ASRock X79 Extreme 11 Owners Issues & Hopefully Fixes - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASRock X79 Extreme 11 Owners Issues & Hopefully Fixes

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 02:27 PM
Iunno
 
AikenDrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Anyone else filled all 8 ram slots already? I use 2133-rated mushkin redline enhanced (the 993997 quad kit), which is well-reviewed for overclocking and capable of posting at 2400 with only slightly relaxed timings and default voltage (I've tried it myself). It posts fine with just one pack of four installed, but if install both packs, filling all eight slots, it refuses to post even at its rated 2133. It keeps erroring out after 67 and 5A on Dr. Debug, which are both cpu-related. After three failures, it automatically downclocks the ram to 1333 so I can get into the bios and mess with stuff again.

Notes:

1) It'll post with all eight sticks if they're running at 1866 or lower.

2) It won't post with all eight at 2133 even with extra voltage and/or very relaxed timings.

3) I don't *think* it's heat. I have a 140mm fan blowing right on the sticks. The CPU between is liquid-cooled by an H100. I even pointed a beefy room fan at the motherboard, running full blast. No go.

4) Both 4-packs post fine by themselves in A1/B1/C1/D1, It's only when A2/B2/C2/D2 are used as well that it won't post at the memory's (easily-)rated speed.

5) I don't *think* I'm running short on power. I have an AX1200 and I think I remain far under 1000W at peak, let alone 1200W.

Any thoughts? Vega, you out three? You seem most like to have run into this, if anyone. smile.gif
AikenDrum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 02:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jgtown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AikenDrum View Post

Anyone else filled all 8 ram slots already? I use 2133-rated mushkin redline enhanced (the 993997 quad kit), which is well-reviewed for overclocking and capable of posting at 2400 with only slightly relaxed timings and default voltage (I've tried it myself). It posts fine with just one pack of four installed, but if install both packs, filling all eight slots, it refuses to post even at its rated 2133. It keeps erroring out after 67 and 5A on Dr. Debug, which are both cpu-related. After three failures, it automatically downclocks the ram to 1333 so I can get into the bios and mess with stuff again.
Notes:
1) It'll post with all eight sticks if they're running at 1866 or lower.
2) It won't post with all eight at 2133 even with extra voltage and/or very relaxed timings.
3) I don't *think* it's heat. I have a 140mm fan blowing right on the sticks. The CPU between is liquid-cooled by an H100. I even pointed a beefy room fan at the motherboard, running full blast. No go.
4) Both 4-packs post fine by themselves in A1/B1/C1/D1, It's only when A2/B2/C2/D2 are used as well that it won't post at the memory's (easily-)rated speed.
5) I don't *think* I'm running short on power. I have an AX1200 and I think I remain far under 1000W at peak, let alone 1200W.
Any thoughts? Vega, you out three? You seem most like to have run into this, if anyone. smile.gif

Check the Memory Support List. Once you get above 2000, very few are fully supported for 8 modules. (The ones that say "v" across the board.) I went with the G.Skill F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH pack since it's the fastest 4-gig module with an official stamp of approval for quad-channel use in groups of 4 and 8 at full speed as well as overclocking. I know RAM is RAM and, if it meets the specs, it should just work. But sometimes it doesn't.

New build on the bench:
ASRock X79 Extreme11, Intel i7-3930K, Galaxy GeForce GTX680 GC 4GB (x4 in transit)
jgtown is offline  
post #23 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
theseekeroffun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,086
Rep: 116 (Unique: 93)
It is not wise to fill all of the RAM slots on any MB unless it is a server MB. Performance always degrades, especially with enthusiasts MB's.
theseekeroffun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 03:45 PM
Iunno
 
AikenDrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgtown View Post

Check the Memory Support List. Once you get above 2000, very few are fully supported for 8 modules. (The ones that say "v" across the board.) I went with the G.Skill F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH pack since it's the fastest 4-gig module with an official stamp of approval for quad-channel use in groups of 4 and 8 at full speed as well as overclocking. I know RAM is RAM and, if it meets the specs, it should just work. But sometimes it doesn't.
Heh, thanks, I wish I had known about the list a few weeks ago. Those sticks are even the same price at newegg.

Actually, before I order... can you or anyone else confirm that 8 x F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH definitely do work in an extreme11? You didn't specify how many you're using.
AikenDrum is offline  
post #25 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 03:47 PM
Iunno
 
AikenDrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by theseekeroffun View Post

It is not wise to fill all of the RAM slots on any MB unless it is a server MB. Performance always degrades, especially with enthusiasts MB's.
Information like this is useful, but only if backed up by an explanation. Would you mind elaborating, please?
AikenDrum is offline  
post #26 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 03:55 PM
Iunno
 
AikenDrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC15 View Post

Can I just ask what case people are using to mount this board. Just curious smile.gif
I'm running mine in an NZXT Switch 810. I think it's the one people call the stormtrooper? Mine's all-black though, not the white/black version. Anyway, it's okay, nice and roomy on the m/b side, but I kinda wish now that I'd gone with a Cosmos II for bigger cable-hiding space on the back side, or maybe one of those nifty 90-degree Fortress cases..
AikenDrum is offline  
post #27 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 04:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jgtown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AikenDrum View Post

Heh, thanks, I wish I had known about the list a few weeks ago. Those sticks are even the same price at newegg.
Actually, before I order... can you or anyone else confirm that 8 x F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH definitely do work in an extreme11? You didn't specify how many you're using.

I'm using 4 at 2133. That's all I need and I'm waiting for my other two video cards to arrive before I try overclocking anything. But I'd certainly expect 8 to work in quad channel at 2133 since ASRock says that combination is supported. If I ever get to a point where games are eating up 16 gigs of RAM, I'll add more.

New build on the bench:
ASRock X79 Extreme11, Intel i7-3930K, Galaxy GeForce GTX680 GC 4GB (x4 in transit)
jgtown is offline  
post #28 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 08:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rctrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Paddle faster, I hear banjos...
Posts: 1,861
Rep: 77 (Unique: 56)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AikenDrum View Post

Anyone else filled all 8 ram slots already? I use 2133-rated mushkin redline enhanced (the 993997 quad kit), which is well-reviewed for overclocking and capable of posting at 2400 with only slightly relaxed timings and default voltage (I've tried it myself). It posts fine with just one pack of four installed, but if install both packs, filling all eight slots, it refuses to post even at its rated 2133. It keeps erroring out after 67 and 5A on Dr. Debug, which are both cpu-related. After three failures, it automatically downclocks the ram to 1333 so I can get into the bios and mess with stuff again.
Notes:
1) It'll post with all eight sticks if they're running at 1866 or lower.
2) It won't post with all eight at 2133 even with extra voltage and/or very relaxed timings.
3) I don't *think* it's heat. I have a 140mm fan blowing right on the sticks. The CPU between is liquid-cooled by an H100. I even pointed a beefy room fan at the motherboard, running full blast. No go.
4) Both 4-packs post fine by themselves in A1/B1/C1/D1, It's only when A2/B2/C2/D2 are used as well that it won't post at the memory's (easily-)rated speed.
5) I don't *think* I'm running short on power. I have an AX1200 and I think I remain far under 1000W at peak, let alone 1200W.
Any thoughts? Vega, you out three? You seem most like to have run into this, if anyone. smile.gif

I use that Quad kit with my Extreme 9 and was unable to get stability at 2133, but am running at 1866 with tighter timings. I haven't tried 8 sticks, but it is a know problem with the ASrock boards, mem overclock is not their strong suit.


rctrucker is offline  
post #29 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 09:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,226
Rep: 129 (Unique: 97)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackk View Post

Cosmo II

NICE! thumb.gif

I just picked up the Cosmos II as well! biggrin.gif

The Mountain Mods Ascension CYO was getting on my wires, I mean, nerves. XD

2iu6pi.jpg
Baasha is online now  
post #30 of 1202 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 09:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Rucker, AL
Posts: 8,454
Rep: 523 (Unique: 361)
The motherboard doesn't really have that much to do with overclocking memory with all 8 DIMM's filled. Unless there are unusually long traces or a bad design with the memory connection and power supply. But the memory talks directly to the CPU memory controller. It's really the CPU that will limit you with that many sticks and not the motherboard from my experience.

I never really pay attention to "recommended and tested" memory support lists. High quality memory is high quality memory and should work in theory the same on any X79 MB as on the X79, unless there are design problems like mentioned before.

GPU: TITAN RTX - 2175 MHz, liquid cooled
CPU: 9900K 5.4 GHz, liquid cooled
MB: ASUS Maximus XI Gene
RAM: G.Skill 32GB 4000 MHz Samsung B-Die
SSD: Intel Optane 905P - 960GB
DISPLAY: LG 48CX OLED / VR: Modified Vive Pro
CallsignVega is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off