Asus Maximus Formula VII Owner's Club - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asus Maximus Formula VII Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 630 (permalink) Old 07-31-2014, 08:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
szeged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17,325
Rep: 737 (Unique: 415)
Thanks for the response Raja, the DIMM kit i got is here - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231638&cm_re=gskill_trident_x_2400-_-20-231-638-_-Product

i was using a single kit.

Ill try the beta out and see if it helps, it probably is something to do with the DIMMS and the IMC as you said. Ill tinker around with the settings and see if anything helps.
szeged is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 630 (permalink) Old 07-31-2014, 01:59 PM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 708
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)





My M7F arrived yesterday and... what can I say? It does look really awesome indeed! Best looking piece of electronics I've held in a long time. And it works really, really good. Thumbs up Asus! thumb.gif

And with that said... My build is half-finished (waiting on GPU and cooling), but it's starting to get there! So sign me up! smile.gif

EDIT : I'm a little rusty when it comes to tweaking my stuff, so I'll need a little help here.

I won't be starting overclocking my CPU anytime soon because I'm holding out as long as I can with the stock Intel heatsink (Applied with Arctic Cooling MX-4 TIM) in case I can also afford a proper custom water loop. But, seeing as this is my first properly high end rig after a looong time, I have the overclocker's itch. So I thought I could start by overclocking my RAM a bit, as it wouldn't affect the CPU's already strained thermals.

Now, I have 2x8GB kit of Corsair Vengeance Pro at 2133MHz CL11 running at 1.5V (the sticker on the RAM stick reads "ver. 4.29", I don't know what memory it uses, I think Samsung). So I figured I could at least get 2400MHz CL11 1.65V or 2133MHz CL10. Thing is, I can't change my DRAM voltage. It's set to auto and the option to change it is grayed out. Bad thing is, I acted in a rush and applied one of the Asus profiles (the Samsung 2400MHz CL10 1.65V one), but it applied everything except for the voltage, which stayed at 1.5V, without me noticing. You can guess what happened. I had to use the "Clear CMOS" button for the first time in my life.

Any ideas about what I should do? Thanks in advance guys!

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
tolis626 is offline  
post #23 of 630 (permalink) Old 08-01-2014, 02:14 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Set Ai Tweaker to XMP or Manual and then type the VDIMM you want to set into the box. Not all DIMMs will OC without timing or changes to VCCSA and IO-D so you will have to see what happens.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 630 (permalink) Old 08-01-2014, 02:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pahani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Idiots Out Wandering Around
Posts: 96
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Ordered my Swiftech H220X today........just waiting on the non-bundled version of M7F to save some cash smile.gif

This will be my first time having such a top-tier MB, really looking forward to it!

My last PC died a bit over 2 years ago, been making do with a cheapo laptop since then! And yup, my general disdain for laptops has been confirmed......*shudder*

Pahani is offline  
post #25 of 630 (permalink) Old 08-01-2014, 05:39 AM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 708
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

Set Ai Tweaker to XMP or Manual and then type the VDIMM you want to set into the box. Not all DIMMs will OC without timing or changes to VCCSA and IO-D so you will have to see what happens.

I tried both. No joy. Voltage was set to "Auto", which in this case meant 1.5V. I'll see about the other options... Thanks!

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
tolis626 is offline  
post #26 of 630 (permalink) Old 08-01-2014, 05:40 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolis626 View Post

I tried both. No joy. Voltage was set to "Auto", which in this case meant 1.5V. I'll see about the other options... Thanks!

Sounds like user error of some sort if I am honest.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
post #27 of 630 (permalink) Old 08-01-2014, 05:42 AM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 708
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

Sounds like user error of some sort if I am honest.

Oh, it most probably is. I'm not saying it's the board's fault. wink.gif

And that's why I asked for help. I'm out of practice...

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
tolis626 is offline  
post #28 of 630 (permalink) Old 08-01-2014, 05:55 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Take screenshots of UEFI pages by using a FAT32 formatted USB flash drive and upload them. Press F12 to save the screenshots in UEFI - let's see what you are setting and where.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
post #29 of 630 (permalink) Old 08-01-2014, 06:02 AM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 708
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

Take screenshots of UEFI pages by using a FAT32 formatted USB flash drive and upload them. Press F12 to save the screenshots in UEFI - let's see what you are setting and where.

No need, you were right. Stupid me didn't realize I just have to type in the box, no matter what it says. I just clicked on the "Auto" label next to the VDIMM setting and typed my desired voltage (1.65V in this case) and it accepted it. I couldn't get it to boot with 2400MHz yet, but I did manage a nice 2133MHz CL10 1.65V. Good stuff!

Thanks for the help man! Thoroughly enjoying messing with the boards settings for now! smile.gif

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
tolis626 is offline  
post #30 of 630 (permalink) Old 08-01-2014, 06:13 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Okay - glad you worked it out.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off