How to use Multiple GPU2 clients using VGA dummy plugs - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to use Multiple GPU2 clients using VGA dummy plugs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-01-2008, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Gollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,727
Rep: 140 (Unique: 124)
...or "VGA Terminators."

I have been troubled for some time as to how I was going to get all of these 4 GTS' I recently purchased to work without buying a new monitor or super expensive KVM (Kernal based Virtual Machine) and cables. I came across this:

a VGA dummy plug.

I surprised myself...it actually works.

All thats needed:
15 pin VGA D-sub connector: $.99 @ Radioshack
(3x) 75 ohms resistors: $1.99 (10 pack) @ Frys
Soldering Gun: $10-$20 @ Radioshack (I did not have one already)

Result:


Extend to the new monitor before you engage your second GPU2 client:



A guide can be found here.


Gollie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-01-2008, 06:08 PM
Retired Staff
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Rep: 257 (Unique: 180)
gibsonnova74 is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-01-2008, 06:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,097
Rep: 52 (Unique: 48)
Do they have to be in the whole time? I'm guessing yes.

Awesome fix btw.... +rep for the find.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonindeBeatrice go_quote.gif
yeah brilliant...

******** babies, but at least you have a cool looking PC.
post-flame-small.gifWho We Fold Forpost-flame-small.gifFold For The Cause! Fold For The People.post-flame-small.gifE6400 @ 3.4GHz proof.gifpost-flame-small.gif


DaCrusader is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-01-2008, 07:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brew Town, USA
Posts: 2,190
Rep: 206 (Unique: 139)
Ditto to the REP!!!

Got a SLI board on it's way along with another 8800GT & this will do me wonders!

Thanks Bro!


Indignity is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 01:41 PM
Retired Staff
 
mortimersnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houghton, MI
Posts: 11,540
Rep: 508 (Unique: 369)
Great idea. +rep for you sir.

Eric - FTW PC Rep
[eric [at] ftwpc.com]
Store | Forum | Facebook | Twitter | Reseller Ratings

"Like" us on Facebook for a chance to win newly released products
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvgWhiteGuy go_quote.gif
Z is a pawn to the power that was Mort. He moderates like a boss.


mortimersnerd is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Gollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,727
Rep: 140 (Unique: 124)
These work great! I'm using 8 of these currently in different GPU's.


Gollie is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 02:22 PM
Retired Staff
 
mortimersnerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houghton, MI
Posts: 11,540
Rep: 508 (Unique: 369)
Can you get a different view of them. Im not sure of the exact pinout

Eric - FTW PC Rep
[eric [at] ftwpc.com]
Store | Forum | Facebook | Twitter | Reseller Ratings

"Like" us on Facebook for a chance to win newly released products
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvgWhiteGuy go_quote.gif
Z is a pawn to the power that was Mort. He moderates like a boss.


mortimersnerd is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Gollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,727
Rep: 140 (Unique: 124)
Gollie is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 03:22 PM
Starting to become a BOFH
 
legoman786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 10,463
Rep: 364 (Unique: 304)
Haha! What an ingenious idea for such a perplexing (software-wise) problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrillian go_quote.gif
The persistance of a human may never win against the persistance of time, but the fruits of the labors are wonderous to behold, even in our brevity.
⚜ R.I.P Syrillian ⚜
8/13/2011


legoman786 is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-17-2008, 10:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mtbhrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 424
Rep: 28 (Unique: 27)
Are these necessary only because the cards are not connected in sli/cf?
mtbhrd is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off