Gigabyte P67/Z68 boot cycling problem - Page 60 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte P67/Z68 boot cycling problem

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #591 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-06-2012, 05:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
midad04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 61
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
What brand of ram are you running in your system Neil? I did have some corsair xms3 ddr1600, and even though it was not testing bed in memtest it was definitely what was causing the errors. I rma'd it and if the second set does it too I will sell it on ebay.
midad04 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #592 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-06-2012, 06:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 136
Rep: 0
Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz (Sandybridge) Socket LGA1155 Processor - OEM
OcUK GeForce GTX 560Ti 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P Intel Z68 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard
60GB SSD ( CACHE DRIVE )
Samsung SpinPoint F4 320GB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD322GJ)
Corsair V2 600W Power Supply
Kingston HyperX Genesis Grey 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (KHX1600C9D3X2K2/8GX)
BitFenix Merc Alpha Gaming Case - Black
Corsair A50 High-Performance CPU Cooler (Socket AM2/AM3/LGA775/LGA1155/LGA1156/LGA1366)
OcUK 22x DVD±RW SATA ReWriter (Black) - OEM

i7 4790K 4.7GHZ 1.336v, MSI Z97 Gaming 5, Superflower 850 PSU, 16GB Kingston 2400, GTX 980, Windows 8.1, 2XSSD EVO, AIO Liquid Cooler,
Neil79 is offline  
post #593 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-06-2012, 07:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 136
Rep: 0
Another reply from Gigabyte support!
Quote:
Answer - 1173826
Answer : Hi,
If the problem still persist we suggest please return the board to the dealer for further check.

Attached is the latest F7b BIOS.
Attachment :
Attach file z8xpud3p.f7b ( 1620 KB ) :

http://ggts.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/1173826/z8xpud3pf7b.rar

lol so there ya have it if this bios doesn't fix it, everyone in this thread needs to return their boards tongue.gif

i7 4790K 4.7GHZ 1.336v, MSI Z97 Gaming 5, Superflower 850 PSU, 16GB Kingston 2400, GTX 980, Windows 8.1, 2XSSD EVO, AIO Liquid Cooler,
Neil79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #594 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-06-2012, 08:38 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Levittown, NY
Posts: 232
im surprised they don't recall the boards
XxVaptex467Xx is offline  
post #595 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-06-2012, 11:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 136
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxVaptex467Xx View Post

im surprised they don't recall the boards

There is certainly something up with the batch and looking at the gigabyte forums it isn't just related to the UD3P. Seems like a Gigabyte issue in general

http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,7881.0.html

Do a search for COLD BOOT or BOOT LOOP on the gigabyte forums, shocking redface.gif

i7 4790K 4.7GHZ 1.336v, MSI Z97 Gaming 5, Superflower 850 PSU, 16GB Kingston 2400, GTX 980, Windows 8.1, 2XSSD EVO, AIO Liquid Cooler,
Neil79 is offline  
post #596 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-06-2012, 11:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
spurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I've linked to this thread over at Gigabyte's forums. I'm sick of this issue on a premium board, with little to no assistance from support on even acknowledging the issue.

http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,7895.msg62615.html#msg62615
spurst is offline  
post #597 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-06-2012, 11:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 136
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by spurst View Post

I've linked to this thread over at Gigabyte's forums. I'm sick of this issue on a premium board, with little to no assistance from support on even acknowledging the issue.
http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,7895.msg62615.html#msg62615

replied

i7 4790K 4.7GHZ 1.336v, MSI Z97 Gaming 5, Superflower 850 PSU, 16GB Kingston 2400, GTX 980, Windows 8.1, 2XSSD EVO, AIO Liquid Cooler,
Neil79 is offline  
post #598 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-06-2012, 04:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,670
Rep: 370 (Unique: 263)
Hold the power button down for 5 seconds. Should power off then. There is a setting in the power options for how the power button works.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
post #599 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-07-2012, 09:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
davidtran007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 389
Rep: 66 (Unique: 65)
My friend just got a custom built PC with 2600K + Gigabyte GA-Z68ZP-D3 motherboard. I noticed a weird boot problem with his PC and was wondering if this is the same issue everyone else is experiencing.

Basically his PC is double posting and it happens randomly.

The computer boots up and shows the full logo screen. Upon pressing DEL to enter the BIOS menu, the PC restarts and I need to press DEL again to enter the BIOS menu.

Another instance would be starting the PC up from a cold boot and letting it load windows. After the animated Windows logo screen, the PC restarts. After the computer finishes POST, the Windows menu pops up asking me if I would like to start Windows normally or do a system repair.

The computer is running at optimized default settings with the latest FB bios.




davidtran007 is offline  
post #600 of 811 (permalink) Old 01-09-2012, 09:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tractrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
I was very happy to find this thread with all the info! It helped me alot!

I get random bootloops, cold bootloops and freezes (no BSOD) as soon i start tweaking qpi, vcore, vdram.

Linx and Prime stable overclock but booting is terrible! Contacted Gigabyte about it and ended up with this answer:
Quote:
We are sorry that there's no such issue in new version of Z68 MB (B3 version) .At this moment we would suggest you keep in default setting with F5 BIOS , you may try to download BIOS at
http://uk.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3852#


Since the system has been overclocked, stability is not concerned to be our problem.
overclocking success depend on many factors such as CPU. Memory, power supply and many more…….Please kindly understand we don’t guarantee system stability under overclocking.

Regards,
GIGABYTE

It's true OC depends on many factors but it would be nice to see them confirm the coldboot problems...

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3

tractrix is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off