[Windows 7] v7 GPU Folding Guide - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Windows 7] v7 GPU Folding Guide

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 01:41 AM
Retired Staff
 
LiLChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 16,447
Rep: 512 (Unique: 373)
I haven't been able to test that personally cause right now a problem with Fermi & non Fermi cards are going on.

The team captains should have been informed and explained not to upgrade your team competition GPU client yet.

v7 Folding Beta Client Guides
GPU Folding - CPU Folding - Folding Flags

v6 Folding Client Guides
GPU Folding - CPU Folding - Folding Flags

Vocaloid Fanclub


LiLChris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 01:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,361
Rep: 986 (Unique: 751)
So the GPU doesn't take advantage of the passkey? Why does the gpu2 console request it ?


Can't we just add the smp client ourselves and run it with the gpu client?

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/tim79f
R7 2700x Gigabyte 1070 G1 Gaming https://valid.x86.fr/xtycl9
R7 [email protected] MSI 980ti https://valid.x86.fr/jxeld9
R7 [email protected] Gigabyte RX480 8gb https://valid.x86.fr/r5kdfu
Ryzen 1700x 980ti
(9 items)
Asus G75vw
(9 items)
CPU
3700x
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
EVGA 1070ti 8gb
RAM
G.Skill 16gb FlareX 3200mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 1tb m..2
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500
Hard Drive
WD 3tb
Power Supply
Seasonic 1050x
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Coolermaster Masterbox
CPU
ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard
MSI B450M Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI 980ti Armor 2X
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ 16gb 3200mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Team 1tb ssd
Hard Drive
WD 3tB Blue
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt semi-modular
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Deepcool Tesseract Blue
CPU
i7-3610QM
Motherboard
Asus Laptop
GPU
Nvidia GTX 660m 2gb
RAM
16 gb 1600mhz (4x4gb)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500 gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 750gb 7200rpm
Optical Drive
Asus DVDRW
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Monitor
17.3" 1080P
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
post #23 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 01:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
solidsteel144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hell (Southern Texas)
Posts: 2,458
Rep: 70 (Unique: 61)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiLChris View Post
I haven't been able to test that personally cause right now a problem with Fermi & non Fermi cards are going on.

The team captains should have been informed and explained not to upgrade your team competition GPU client yet.
The problem is that you can no longer use the forcegpu flag.
You'd have to use dummy plugs for anything that isn't your main GPU.



solidsteel144 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 01:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
IXcrispyXI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Melton Vic Australia
Posts: 4,712
Rep: 109 (Unique: 76)
lets see how this badboy folds when i get bored of playin games i will continue


IXcrispyXI is offline  
post #25 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 01:49 AM
Retired Staff
 
LiLChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 16,447
Rep: 512 (Unique: 373)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CravinR1 View Post
So the GPU doesn't take advantage of the passkey? Why does the gpu2 console request it ?


Can't we just add the smp client ourselves and run it with the gpu client?
GPU never needed a passkey, the console client asked it cause the configuration was copied from the SMP client. (not sure why)
The only reason for the passkey for GPU was to track the points differently in the Team Competition.

Yes you can add the GPU slots if you installed the SMP client initially.
Haven't had a chance to write that up yet.

v7 Folding Beta Client Guides
GPU Folding - CPU Folding - Folding Flags

v6 Folding Client Guides
GPU Folding - CPU Folding - Folding Flags

Vocaloid Fanclub


LiLChris is offline  
post #26 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 01:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,361
Rep: 986 (Unique: 751)
So basically if I have console smp + gpu for Nvidia I don't need to install this

But for the 5770 this will help increase PPD ?

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/tim79f
R7 2700x Gigabyte 1070 G1 Gaming https://valid.x86.fr/xtycl9
R7 [email protected] MSI 980ti https://valid.x86.fr/jxeld9
R7 [email protected] Gigabyte RX480 8gb https://valid.x86.fr/r5kdfu
Ryzen 1700x 980ti
(9 items)
Asus G75vw
(9 items)
CPU
3700x
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
EVGA 1070ti 8gb
RAM
G.Skill 16gb FlareX 3200mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 1tb m..2
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500
Hard Drive
WD 3tb
Power Supply
Seasonic 1050x
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Coolermaster Masterbox
CPU
ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard
MSI B450M Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI 980ti Armor 2X
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ 16gb 3200mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Team 1tb ssd
Hard Drive
WD 3tB Blue
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt semi-modular
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Deepcool Tesseract Blue
CPU
i7-3610QM
Motherboard
Asus Laptop
GPU
Nvidia GTX 660m 2gb
RAM
16 gb 1600mhz (4x4gb)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500 gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 750gb 7200rpm
Optical Drive
Asus DVDRW
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Monitor
17.3" 1080P
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
post #27 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 01:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
solidsteel144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hell (Southern Texas)
Posts: 2,458
Rep: 70 (Unique: 61)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CravinR1 View Post
But for the 5770 this will help increase PPD ?
Core 16 (the new core for ATi cards) requires the new v7 client.
So pretty much yeah.



solidsteel144 is offline  
post #28 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 01:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,361
Rep: 986 (Unique: 751)
Since I"m currently only folding on e6400 + 8800 gts g92 I won't change my main folding rig if the points are the same.

I'll install the new client on the q6600 and fold with the 5770 to see how it does

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/tim79f
R7 2700x Gigabyte 1070 G1 Gaming https://valid.x86.fr/xtycl9
R7 [email protected] MSI 980ti https://valid.x86.fr/jxeld9
R7 [email protected] Gigabyte RX480 8gb https://valid.x86.fr/r5kdfu
Ryzen 1700x 980ti
(9 items)
Asus G75vw
(9 items)
CPU
3700x
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
EVGA 1070ti 8gb
RAM
G.Skill 16gb FlareX 3200mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 1tb m..2
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500
Hard Drive
WD 3tb
Power Supply
Seasonic 1050x
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Coolermaster Masterbox
CPU
ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard
MSI B450M Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI 980ti Armor 2X
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ 16gb 3200mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Team 1tb ssd
Hard Drive
WD 3tB Blue
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt semi-modular
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Deepcool Tesseract Blue
CPU
i7-3610QM
Motherboard
Asus Laptop
GPU
Nvidia GTX 660m 2gb
RAM
16 gb 1600mhz (4x4gb)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500 gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 750gb 7200rpm
Optical Drive
Asus DVDRW
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Monitor
17.3" 1080P
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
post #29 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 02:09 AM
Retired Staff
 
LiLChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 16,447
Rep: 512 (Unique: 373)
Let us know the PPD when you get the chance.

v7 Folding Beta Client Guides
GPU Folding - CPU Folding - Folding Flags

v6 Folding Client Guides
GPU Folding - CPU Folding - Folding Flags

Vocaloid Fanclub


LiLChris is offline  
post #30 of 171 (permalink) Old 03-29-2011, 02:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,361
Rep: 986 (Unique: 751)
Unfortuately i'm folding a 5736

I'm also smp on the q6600 so I need to set the affinity? Or can I just run smp on the quad and the new gpu and not have to set it ? (I've never set affnity before)

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/tim79f
R7 2700x Gigabyte 1070 G1 Gaming https://valid.x86.fr/xtycl9
R7 [email protected] MSI 980ti https://valid.x86.fr/jxeld9
R7 [email protected] Gigabyte RX480 8gb https://valid.x86.fr/r5kdfu
Ryzen 1700x 980ti
(9 items)
Asus G75vw
(9 items)
CPU
3700x
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
EVGA 1070ti 8gb
RAM
G.Skill 16gb FlareX 3200mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 1tb m..2
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500
Hard Drive
WD 3tb
Power Supply
Seasonic 1050x
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Coolermaster Masterbox
CPU
ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard
MSI B450M Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI 980ti Armor 2X
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ 16gb 3200mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Team 1tb ssd
Hard Drive
WD 3tB Blue
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt semi-modular
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Deepcool Tesseract Blue
CPU
i7-3610QM
Motherboard
Asus Laptop
GPU
Nvidia GTX 660m 2gb
RAM
16 gb 1600mhz (4x4gb)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500 gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 750gb 7200rpm
Optical Drive
Asus DVDRW
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Monitor
17.3" 1080P
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off