[Official] ASRock Z77 Discussion/Owners Club - Page 318 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Official] ASRock Z77 Discussion/Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3171 of 3184 (permalink) Old 10-07-2017, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SlackerITGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3,146
Rep: 198 (Unique: 141)
Guys, so I just switched to a non K i7 3770.

I'm not much of a big Overclocker, but I do like to up the frequency just a tad for all my CPUs, I had my previous 2500K, set at 3.9GHz with no additional voltage, Intel SpeedStep disabled, Windows set to the High Performance Power Plan... That CPU would stay at 3.9GHz 24/7.

What would be the correct way to achieve this with this non K 3770?

Can I just set the CPU Ratio setting to 38 or 39 like before? or since it's a non K that maybe that will not work? I did notice a new setting called "No K OC".

SlackerITGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3172 of 3184 (permalink) Old 10-08-2017, 02:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TimberWolf93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlackerITGuy View Post

Guys, so I just switched to a non K i7 3770.

I'm not much of a big Overclocker, but I do like to up the frequency just a tad for all my CPUs, I had my previous 2500K, set at 3.9GHz with no additional voltage, Intel SpeedStep disabled, Windows set to the High Performance Power Plan... That CPU would stay at 3.9GHz 24/7.

What would be the correct way to achieve this with this non K 3770?

Can I just set the CPU Ratio setting to 38 or 39 like before? or since it's a non K that maybe that will not work? I did notice a new setting called "No K OC".

Can't really provide with much info, but I found a thread you might be able to get something out of.

https://www.overclock.net/t/1357942/i7-3770-non-k-oc
TimberWolf93 is offline  
post #3173 of 3184 (permalink) Old 11-12-2017, 05:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 368
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Hi,

Not sure if I have to ask my question here or in OC Sandy/Ivy on Asrock club, since that thread is revived only sporadically and my issue happens with both OC and without. So, I have the following situation, which is happening only recently (three weeks or so) and didn't ever happen before - the PC begins to stutter when I start CPU-Z or HWinfo after startup. It kind of sometimes "stabilizes" later, without stutter, although sometimes the stutter is back (mouse moves in jumps, games stutter, etc). The behavior is weird.

My PC: i5 2500K, Asrock z77 extreme4, Corsair DDR3 XMP @933.2Mhz/CL9 (same behavior if I set it to 800, so RAM is not the problem and I MemTested it, it's ok), Sapphire RX580, SSD SandDiskIIUltra 960Gb, 2xHDD 4Tb, Seasonic X PSU 750W.

The problem appears both when the PC is at stock and when it's overclocked (which is usual, now including) to 4.2GHz with fixed vcore at 1.290v, turbo 0.004v, LLC level 3, SpeedStep is ENABLED and C1E also (while other C states are Disabled). However, both software report that the CPU is clocked to @4.2GHz without going down to 1.6Ghz, but that Vcore does fluctuate between 1.008v and 1.320v!!! The problem is, the CPU is not going down to 1.6GHz, but the voltages are - and I think this makes it stutter. But sometimes later after startup load it works, though still doesn't go back to 1.6Ghz.

I have recently shortly experimented with an 2600K, but decided not go with it. Couldn't go over 4.2Ghz, got lots of BSODs trying to go over to 4.3Ghz. After that I disassembled the whole PC, reassembled it with PSU vent facing downwards (previously ventilator was taking air from within the case), put my old reliable 2500K back and clean installed Windows.

It worked as supposed to, but then I felt that it wasn't working smooth anymore. I placed my PSU upside down again (vent up), but it didn't help. Moreover, my DVDRW is no longer seen in BIOS (I haven't checked that, but presume it lost power, as it doesn't open now - regardless this shouldn't have such an effect on the CPU). I checked all cabling (except DVDRW:)

So now I am wondering:
1. Either this is Windows? How on earth reading from CPU (software reading from a diode?) could interfere with it? And drop voltages, but not speed?
2. Or some contacts shorted in the PSU after dust blowing and these permutations, so that CPU doesn't get the right voltage? (unlikely, according to readings, but...)
3. A degrading MB?

Anyone knowledgeable with an informed opinion?

Thanks.

I am your father?
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600x
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
Powercolor Red Devil RX5700 (flashed with RX5700XT BIOS)
RAM
Adata XPG d41 16Gb dual kit (2x8Gb) 3600c17 Samsung B-die - runs 3600CL16-17-17-37
Hard Drive
WD Black SN750 1TB with EKWB Heatisnk
Power Supply
EVGA 850W P2
Cooling
Cougar Helor 240mm with 2 x Nidec GT2150rpm PWM
Case
Fractal Design Define C (w 4 Noiseblocker nb E-Loop 1900rpm fans)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC G2590FX 1080p 144Hz
Keyboard
CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 RAPIDFIRE Low Profile
Mouse
Pictek T7
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 XL
▲ hide details ▲
DarthFK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3174 of 3184 (permalink) Old 12-27-2017, 12:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
hexaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 40
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
After 5 years or so my Z77 Extreme4 had started to not apply new BIOS settings.
Turns out the BIOS battery needed replacing (a CR 2032 lithium cell). Was fine after replacement.


@DarthFK, if your board is as old as mine, I'd expect it's battery to be nearing it's end of life, in which case ... maybe the BIOS is NOT actually applying Speed Step, C states or something... in any case a battery replacement can't hurt.

The above is a lie
The above is a lie
hexaq is offline  
post #3175 of 3184 (permalink) Old 12-27-2017, 04:24 AM
vf-
New to Overclock.net
 
vf-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 535
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaq View Post

After 5 years or so my Z77 Extreme4 had started to not apply new BIOS settings.
Turns out the BIOS battery needed replacing (a CR 2032 lithium cell). Was fine after replacement.


@DarthFK, if your board is as old as mine, I'd expect it's battery to be nearing it's end of life, in which case ... maybe the BIOS is NOT actually applying Speed Step, C states or something... in any case a battery replacement can't hurt.

They say 4 years you normally get out of those batteries.
vf- is offline  
post #3176 of 3184 (permalink) Old 12-27-2017, 10:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 368
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaq View Post

After 5 years or so my Z77 Extreme4 had started to not apply new BIOS settings.
Turns out the BIOS battery needed replacing (a CR 2032 lithium cell). Was fine after replacement.


@DarthFK, if your board is as old as mine, I'd expect it's battery to be nearing it's end of life, in which case ... maybe the BIOS is NOT actually applying Speed Step, C states or something... in any case a battery replacement can't hurt.

Good man, great minds think alike:) I had such a case some 9 years ago in my office and I remembered it these days. Thank you for a solid advise and Happy Holidays!!!

I am your father?
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600x
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
Powercolor Red Devil RX5700 (flashed with RX5700XT BIOS)
RAM
Adata XPG d41 16Gb dual kit (2x8Gb) 3600c17 Samsung B-die - runs 3600CL16-17-17-37
Hard Drive
WD Black SN750 1TB with EKWB Heatisnk
Power Supply
EVGA 850W P2
Cooling
Cougar Helor 240mm with 2 x Nidec GT2150rpm PWM
Case
Fractal Design Define C (w 4 Noiseblocker nb E-Loop 1900rpm fans)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC G2590FX 1080p 144Hz
Keyboard
CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 RAPIDFIRE Low Profile
Mouse
Pictek T7
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 XL
▲ hide details ▲
DarthFK is offline  
post #3177 of 3184 (permalink) Old 12-28-2017, 08:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
8bitG33k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 861
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
Hey guys, does this board support M.2 drives? Specifically I am looking at the MyDigitalSSD BPX 80mm (2280) M.2 PCI Express 3.0 x4 (PCIe Gen3 x4) NVMe MLC SSD (120GB).

ModboXx
(24 items)
CPU
i7-8700k
Motherboard
MSI Z370 Gaming Plus
GPU
ASUS GTX 1070 8GB ROG Strix
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
Samsung 830
Hard Drive
OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-60G
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
CORSAIR Hydro Series H80i v2
Case
NZXT S340VR-Elite
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
TCL 55P607
Keyboard
Corsair K70 Red LED Blue Cherry
Mouse
Asus GX950
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT990
Audio
SoundblasterX G5 DAC
Audio
Audeze Mobius
Other
Steamcontroller
Other
Xbox 360 Wireless Gaming Receiver for Windows
Other
Microsoft Wireless 360 Controller
Other
DX Racer DOH/EA01/NW
Other
CP1500PFCLCD UPS
Other
Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS
▲ hide details ▲
8bitG33k is offline  
post #3178 of 3184 (permalink) Old 12-28-2017, 09:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 368
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitG33k View Post

Hey guys, does this board support M.2 drives? Specifically I am looking at the MyDigitalSSD BPX 80mm (2280) M.2 PCI Express 3.0 x4 (PCIe Gen3 x4) NVMe MLC SSD (120GB).

Nope, the z77 extreme4 doesn't support M2. There are two other options for SSDs - either a regular SSD via regular SATA - that's what I have now - or (depending on speed of the PCI-e) via PCI-e, but you'll have to check if it doesn't share PCI-e bandwidth with something else, thus making the expensive PCI-E SSD an unnecessary investment on this board. Or check the PCI-e speed itself, so that it's not too slow.

I am your father?
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600x
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
Powercolor Red Devil RX5700 (flashed with RX5700XT BIOS)
RAM
Adata XPG d41 16Gb dual kit (2x8Gb) 3600c17 Samsung B-die - runs 3600CL16-17-17-37
Hard Drive
WD Black SN750 1TB with EKWB Heatisnk
Power Supply
EVGA 850W P2
Cooling
Cougar Helor 240mm with 2 x Nidec GT2150rpm PWM
Case
Fractal Design Define C (w 4 Noiseblocker nb E-Loop 1900rpm fans)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC G2590FX 1080p 144Hz
Keyboard
CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 RAPIDFIRE Low Profile
Mouse
Pictek T7
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 XL
▲ hide details ▲
DarthFK is offline  
post #3179 of 3184 (permalink) Old 12-28-2017, 09:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
8bitG33k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: C:\Windows
Posts: 861
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthFK View Post

Nope, the z77 extreme4 doesn't support M2. There are two other options for SSDs - either a regular SSD via regular SATA - that's what I have now - or (depending on speed of the PCI-e) via PCI-e, but you'll have to check if it doesn't share PCI-e bandwidth with something else, thus making the expensive PCI-E SSD an unnecessary investment on this board. Or check the PCI-e speed itself, so that it's not too slow.

Thanks for the reply!

Apparently there is a BIOS that supports NVME.

Also found this thread here.

How do I check if it doesn't share PCI-e bandwidth with something else?

ModboXx
(24 items)
CPU
i7-8700k
Motherboard
MSI Z370 Gaming Plus
GPU
ASUS GTX 1070 8GB ROG Strix
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
Samsung 830
Hard Drive
OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-60G
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
CORSAIR Hydro Series H80i v2
Case
NZXT S340VR-Elite
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
TCL 55P607
Keyboard
Corsair K70 Red LED Blue Cherry
Mouse
Asus GX950
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT990
Audio
SoundblasterX G5 DAC
Audio
Audeze Mobius
Other
Steamcontroller
Other
Xbox 360 Wireless Gaming Receiver for Windows
Other
Microsoft Wireless 360 Controller
Other
DX Racer DOH/EA01/NW
Other
CP1500PFCLCD UPS
Other
Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS
▲ hide details ▲
8bitG33k is offline  
post #3180 of 3184 (permalink) Old 12-28-2017, 09:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarthFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madamme Freedom fief
Posts: 368
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitG33k View Post

Thanks for the reply!

Apparently there is a BIOS that supports NVME.

Also found this thread here.

How do I check if it doesn't share PCI-e bandwidth with something else?

Sorry binning two 2600k now and reply from my phone, sorry for typos etc:)
That's more or less the second option I suggested, a PCI-E card/slot, but I didn't check the drive you were asking about. M2 slit can be/take either SSD or PCI-e and there is no dedicated slot for M2 on the board, but connecting to a PCI-E, as I suggested is an option. The thread you linked to is pretty informative on that.
Just checked, it seems (can't guarantee!) there is no sharing (except sata w esata on one port), but I am not sure about the speeds of PcI-e slots on the board, so that you get good speeds (your link to the thread suggests that it does, though, right?). Someone else would need to step in on the specs, I guess, or you can revive that nVme thread:) Fyi, see last line below:

https://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77%20Extreme4/

Slots
- 2 x PCI Express 3.0 x16 slots (PCIE2/PCIE3: single at x16 (PCIE2) / x8 (PCIE3) or dual at x8/x8 mode)
- 2 x PCI Express 2.0 x1 slots
- 2 x PCI slots
- Supports AMD Quad CrossFireX™ and CrossFireX™
- Supports NVIDIA® Quad SLI™ and SLI™

*PCIe Gen3 is supported on 3rd Generation of Intel® Core™ i5 and Core™ i7 CPUs.
SATA3
- 2 x SATA3 6.0 Gb/s connectors by Intel® Z77, support RAID (RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5, RAID 10, Intel® Rapid Storage and Intel® Smart Response Technology), NCQ, AHCI and Hot Plug functions
- 2 x SATA3 6.0 Gb/s connectors by ASMedia ASM1061, support NCQ, AHCI and Hot Plug functions (SATA3_A1 connector is shared with eSATA3 port)

I am your father?
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600x
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
Powercolor Red Devil RX5700 (flashed with RX5700XT BIOS)
RAM
Adata XPG d41 16Gb dual kit (2x8Gb) 3600c17 Samsung B-die - runs 3600CL16-17-17-37
Hard Drive
WD Black SN750 1TB with EKWB Heatisnk
Power Supply
EVGA 850W P2
Cooling
Cougar Helor 240mm with 2 x Nidec GT2150rpm PWM
Case
Fractal Design Define C (w 4 Noiseblocker nb E-Loop 1900rpm fans)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC G2590FX 1080p 144Hz
Keyboard
CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 RAPIDFIRE Low Profile
Mouse
Pictek T7
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 XL
▲ hide details ▲
DarthFK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off