[How To] Fix your computer that won't POST or has an FF error code - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[How To] Fix your computer that won't POST or has an FF error code

post #1 of 50 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 262 (Unique: 224)
About Me:
Hi everybody, I'd like to put my years of experience troubleshooting/fixing computers at your service (and for your sticky consideration). As I mentioned in my "Swedish Fish Theory" thread I'm a former Geek Squad agent. I was the guy in the back fixing all the computers who's face you didn't see unless you had a really technical question that could stump one of the guys on the front counter (all of whom I trained). I worked on up to 40 computers at a time (I wired the work area myself), and we checked in ~8-20 computers on an average day - they were done on average in 1.4 days when I was a full timer (we only had 1 other tech, whom I also trained)... needless to say I fixed a few computers in my 4 years there. It was a good job to get through college on, and I learned/found/invented a couple VERY useful tricks that I haven't ever seen posted about for diagnosing "dead" desktops.

A few notes:
--This works for both AMD and Intel motherboards, but I posted it here as all my PCs are Intel and I can only put it in one place - the fix is universal though.
--Yes, I've had times where a motherboard smelled burnt, but it was still a bad CPU and the motherboard worked.
--I've seen DVD drives stop a computer from POSTing.
--I've seen a failed PS/2 keyboard make a computer not POST.
--The PG signal is still pretty widely used on motherboards. PSU testers won't fail it every time, but if even it fails ONCE out of 20 tries, it's almost definitely a bad PSU.