Weird new stability issue on one of my folding rigs... - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Weird new stability issue on one of my folding rigs...

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-05-2018, 06:06 AM - Thread Starter
Folding Fanatic
 
notyettoday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,417
Rep: 43 (Unique: 34)
Weird new stability issue on one of my folding rigs...

Hey All,

I'm having a weird issue with my main pc/folding rig and I was hoping I could get some insight to narrow down the problem. Every morning when I wake up, or get home from work, my main pc, 8600k/rx480 has rebooted and is at the login screen. I check the logs for [email protected] and sometimes it looks like a cpu error, and sometimes it looks like a gpu error. Any suggestions for how I can confirm which one is acting stupid?

Thanks!

RTX 2080+R9 Fury X+GTX 1070+GTX 1070+RX480+I7 7800x @ 4.6ghz+Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.5+I5 8600k+I5 7600k+i3 8100+Ryzen 3 1200=Folding for 37726 http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif
CPU
I7 7800x @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 ultra Gaming
GPU
xfx R9 Fury X
RAM
Corsair 3200mhz 4x8gb
Hard Drive
Corsair Force 500 256gb
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 760w
Cooling
Corsair H100I
Case
Corsair 460X
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Acer K242HQK
▲ hide details ▲


notyettoday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-05-2018, 07:28 AM
Typo Elemental
 
Simmons572's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Carboard box, power strip, and a 56k modem.
Posts: 3,032
Can you give us more information about the errors?

Usually WUs will error out if you have an unstable overclock, but for you, it really depends on what error message you are getting.

CPU
AMD Threadripper 1900x
Motherboard
Asus Prime X399-A
GPU
EVGA 1080 Classified
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo
Hard Drive
Intel 750 Series 400GB U.2
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic 1050w 80+ Gold
Case
Corsair Air 740
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
i5 6600k
Motherboard
Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
GPU
Sapphire R9 Nano
RAM
Kingston FURY 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
Power Supply
Athena AP-MFATX40 400W Flex-ATX
Cooling
be quiet! ​PURE ROCK ​SLIM
Case
Lian-Li PC-TU 100B
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2401
Keyboard
MK Disco RGB TKL (KBT Brown)
Mouse
Razer Mamba TE
Mouse
Razer Firefly Cloth
Audio
Beyerdynam​ic DT 770 ​Pro 80 ohm
Audio
Antlion Audio ModMic 4 w/ Mute
Audio
Schiit Fulla 2
Other
Noctua NF-A9x14 (x2)
Other
Fractal Design FD-FAN-SSR2-92
Other
Fractal Design FD-FAN-SSR2-60 (x2)
Other
Fractal Design GP12-WT
CPU
i7 6800k
CPU
Xeon e5-1620 V3
Motherboard
EVGA Micro 2
GPU
Asus GTX 780
GPU
Sapphire Fury X
GPU
Sapphire RX 480
RAM
Kingston - FURY 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR4-2400
RAM
ADATA - XPG Z1 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
SanDisk - SSD PLUS 240GB
Hard Drive
Kingston - SSDNow V200
Power Supply
Corsair HX850i
Cooling
be quiet! - PURE ROCK
Case
Thermaltake Core V21
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Simmons572 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-05-2018, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
Folding Fanatic
 
notyettoday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,417
Rep: 43 (Unique: 34)
I'm getting:
1:48:26:WU02:FS00:0xa7:Completed 700000 out of 2500000 steps (28%)
01:51:43:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned an unknown error code which probably indicates that it crashed
01:51:43:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: WU_STALLED (127 = 0x7f)

03:24:08:ERROR:Receive error: 10054: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.

RTX 2080+R9 Fury X+GTX 1070+GTX 1070+RX480+I7 7800x @ 4.6ghz+Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.5+I5 8600k+I5 7600k+i3 8100+Ryzen 3 1200=Folding for 37726 http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif
CPU
I7 7800x @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 ultra Gaming
GPU
xfx R9 Fury X
RAM
Corsair 3200mhz 4x8gb
Hard Drive
Corsair Force 500 256gb
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 760w
Cooling
Corsair H100I
Case
Corsair 460X
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Acer K242HQK
▲ hide details ▲


notyettoday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-05-2018, 10:04 AM
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,474
Can you post/attach the full log, and one log back from when you see the errors? Often, if a WU errors out and causes a reset [email protected] will not find the previous checkpoint if the machine is restarted. This can lead to a loop where the client fails to get new work. I would definitely check both the CPU and GPU for stability. There have also been WUs in the past (p13781 comes to mind) that are more strenuous and will cause previously stable OCs to fail.


tictoc is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-05-2018, 10:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,828
Rep: 282 (Unique: 135)
FAH probably errored because the computer was shut down/went to sleep. Look at the windows event logs.


mmonnin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off