[Official] Asus Rampage IV Black Edition Owners Club! - Page 1547 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] Asus Rampage IV Black Edition Owners Club!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15461 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-27-2019, 05:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,361
Rep: 526 (Unique: 297)
oohhh, I think at the most, I had 3x GK110 Titans running on it.

I had some issues, but I always kept my memory clocks conservative, & made sure to have ALL the power plugs hooked up (the extra CPU pins, and the extra molex PCIE power)

I pushed it, but not incredibly hard. Which may be where these issues crept in? IDK, I got one of the first boards shipped, in the US.

the insanity is well documented in this thread. Luna n I almost got burned while trying to get our pre-orders shipped.

I do however remember these constant complaints

the board also had the shortest lifespan of any product I've ever owned. Like a said, It's full of the best X79 has to give, i guess I just got a good sample. I'd be willing to be they did a tiny run. It was created afte 4930k was already old.

Last edited by skupples; 03-27-2019 at 05:51 PM.
skupples is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15462 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 04:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
deanorthk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
Still got mine running as my main rig.
RIV BE with I7 4960x stock speed (i will oc later once my final case is there), and a FTW3 1080ti.
using a 960evo pcie SSD mounted on the silverstone pcie adaptator.
All this with custom WC, based on EK WB and bitpowers stuff.
All this will move to a corsair 1000D soon.
I do get random freeze sometimes, I'll dig this thread out maybe there's a solution
deanorthk is offline  
post #15463 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 05:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
deanorthk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ElevenEleven View Post
I got a full system from a friend, and it includes this motherboard and an i7 4930k. The motherboard has an EK plate over the southbridge and such, instead of the stock passive aluminum heatspreader. I want to remove all the water cooling and swap to air. Unfortunately the original ASUS chipset heatspreader is missing, and I'm not sure where to get a replacement. Any recommendations on a southbridge cooling solution, or do you think I might be okay with the EK plate being left there for passive cooling but without water running through it?





You know I have been searching for this wb for months, and gave up, because it's impossible to find
deanorthk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15464 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 07:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
inlandchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Thailand
Posts: 205
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
EK

I have it and I have just thrown in the towel on the R4BE, what is it worth?
Also, I have the full Monoblock but use the above because I like to use more tubing.

Last edited by inlandchris; 03-28-2019 at 07:26 AM. Reason: more info
inlandchris is offline  
post #15465 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 07:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,361
Rep: 526 (Unique: 297)
I have those blocks on for passive cooling & they work = to, or better than the stock metal chunks.

I was too lazy to install the old syncs, turns out they work just fine.
skupples is online now  
post #15466 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 09:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
inlandchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Thailand
Posts: 205
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Yep, if ASUS designed thier tubing to cool the motherboard and guarantee it, then it does work. Motherboard and air-cooled cpu are usually 30 degrees C above ambient and it works fine. However, you want to overclock? best you use the water blocks which I find to be about 5 degrees above ambient while the norm for water blocks is 10 degrees over ambient. So, when I over clocked my R4BE to 4.5 Ghz, my CPU was around 40-50 degrees, idle = 29 degress and the motherboard (idle) around 30 degrees. I liked it and would not go back to air cool but for this mobo, I am done.
inlandchris is offline  
post #15467 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 10:16 AM
 
 
MrTOOSHORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location:  Edmonton
Posts: 12,614
Rep: 1501 (Unique: 1043)
Brand new in box...

pm if interested.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0541 ii.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	156.9 KB
ID:	261924  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0542 ii.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	147.7 KB
ID:	261926  


9980XE  •  APEX VI  •  3600CL15  •  2080TI FE  •  34GK950F-B  •  970 PRO 1TB  •  1600T2  •  800D


MrTOOSHORT is online now  
post #15468 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 05:04 PM
Windows 10 Gamer
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,466
Rep: 45 (Unique: 37)
Quote: Originally Posted by deanorthk View Post
Still got mine running as my main rig.
RIV BE with I7 4960x stock speed (i will oc later once my final case is there), and a FTW3 1080ti.
using a 960evo pcie SSD mounted on the silverstone pcie adaptator.
All this with custom WC, based on EK WB and bitpowers stuff.
All this will move to a corsair 1000D soon.
I do get random freeze sometimes, I'll dig this thread out maybe there's a solution
Some here also experience those same freezes, but as of yet we've been unable to find a solution. I have read there is an issue with nvidia cards and some Asus boards when running the Corsair link program. I personally don't use the Corsair link program but I do have the iCue software for the lighting effects and G keys on my K95 RGB. I am not sure if that is the issue, if it is then that basically makes this keyboard useless. Without the iCue software then this is just another mechanical keyboard with useless programmable G keys.

The Dark Knight
(25 items)
CPU
i7 4930k
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Black Ed
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
RAM
G.Skill Trident X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3-2133
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
Western Digital BLACK SERIES 7200RPM
Hard Drive
San Disk Ultra II
Hard Drive
Seagate 4TB Gaming SSHD
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray 16x Multi Disc
Power Supply
EVGA G2 1000w Gold Plus
Cooling
Swiftech H 240-X
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Clean Acrylic
Cooling
Swiftech H 140-X
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Nickel/Black 1070
Case
Phantom 820 Black
Operating System
MS Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Vizio 24" 1080p TV
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24" 1ms (GTG) 144 Hz Gaming Monitor, NVIDIA G-SYNC
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
None
Audio
Sound Blaster Zx
Audio
Logitech z906 5.1 surround speaker system
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
NZXT Grid+ V2
▲ hide details ▲
Madmaxneo is offline  
post #15469 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 06:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,361
Rep: 526 (Unique: 297)
those macro keys were always kinda gimmicks anyways. You can program any key on any board to do whatever you want without special logitech/corsair software.

my only RGB keyboard does all the color switching internally, & was only $60.... it's also relegated to work use cuz its sloppier than this corsair 10 keyless wireless K series whatever I'm on atm from my couch.
skupples is online now  
post #15470 of 15567 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 07:15 PM
Windows 10 Gamer
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,466
Rep: 45 (Unique: 37)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
those macro keys were always kinda gimmicks anyways. You can program any key on any board to do whatever you want without special logitech/corsair software.

my only RGB keyboard does all the color switching internally, & was only $60.... it's also relegated to work use cuz its sloppier than this corsair 10 keyless wireless K series whatever I'm on atm from my couch.
I only use the G keys for quick email and other things I have to type often. I used to use the G keys for key combos in games (like Magicka) but I haven't really played many games lately. The RGB lighting is my primary usage. Right now I have it set so that certain sets of keys are different colors and then when a key is hit a purple and green wave ripples out from that key all the way to end of the board. It's a really cool effect when typing anything..lol. I even have two sets of keys set to fade between two colors.

The Dark Knight
(25 items)
CPU
i7 4930k
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Black Ed
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
RAM
G.Skill Trident X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3-2133
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
Western Digital BLACK SERIES 7200RPM
Hard Drive
San Disk Ultra II
Hard Drive
Seagate 4TB Gaming SSHD
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray 16x Multi Disc
Power Supply
EVGA G2 1000w Gold Plus
Cooling
Swiftech H 240-X
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Clean Acrylic
Cooling
Swiftech H 140-X
Cooling
Watercool Heatkiller IV Pro Nickel/Black 1070
Case
Phantom 820 Black
Operating System
MS Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Vizio 24" 1080p TV
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24" 1ms (GTG) 144 Hz Gaming Monitor, NVIDIA G-SYNC
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
None
Audio
Sound Blaster Zx
Audio
Logitech z906 5.1 surround speaker system
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
NZXT Grid+ V2
▲ hide details ▲
Madmaxneo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off