How do I fold on a mac? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How do I fold on a mac?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-24-2009, 04:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,232
Rep: 61 (Unique: 54)
i can fold fine on mine
no errors
oregonducks45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-24-2009, 04:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rtop2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,602
Rep: 71 (Unique: 67)
OK, under system prefs what does it say when you click on the icon down at the bottom of the system prefs?

rtop2 is offline  
post #13 of 33 (permalink) Old 01-24-2009, 09:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,232
Rep: 61 (Unique: 54)
oregonducks45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-24-2009, 10:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
raveneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 243
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Was this ever solved? I just bought a used mac last weekend and am stuck at exactly the point shown above.

raveneon is offline  
post #15 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 08:45 AM
Used to Overclock.net
 
makr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 156
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
I've been folding on a Mac Mini (late '09 version, 2.53 GHz Core 2 Duo) with no issues.

I also have VMware Fusion, and a VM for CentOS 6 and Windows 7 and Mac OSx. [email protected] client installed in either VM isn't as fast as the Mac version. What I haven't yet figured out how to do is to install the Linux [email protected] client on the Mac itself (El Capitan has a Linux foundation).

I don't have any idea how to overclock anything on the Mac, and given it has an aquarium above it, I don't want to heat stress my betta. What other ways can I increase my PPD?


makr is offline  
post #16 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 09:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lanofsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 5,144

Oh my @makr, where did you dig this thread up from skull.gif.   Someone went down to the catacombs to find this thread - cough, cough so, much dust.



lanofsong is offline  
post #17 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 09:53 AM
Used to Overclock.net
 
makr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 156
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
That's what the search button is for. How'd you know I posted to it? Do you also have a Mac to fold on?


makr is offline  
post #18 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 10:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ryahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rye, NY
Posts: 1,250
Rep: 28 (Unique: 19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by makr View Post

That's what the search button is for. How'd you know I posted to it? Do you also have a Mac to fold on?

The thread does show up at the top of the recent thread list on the forums. So that is one way we all know you posted on it tongue.gif

As far as I know, its pretty difficult to OC a mac. I will call my brother later today and ask him. He use to repair Macs and has been to their HQ for training.


Ryahn is offline  
post #19 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 12:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
b0oMeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 559
Rep: 17 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lanofsong View Post

Oh my @makr
, where did you dig this thread up from skull.gif
.   Someone went down to the catacombs to find this thread - cough, cough so, much dust.

Post #9
k i have a NEW mac with an Intel core 2 duo @ 2.0ghz... I know you can dual boot, but there is a way to run [email protected] on a Mac with an Intel Proc


I lol'ed so hard, I was like wait......
b0oMeR is offline  
post #20 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 12:38 PM
Used to Overclock.net
 
makr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 156
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
I might not have been clear... I don't actually want to overclock my Mac since that might generate more heat than it should. Rather, I was hoping to find if there were any tricks to getting more PPD, such as running the Linux client directly on El Capitan, and/or tweaking the options for the client, such as client-type bigadv or max-packet-size small etc. I've tried running the client on a Windows VM and a CentOS Linux VM, but neither could beat the native client's PPD for the CPU slot. Right now, everything's at the default config with a CPU slot (1 thread) and a GPU slot, both cranking out roughly 1500 PPD.

I have a betta in a bowl sitting on the Mac, and a Mac Plus case I'm working on converting into a Mac Aquarium with a hole in the bottom so it'll fit properly over my Mac Mini, so I don't want my Mini to generate much more heat than it currently does.


makr is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off