 WUs typically have a higher GPU utilization so its best to make sure its stable with one of those.


mmonnin is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ryahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rye, NY
Posts: 1,250
Rep: 28 (Unique: 19)
Thanks for the help. I think its stable for now until I get one of those WUs.


Ryahn is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 05:58 PM
Retired Staff
 
hertz9753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND US
Posts: 11,941
Rep: 167 (Unique: 122)
Which 980 Ti and 970 do you have?

Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.

AVR-Onkyo TX-NR808
Front amp-Adcom GFA 555>Polk Audio LSi9's(Vr3 Castle Mods)
Center amp-Adcom GFA 5400>Polk Audio LSi9 passive bi-amped(Vr3 Castle Mod)
Surrounds-Polk Audio F/X500's
Sub-Velodyne SPL-1000R


hertz9753 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ryahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rye, NY
Posts: 1,250
Rep: 28 (Unique: 19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hertz9753 View Post

Which 980 Ti and 970 do you have?

EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB SC

MSI GeForce GTX 980TI GAMING 6GB Gold Edition


Ryahn is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-16-2017, 09:57 PM
Retired Staff
 
hertz9753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND US
Posts: 11,941
Rep: 167 (Unique: 122)
I think Darth has my EVGA GTX 970 SSC short card. You could ask him about it.



That is stock with a 60% fan speed but I don't have side panel.

1491 was the highest that I could get to on my EVGA GTX 980 Ti when I could keep it cool. I think I have more pictures on thumb drives.


Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.

AVR-Onkyo TX-NR808
Front amp-Adcom GFA 555>Polk Audio LSi9's(Vr3 Castle Mods)
Center amp-Adcom GFA 5400>Polk Audio LSi9 passive bi-amped(Vr3 Castle Mod)
Surrounds-Polk Audio F/X500's
Sub-Velodyne SPL-1000R


hertz9753 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off