Gigabyte P67/Z68 boot cycling problem - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte P67/Z68 boot cycling problem

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-05-2011, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
AzO
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,782
I've noticed for the past 6 Gigabyte boards I've used in client builds there is a boot cycling problem one way or another. After shutdown and waiting for approx. 10 seconds booting up again results in boot cycling and results in the board reverting to using the backup BIOS which still boot cycles. Even after copying the new BIOS to the backup BIOS boot cycling still continues. I end up flipping the PSU switch and unplugging the power cable and waiting for a few seconds before the board would boot past POST screen.

Has anyone else encounter this with their new Gigabyte P67/Z68 boards?

I've had 3 builds with other makers, 2x MSI and 1x Asus and those board did not exhibit this problem, both boards are P67 boards.

Facts about Boot Loop:

1) On a cold boot your motherboard will POST up to the "Memory Testing" (which is like the first 3 lines on your POST screen) line and then restarts on it's own. It will continue to do this for a infinite number of times, theoretically. If someone actually wants to sit in front of their computer and start a count on how many times it restarts, be my guest.

2) Restarting will not work, as it continues to boot loop. You'll have to hold down the power button for 5 secs (or whatever amount of time) until your PC manually shuts down. Turning it back on immediately after a shutdown continues the boot loop, you must wait at least 20-30 seconds.

3) In order to get the board to boot properly you'll first have to turn off your power supply (the switch on your PSU if you have one) and pull the power cord. Wait approx. 30 seconds, reinsert the power cord, flip the switch and press the power button. This should get your system to boot normally on 80% occasions according to my experience. Some members have stated that the CMOS must be reset, 24-pin mobo plug needs to be unplugged and CMOS battery has to be removed. You are free to try those methods if the pulling of the power cord method does not work.

There have also been reports of disabling certain options in your BIOS that will remedy the boot loop. First off, those people were not experiencing a boot loop, just a hiccup on a old chipset.

This boot loop problem unique to P67/Z68 chipset and so far most relevant on Gigabyte boards.

At the time of this writing all Gigabyte Z68XP version motherboards only have 1 BIOS update to choose from, which isn't really a update at all.

4) No matter what you do, flashing the backup BIOS with the latest BIOS does not solve the issue. Sadly on some of the newer Z68 boards, THERE'S ONLY 1 BIOS! wth.gif
AzO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-05-2011, 05:50 PM
lAptOp jUnKie
 
drBlahMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: iN tHe mINd
Posts: 4,626
Rep: 243 (Unique: 210)
Did this happened after all 6 clients had OC'ed their CPUs or did it just suddenly happen on a particular day? This has also happened with ASUS, MSI, and Biostar. Just Google and you will see for yourself. I still have to put everything together with my Z68-UD4 so I'm hoping I do not have to go through this problem.
drBlahMan is offline  
post #3 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-05-2011, 06:37 PM
Retired Staff
 
FtW 420's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: near Vancouver, BC
Posts: 10,558
Rep: 213 (Unique: 128)
I had the boot loop problem at first with my p67 ud4, bios update fixed it up. Also try to avoid using the restart button, I haven't seen a boot loop since.

____________________________

____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.
post-flame-small.gifOCN bench teampost-flame-small.gif


FtW 420 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-05-2011, 07:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sgr215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MD
Posts: 923
Rep: 73 (Unique: 67)
I've had it happen several times now on my Z68X-UD4. My latest OC was 24hr Prime95 and 50 Linx stable and yet it randomly happened once during a reboot. Essentially all the fans spin down and the system shuts off, then it briefly powers up with no video and shuts off again and repeats this cycle over and over until I pull the plug. After I pull the plug it will always boot up without any issues but I'll get the message telling me it automatically reset my OC.

It has happened on bios versions F6 and beta bios F7d.

sgr215 is offline  
post #5 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-05-2011, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
AzO
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by drBlahMan;13764760 
Did this happened after all 6 clients had OC'ed their CPUs or did it just suddenly happen on a particular day? This has also happened with ASUS, MSI, and Biostar. Just Google and you will see for yourself. I still have to put everything together with my Z68-UD4 so I'm hoping I do not have to go through this problem.

My clients don't OC. This all happened during first bootup on a brand new system. Updating the BIOS didn't solve the problem nor writing a new BIOS to the backup BIOS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgr215;13765615 
I've had it happen several times now on my Z68X-UD4. My latest OC was 24hr Prime95 and 50 Linx stable and yet it randomly happened once during a reboot. Essentially all the fans spin down and the system shuts off, then it briefly powers up with no video and shuts off again and repeats this cycle over and over until I pull the plug. After I pull the plug it will always boot up without any issues but I'll get the message telling me it automatically reset my OC.

It has happened on bios versions F6 and beta bios F7d.

Try shutting down your system for 30secs and boot up again, the boot cycle will start all over.

One one client's build he's running a Dell 3011, NEC 20" and a Dell 24" all 16:10 ISP monitors connected to his XFX 6970 via 2x mDP and DVI-D. For some weird reason when his 30" Dell and 20" NEC was connected via mDP the system would go into boot cycle, but when I connect the 30" Dell with the 24" Dell to mDP it boots without problems.

I'm speculating there's some sort of initialization problem during POST for connected devices or there's some sort of power draw problem.
AzO is offline  
post #6 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-05-2011, 09:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sgr215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MD
Posts: 923
Rep: 73 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzO;13766101 
Try shutting down your system for 30secs and boot up again, the boot cycle will start all over.

I'll try that next time it happens. One thing I've noticed is when it happens my BIOS's clock loses it's time for however long the loop occurs. For example, if it goes into a loop and it takes me two minutes to pull the plug and get it working again my clock will be two minutes behind. As a result, I have to go back into the BIOS and correctly reset the time when the boot loop happens.

I'm beginning to think maybe I should return this board and switch it out for another manufacturer. frown.gif

sgr215 is offline  
post #7 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-05-2011, 10:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sin0822's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: McLean, Virginia
Posts: 13,266
Rep: 2037 (Unique: 1171)
avoid restart button like said above, and flash the backup BIOS to be same as teh main BIOS. Those help a lot.

Sin0822 is offline  
post #8 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-05-2011, 10:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tubers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,463
Rep: 50 (Unique: 46)
Does this mean gigabyte boards aren't suppose to use the restart button?! wow. frown.gif

Maybe that's a new feature? LMAO
tubers is offline  
post #9 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-06-2011, 01:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,076
Rep: 386 (Unique: 276)
The reset button on the GB boards will reset the BIOS to default settings, but causes a couple of boot loops in the process.

Anyway:
OP: I found out that a *LOT*, and I mean, a *LOT* of boot loops on the P67 boards are caused by using uncertified RAM. And this happens on the other manufacturer boards, too, it's just that the GB boards do an overclock failed and boots from backup BIOS, while the other boards just double boot, or boot loop forever.

One person over on XS, with updated BIOS, was getting overclock failed and a boot loop after having the board powered off for some hours. But when he switched RAM to a different manufacturer and P67 certified, his computer went without any overclocked failed messages for over two weeks straight, and counting. His problem was strictly the RAM.

But it's not just RAM that can cause this, by the way. Using S3 sleep mode with PLL overvoltage enabled is the fastest way to cause a boot loop (use S1 sleep, instead, or disable Internal PLL overvoltage (don't just leave it at auto).

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #10 of 811 (permalink) Old 06-06-2011, 01:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sgr215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MD
Posts: 923
Rep: 73 (Unique: 67)
For the record: I'm not using the reset button, I already flashed my backup bios to the latest BIOS via alt + F12, and I'm using RAM that's listed as being compatible with my motherboard. Despite all of this, the boot loop persists.

Things I've noticed so far:
  • As others have stated, the reset button will make it happen 100% of the time.
  • It happens in F6 and in the latest beta BIOS, F7d. Flashing your backup BIOS via alt + F12 doesn't fix it.
  • During the loop, the time in the BIOS will be frozen. As a result, If it loops for five minutes, your clock will be five minutes behind.
  • With the exception of the reset button, it's completely random and not that common for me. I've yet to have it happen when I'm not actively messing with BIOS settings and rebooting A LOT.
  • Most commonly, it happens when I use the Touch BIOS application in Windows. Basically, once I save settings to CMOS and reboot it'll go into a loop. However, it's rare and 99% of the time I boot fine. It has also happened while changing settings in the BIOS itself, but that's less common.
  • It has happened in almost all types of CPU/RAM settings such as:
    1. Stock
    2. Stock + downclocking ram to 1333 (1600 @ 1.35v stock)
    3. OC w/ auto vcore
    4. OC w/ manual vcore
    5. OC w/ normal vcore + dynamic vcore

sgr215 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off