ASUS X99 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread (North American users only) - Page 866 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS X99 Motherboard Series - Official Support Thread (North American users only)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8651 of 16735 (permalink) Old 07-31-2015, 03:39 PM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 25,773
Rep: 1243 (Unique: 552)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuhfhrh View Post

By definition, running your memory at 2666 is an overclock on the CPU. The CPU's IMC was designed for a maximum of 2133MHz DDR4.

^^ This !!

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
Rampage VI Apex / 7980XE / 2 Titan V / 32GB 4000C16/Corsair AX1500i/Intel 900P

For Sale
X299
(25 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370 Z390
(23 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
7740X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299 Gaming
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
9700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
GPU
Titan V
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8652 of 16735 (permalink) Old 07-31-2015, 06:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
elbeasto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 273
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post

^^ This !!

okay so while the cpu is perfectly capable of being overclocked with variable voltage, XMP sets it to a constant max, why is this?

and so higher speeds need a 125 and greater strap, why?

and once @ 125 you have to use offset instead of adaptive...

As I said earlier, it seems like it's been tacked on after the fact very haphazardly, like metro over a desktop.

That's just how it feels to me as an end user, really messy and complicated and it doesn't quite work.
I don't have all the knowledge like you guys do granted but yeah, that's how I see it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desolutional View Post

Are you still dropping sticks or getting bd errors? If not, then you could try lowering it to 0.13V, rinse and repeat until issues start happening again.

Also you could set LLC to 6 if you wanted. At 1.83V I don't think it would hurt the CPU to leave it on 7 though (I drop my LLC down to 5 or 6 as soon as I go above 1.93V). The important thing to note about VCCSA is that it is like cache. Instability is only presented after running Windows and messing about for 30 minutes or more; at least in all my VCCSA issues. Most of my issues manifested when running HyperPI in the form of rounding errors. Running Prime95 blend should help to show some instability too (as long as your cooling can handle the heat output). VCCSA is a weird voltage to get right, I think for your situation a value between 0.98V and 1.08V should provide the best stability. You'll have to work out what offset to apply from there using (HWiNFO or AiDA64 VCCSA reading subtract the BIOS setting).

I set my VCCSA to "Auto" to get an initial target VCCSA, then I added 0.02V to that for safety. When I set Auto I get 1.008V of VCCSA. So I target 1.028V VCCSA for 24/7 use, and I worked out the offset by going into BIOS and setting VCCSA offset to +0.001V, then checking the value in HWiNFO64 sensors. That value with the +0.001V is your stock VCCSA.

i could drop the vsa in increments until it starts to stuff up again.
I think i have llc @ 6 now already.

and i put dram current on 130 and cpu current on 120, probably dont need the cpu current over 100?

elbeasto is offline  
post #8653 of 16735 (permalink) Old 07-31-2015, 06:56 PM
 
Desolutional's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,411
Rep: 161 (Unique: 99)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elbeasto View Post

I don't have all the knowledge like you guys do granted but yeah, that's how I see it.
i could drop the vsa in increments until it starts to stuff up again.
I think i have llc @ 6 now already.

and i put dram current on 130 and cpu current on 120, probably dont need the cpu current over 100?

We all start off with a lack of knowledge, and we're still learning, don't worry about it. What I usually do with VCCSA is drop it in increments of 0.020V, and after each drop, I save the BIOS, let the system restart, press F2 again. When in BIOS, I press the power button, turn off my PSU, drain the board of power for 20 seconds by holding the chassis power button down to remove any residual charges in the capacitors, then do a cold boot after turning my PSU on again. As for CPU current, if you're running stock, you can leave it at 110% (or even 100% if you wanted), and DRAM can be left at 130% for 1.35V.

CPU: i7-5820K @ 4.3Ghz (-0.08V/1.33V Adaptive = 1.25V); Cache: 3.9GHz (1.20V); VCCIN: 1.85V @ LLC 6 12hr x265 (AVX2) Stable
CPU: i7-6950X @ 4.0Ghz (-0.08V Offset = 1.22V); Cache: 3.2GHz (1.06V); VCCIN: 1.90V @ LLC 5 12hr x265 (AVX2) Stable
RAM: 64GB @ 3000MHz (14-14-12-31 1T, 1.35V) 12hr GSAT Stable
GPU: EVGA Hybrid GTX 1070 @ 2076MHz Core, 8.6GHz VRAM, Stock Voltage 24hr [email protected] Stable


Desolutional is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8654 of 16735 (permalink) Old 07-31-2015, 07:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
elbeasto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 273
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desolutional View Post

We all start off with a lack of knowledge, and we're still learning, don't worry about it. What I usually do with VCCSA is drop it in increments of 0.020V, and after each drop, I save the BIOS, let the system restart, press F2 again. When in BIOS, I press the power button, turn off my PSU, drain the board of power for 20 seconds by holding the chassis power button down to remove any residual charges in the capacitors, then do a cold boot after turning my PSU on again. As for CPU current, if you're running stock, you can leave it at 110% (or even 100% if you wanted), and DRAM can be left at 130% for 1.35V.

Ah well, as long as I get on a few ignore lists along the way.

I have aida installed:


I set eventual DRAM to 1.25 as jpmboy said to put it .05mv over spec.

VCCSA is 1.024 and VCCIO is 1.050

elbeasto is offline  
post #8655 of 16735 (permalink) Old 07-31-2015, 07:19 PM
 
Desolutional's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,411
Rep: 161 (Unique: 99)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elbeasto View Post

Ah well, as long as I get on a few ignore lists along the way.

I set eventual DRAM to 1.25 as jpmboy said to put it .05mv over spec.

VCCSA is 1.024 and VCCIO is 1.050

Don't mess with VCCIO unless you're pushing BCLK far beyond +3MHz from your strap value. What I'd do now is "roll with it", run that system with those settings for the next few days, to catch out any instability. You could run stress tests too occasionally; I'd suggest ASUS Realbench (or x264 stress test), HyperPI 32M or doing compression with 7-Zip with heavy settings to a scratch drive (a drive like a Hard Drive where you're not bothered about excessive writes). When you're not using the rig, you could also run HCI memtest on your RAM to verify stability.

CPU: i7-5820K @ 4.3Ghz (-0.08V/1.33V Adaptive = 1.25V); Cache: 3.9GHz (1.20V); VCCIN: 1.85V @ LLC 6 12hr x265 (AVX2) Stable
CPU: i7-6950X @ 4.0Ghz (-0.08V Offset = 1.22V); Cache: 3.2GHz (1.06V); VCCIN: 1.90V @ LLC 5 12hr x265 (AVX2) Stable
RAM: 64GB @ 3000MHz (14-14-12-31 1T, 1.35V) 12hr GSAT Stable
GPU: EVGA Hybrid GTX 1070 @ 2076MHz Core, 8.6GHz VRAM, Stock Voltage 24hr [email protected] Stable


Desolutional is offline  
post #8656 of 16735 (permalink) Old 07-31-2015, 07:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
elbeasto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 273
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desolutional View Post

Don't mess with VCCIO unless you're pushing BCLK far beyond +3MHz from your strap value. What I'd do now is "roll with it", run that system with those settings for the next few days, to catch out any instability. You could run stress tests too occasionally; I'd suggest ASUS Realbench (or x264 stress test), HyperPI 32M or doing compression with 7-Zip with heavy settings to a scratch drive (a drive like a Hard Drive where you're not bothered about excessive writes). When you're not using the rig, you could also run HCI memtest on your RAM to verify stability.



yeah just leaving bclk @ 100
I will oc the cpu later, just want to get this mem bd sorted first, it's been pissing me off since i built it.

elbeasto is offline  
post #8657 of 16735 (permalink) Old 07-31-2015, 08:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DNMock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,145
Rep: 158 (Unique: 117)
Quick question about driver updates and Windows 10. Do I need download the updated drivers for my X99 Deluxe from the Asus website or will Windows 10 handle that for me? Stuff like Probe Sense, Bluetooth, Intel Chipset etc. etc.

Those all should be good and the only thing I need to hunt down (unless i decide to disable auto updates) would be a Bios Update, correct?


DNMock is offline  
post #8658 of 16735 (permalink) Old 07-31-2015, 10:27 PM
Crayon Evangelist
 
inedenimadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Emerald City
Posts: 7,558
Rep: 469 (Unique: 321)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DNMock View Post

Quick question about driver updates and Windows 10. Do I need download the updated drivers for my X99 Deluxe from the Asus website or will Windows 10 handle that for me? Stuff like Probe Sense, Bluetooth, Intel Chipset etc. etc.

Those all should be good and the only thing I need to hunt down (unless i decide to disable auto updates) would be a Bios Update, correct?

I had to snag the chipset drivers for my X-99A, which is not very dissimilar to the Deluxe.

Right click the start menu, click device manager, and take a look at whatever has a yellow triangle next to it and hunt down the driver for it. I have found that installing the whole driver page for my motherboard just ends up bloating up the install with a bunch of front-end software that I really don't need. Mostly windows just finds what it needs to make it work...save for the chipset on this build.

Quote: Originally Posted by tpi2007 View Post
Computex 2018: 'Ladies and Gentleman, people of all chromatic sensibilities and lighting clownery, we are proud to present the aaarrrrgggeeebeeee Circus Maximus!'
Quote: Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post
I was initially interested in Fallout 76, but my enthusiasm was nuked.
Quote: Originally Posted by rush2049 View Post
If I lob a grenade and die and respawn before it exploded does it still explode?
inedenimadam is offline  
post #8659 of 16735 (permalink) Old 08-01-2015, 05:41 AM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 25,773
Rep: 1243 (Unique: 552)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elbeasto View Post

Ah well, as long as I get on a few ignore lists along the way.

I have aida installed:


I set eventual DRAM to 1.25 as jpmboy said to put it .05mv over spec.

VCCSA is 1.024 and VCCIO is 1.050
Did it work??
Both VCCIOs default to 1.05V. Several of us found that when pushing ram freq (3333 or higher), setting VCCIO to 1.06875V (two notches up on pch and IO) made a major difference in "behavior" . I have had mine set to 1.06875V for 8 or 9 months and have it there with the 8 sticks I'm currently running.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
Rampage VI Apex / 7980XE / 2 Titan V / 32GB 4000C16/Corsair AX1500i/Intel 900P

For Sale
X299
(25 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370 Z390
(23 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
7740X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299 Gaming
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
9700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
GPU
Titan V
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #8660 of 16735 (permalink) Old 08-01-2015, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Been playing around with this stressapp as has Praz. Best test we've used for memory so far. Nothing else comes close (forget HCI).

Google stressapp test via Linux Mint (or another compatible Linux disti) is the best memory stress test available. Google use this stress test to evaluate memory stability of their servers – nothing more needs to be said about how valid that makes this as a stress test tool.


Install Linux Mint from here: http://www.linuxmint.com/download.php


Install the Google Stress App test from here:


http://community.linuxmint.com/software/view/stressapptest


Once installed open “Terminal” and type the following:


stressapptest -W -s 3600


This will run the stressapp for one hour. The test will log any errors as it runs. This test is more stringent than Memtest for DOS, Memtest for Windows and any other memory test we have used so far.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off