ASRock X79 Extreme 11 Owners Issues & Hopefully Fixes - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASRock X79 Extreme 11 Owners Issues & Hopefully Fixes

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 07:35 PM
Iunno
 
AikenDrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Actually, I just made an embarrasing discovery. I didn't check the auto-detect on my RAM, and when I did my cpu-z validation just now for the owner's list, I noticed it was running at a default of 666 instead of the 2133 it really is (yuk). I fixed that and I'm getting better results. I'll post them to the thread where Vega's been posting his and where I posted my flawed ones earlier today.

Edit:

Hm, the plot thickens. Now I'm back to the previous transfer rates. What changed since I started windows? When I got to the desktop, I was getting over 3GB sequential reads, now I'm down in the 2.6 range again.
AikenDrum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 07:43 PM
Iunno
 
AikenDrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgtown View Post

What controller(s) do your SSDs use? Currently, it seems that LSI is pointing fingers at the Indilinx controller on the Vertex 4.
Whatever's in Samsung 830's.
AikenDrum is offline  
post #13 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jgtown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Pretty sure Samsung's rolling their own triple-core ARM controller that they call the MCX.

New build on the bench:
ASRock X79 Extreme11, Intel i7-3930K, Galaxy GeForce GTX680 GC 4GB (x4 in transit)
jgtown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 07:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Swolern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6,017
Rep: 359 (Unique: 236)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AikenDrum View Post

Whatever's in Samsung 830's.

How many do you have? Running in RAID 0?
Swolern is offline  
post #15 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 08:57 PM
Iunno
 
AikenDrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swolern View Post

How many do you have? Running in RAID 0?
8 in RAID0 on the onboard LSI.
AikenDrum is offline  
post #16 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-05-2012, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
theseekeroffun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,086
Rep: 116 (Unique: 93)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AikenDrum View Post

8 in RAID0 on the onboard LSI.

Please post your system specs.
theseekeroffun is offline  
post #17 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-10-2012, 06:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RC15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Can I just ask what case people are using to mount this board. Just curious smile.gif
RC15 is offline  
post #18 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-10-2012, 07:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Swolern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6,017
Rep: 359 (Unique: 236)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC15 View Post

Can I just ask what case people are using to mount this board. Just curious smile.gif

I have it in the HAF X 942.
Swolern is offline  
post #19 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 12:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jgtown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC15 View Post

Can I just ask what case people are using to mount this board. Just curious smile.gif

I'm using a Corsair 400R but I don't recommend it for this motherboard. The motherboard is recessed and, because it's 0.9" longer than ATX, the bottom SATA ports are partially blocked. I think I could use cables with very short heads if I lift that edge of the motherboard before plugging them in but it'd be a tight fit. OTOH, it's a decent case for other builds. Fairly cheap, lots of airflow, room to hide cables, room to mount standard radiators inside, low-key looks, etc.

Edited to add:

If you're planning to put 4 big video cards on this thing (why else would you buy it?) make sure the case has at least 8 expansion slot openings in the back. That, and the ability to hold a CEB form factor motherboard and long video cards are key.

New build on the bench:
ASRock X79 Extreme11, Intel i7-3930K, Galaxy GeForce GTX680 GC 4GB (x4 in transit)
jgtown is offline  
post #20 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 02:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jackk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 141
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC15 View Post

Can I just ask what case people are using to mount this board. Just curious smile.gif

Cosmo II


jackk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off