Anticorona build - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Anticorona build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-22-2020, 12:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ltpdttcdft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 634
Rep: 38 (Unique: 32)
Anticorona build

Can this fold? I got most of the parts but haven't bought everything yet.

3x Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
Gigabyte Z270P-D3
Celeron G3930
Antec VSK4000E-U3
Antec Earthwatts Gold Pro 550W



ltpdttcdft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-22-2020, 12:27 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ltpdttcdft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 634
Rep: 38 (Unique: 32)
(Reserved for photos etc)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pr002.jpg
Views:	197
Size:	200.2 KB
ID:	356114  




ltpdttcdft is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-22-2020, 07:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ducrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Guyton,GA
Posts: 2,819
Rep: 140 (Unique: 124)
Yes but I would up that power supply.


ducrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 08:19 AM
Gamer
 
Cysquatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,221
Rep: 74 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by ltpdttcdft View Post
Can this fold? I got most of the parts but haven't bought everything yet.

3x Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
Gigabyte Z270P-D3
Celeron G3930
Antec VSK4000E-U3
Antec Earthwatts Gold Pro 550W
Subbed, I am interested in building a dedicated folding rig. I see you're using a celeron. Can that handle using the 3 pcie slots? How does that affect performance?

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 5700 XT 8G GDDR6
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Silicon Power 1TB P34A80
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus SSR-650FX
Cooling
Noctua NH U12S
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2419HGF
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Elite
Mouse
UtechSmart Venus
▲ hide details ▲
Cysquatch is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 07:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ducrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Guyton,GA
Posts: 2,819
Rep: 140 (Unique: 124)
Quote: Originally Posted by Cysquatch View Post
Subbed, I am interested in building a dedicated folding rig. I see you're using a celeron. Can that handle using the 3 pcie slots? How does that affect performance?
Folding does not use a lot of CPU. Unless CPU folding.Biggest draw back would be the pci-e bandwidth. The slower it is the less ppd out of each card.This is under the thinking of getting the most ppd.Just do gpu folding and it will work.Power supply is just not big enough to handle those three cards.


ducrider is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 11:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ltpdttcdft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 634
Rep: 38 (Unique: 32)
Will look into the PSU. Was under the impression that higher quality power supplies are capable of handling the full rated power continuously for an extended period of time. Also, probably will be power-limiting the middle card and maybe the top card to keep thermals under control.
How much bandwidth are we talking? It looks like the top slot has x16 lanes directly to the CPU, while the middle and bottom slots will have to share x4 lanes through the chipset.



ltpdttcdft is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-23-2020, 11:34 PM
Missing the Old days
 
Cerberus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 4,847
anything less than x4 pci-e 3.0 will lose ppd, id also recommend not stacking cards like that, its going to be a losing battle managing the heat.


"But I, being poor, have only my dreams. I have spread my dreams beneath your feet. Tread softly because you tread on my dreams."

Do you FOLD? Maximize PPD by using a PASSKEY!!!
Work Folder
(7 items)
CPU
AMD r7 2700x
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming PRO
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti
RAM
PNY Anarchy-X 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
256GB Plextor M8Pe m.2
Power Supply
Corsair RM750X
Case
big metal box
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Monitor
DELL S2716DG
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G604
Mouse
Steelseries Mat
Audio
Logitech G602
Other
steam controller
CPU
AMD FX8350
Motherboard
BIOStar TA970
GPU
AMD FURY X
GPU
Zotac GTX 960
RAM
Gskill 2x8GB DDR3
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair 650w
▲ hide details ▲


Cerberus is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-24-2020, 11:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ltpdttcdft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 634
Rep: 38 (Unique: 32)
Is pcie bandwidth usage continuous or bursty? What if I set 50% power limit?

Anyway, a little bit of case modding:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hole001.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	181.8 KB
ID:	356708  




ltpdttcdft is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-24-2020, 11:33 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2,337
Rep: 59 (Unique: 53)
Quote: Originally Posted by ltpdttcdft View Post
Will look into the PSU. Was under the impression that higher quality power supplies are capable of handling the full rated power continuously for an extended period of time. Also, probably will be power-limiting the middle card and maybe the top card to keep thermals under control.
How much bandwidth are we talking? It looks like the top slot has x16 lanes directly to the CPU, while the middle and bottom slots will have to share x4 lanes through the chipset.
Even if this were true, which it's not, you would still need more than 550w for 3 1070s. You would need more than 550w for two 1070s

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-25-2020, 05:14 AM
Gamer
 
Cysquatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,221
Rep: 74 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by ltpdttcdft View Post
Is pcie bandwidth usage continuous or bursty? What if I set 50% power limit?

Spoiler!
What is your goal with cutting out the bottom? Cooling for the bottom card?

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 5700 XT 8G GDDR6
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Silicon Power 1TB P34A80
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus SSR-650FX
Cooling
Noctua NH U12S
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2419HGF
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Elite
Mouse
UtechSmart Venus
▲ hide details ▲
Cysquatch is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off