790i Ultra NVIDIA chipset - Still rockin' in 2015 / 2016 / 2017.. will it ever die? - Page 84 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

790i Ultra NVIDIA chipset - Still rockin' in 2015 / 2016 / 2017.. will it ever die?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #831 of 868 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 09:40 AM
Are you sure about that?
 
TwilightRavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: OBX, North Carolina
Posts: 979
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by rluker5 View Post
Compatibility may depend on the brand. I can't get an Aorus 1080ti to display a video output over plx with legacy bios (uefi works fine, but that card will switch what video outputs are active depending on which are connected, so it is trying to do too much and I'm guesing it needs uefi for that). I also couldn't get sapphire nitro furys to cfx over plx, but they cfx over non plx just fine. But it is good to know your brand is good.
Yeah they both work, but to point out that going between the 1070 and 1080 on my 790i there was zero fps difference in games, of course that’s the QX9650 holding it back but just thought i’d point that out because its not worth spending the extra $100 for the 1080 on this platform unless you are doing purely synthetics. Hell was playing an extremely modded Skyrim last night and there was 0 fps difference between ultra low settings and Ultra High, but that’s because of the cpu bottleneck, I may crank it up to 1440p but I’m not sure how well a 1070 can handle that, all things considered i’m pretty much running all 2k and 4k textures even Static Mesh Improvement is at either 2k and 4k and that ups polygon count tremendously, just to try and make the game look good along with trying to get the GPU utilized more.

"If I bought an RTX 2080 ti, I couldn't even afford to think or breathe, let alone pay bills."
"If you haven't killed a motherboard lately, you're not pushing it hard enough."
LGA 775 *Updated*
(17 items)
LGA 1150
(16 items)
Z97 Replacement
(11 items)
CPU
Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor QX9650 4.05GHz (1.42v) 450 x 9
Motherboard
EVGA nForce 790i SLI Ultra (132-CK-NF79)
GPU
MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G (1110/1625)
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 660 ACX (PhysX)
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3 2 x 4GB (8GB) 1800MHz (9-9-9-24 CR1) 1.675v
Hard Drive
Kingston A400 2.5" SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX400 SSD 512GB
Hard Drive
Crucial M500 SSD 960GB
Power Supply
Thermaltake White 80+
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB
Case
Fractal Design Focus G
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (x64)
Operating System
Xubuntu 18.04 LTS 64-bit
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy RGB
Mouse
Logitec M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-5775C 4.4GHz (1.4v)
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1 (LGA 1150)
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Superclocked 2.1GHz (boost) 1325MHz GDDR5X
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 4 x 8GB (32GB) 2400MHz 11-13-13-31-2T (1.675v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HDD 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM850 850W 80+ Gold Efficiency
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Case
Corsair Carbide Clear 400C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
42” HDTV (Temporary)
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy (RGB Illuminated)
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra
Other
Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Other
Xbox One Wireless Controller for Windows w/ Wireless USB dongle
CPU
i7-6900K @ 4.5GHz 1.425v
Motherboard
MSI X99A Gaming Pro Carbon
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Superclocked FTW
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600MHz 4 x 8GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro M.2 SSD 512GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 4TB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 850W P2
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy
Mouse
Logitech Gaming Mouse
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by TwilightRavens; 04-21-2019 at 09:44 AM.
TwilightRavens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #832 of 868 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 04:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
No matter the updates ,the 1660,1660ti and 20xx series would never be able to function with n790i. And that's why

"Turing refers to the GPU being used in the 1660 | 1660ti | 2K series.

The 1K series uses Pascal. " , as nvidia stated.

Unless someone modifies mobo's bios ,adding vga roms and microcodes no happy ending. I think that 1080ti is the absolute graphical limit of our boards gentleman.
schumimx5 is offline  
post #833 of 868 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,707
Rep: 500 (Unique: 265)
Quote: Originally Posted by schumimx5 View Post
No matter the updates ,the 1660,1660ti and 20xx series would never be able to function with n790i. And that's why

"Turing refers to the GPU being used in the 1660 | 1660ti | 2K series.

The 1K series uses Pascal. " , as nvidia stated.

Unless someone modifies mobo's bios ,adding vga roms and microcodes no happy ending. I think that 1080ti is the absolute graphical limit of our boards gentleman.
Thanks, edited the OP to mention this issue specifically.

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #834 of 868 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 07:01 PM
Not a linux lobbyist
 
rluker5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,621
Rep: 43 (Unique: 34)
Quote: Originally Posted by TwilightRavens View Post
Yeah they both work, but to point out that going between the 1070 and 1080 on my 790i there was zero fps difference in games, of course that’s the QX9650 holding it back but just thought i’d point that out because its not worth spending the extra $100 for the 1080 on this platform unless you are doing purely synthetics. Hell was playing an extremely modded Skyrim last night and there was 0 fps difference between ultra low settings and Ultra High, but that’s because of the cpu bottleneck, I may crank it up to 1440p but I’m not sure how well a 1070 can handle that, all things considered i’m pretty much running all 2k and 4k textures even Static Mesh Improvement is at either 2k and 4k and that ups polygon count tremendously, just to try and make the game look good along with trying to get the GPU utilized more.
You've got nothing to lose by trying. You could try AC Unity on it, it's free for a bit and it seemed like a cakewalk for my 5950 and I had to reduce graphics settings for my 1080ti with 4k.
I used to like modding Skyrim, but it got to the point that I didn't want my daughter to walk in on me playing it so it fell by the wayside.

L5
(18 items)
Lea2
(11 items)
L7
(11 items)
CPU
5950hq
Motherboard
z97 Classified
GPU
Aorus 1080ti Waterforce
RAM
16 G Gskill Trident @ 2400,cas10,1.575v
RAM
16 G Team Extreme @ 2400,cas10,1.575v
Hard Drive
2xSamsung 840 EVO 250G
Hard Drive
seagate barracuda 3T
Hard Drive
Optane 900p 480G OS
Optical Drive
Asus BW-16D1HT
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 1300 G2
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 120 (cpu)
Cooling
2 140mm case fans, 2 120mm
Case
Fractal Design R4 (no window)
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
panasonic TC-58AX800U
Audio
Focal Elear
Audio
SoundbasterX AE-5
Other
Megatron
CPU
4770k
Motherboard
Asus Z87 Deluxe
GPU
Fury Nitro
RAM
8Gb patriot 1600mhz
Hard Drive
ROG Raidr 240Gb pcie
Hard Drive
1Tb WD blue
Power Supply
Pc Power&Cooling silencer Mk2 950w
Cooling
Deepcool Lucifer V2
Case
DIYPC P48-W
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
40"tv
CPU
4980hq
Motherboard
Asus H81T/CSM
RAM
16GB 1600 generic
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 evo 120gb
Power Supply
Skyvast 90w brick for hp pavilion something
Cooling
SilverStone Tek Super Slim
Case
SilverStone Tek PT13B
Operating System
W10 64 pro
Monitor
50" samsung plasma 720p
Keyboard
Logitech K400+
Other
Intel wifi ac card and noname antennas
▲ hide details ▲
rluker5 is offline  
post #835 of 868 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 10:05 PM
Are you sure about that?
 
TwilightRavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: OBX, North Carolina
Posts: 979
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by rluker5 View Post
You've got nothing to lose by trying. You could try AC Unity on it, it's free for a bit and it seemed like a cakewalk for my 5950 and I had to reduce graphics settings for my 1080ti with 4k.
I used to like modding Skyrim, but it got to the point that I didn't want my daughter to walk in on me playing it so it fell by the wayside.
Yeah but this isn't my Broadwell lol, no L4 to back me up in this, or L3 even now that I think about it lol. Just good old L2 and Yorkfield clocked at 4GHz with some 1333MHz memory. I really want a X5470 and some faster RAM so I can clock this thing to the moon.

"If I bought an RTX 2080 ti, I couldn't even afford to think or breathe, let alone pay bills."
"If you haven't killed a motherboard lately, you're not pushing it hard enough."
LGA 775 *Updated*
(17 items)
LGA 1150
(16 items)
Z97 Replacement
(11 items)
CPU
Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor QX9650 4.05GHz (1.42v) 450 x 9
Motherboard
EVGA nForce 790i SLI Ultra (132-CK-NF79)
GPU
MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G (1110/1625)
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 660 ACX (PhysX)
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3 2 x 4GB (8GB) 1800MHz (9-9-9-24 CR1) 1.675v
Hard Drive
Kingston A400 2.5" SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX400 SSD 512GB
Hard Drive
Crucial M500 SSD 960GB
Power Supply
Thermaltake White 80+
Cooling
Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB
Case
Fractal Design Focus G
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 (x64)
Operating System
Xubuntu 18.04 LTS 64-bit
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy RGB
Mouse
Logitec M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
Other
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-5775C 4.4GHz (1.4v)
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1 (LGA 1150)
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Superclocked 2.1GHz (boost) 1325MHz GDDR5X
RAM
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 4 x 8GB (32GB) 2400MHz 11-13-13-31-2T (1.675v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo SATA III SSD 120GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HDD 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM850 850W 80+ Gold Efficiency
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Case
Corsair Carbide Clear 400C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
42” HDTV (Temporary)
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy (RGB Illuminated)
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Mouse
Other
Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra
Other
Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Other
Xbox One Wireless Controller for Windows w/ Wireless USB dongle
CPU
i7-6900K @ 4.5GHz 1.425v
Motherboard
MSI X99A Gaming Pro Carbon
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Superclocked FTW
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3600MHz 4 x 8GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro M.2 SSD 512GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 4TB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 850W P2
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy
Mouse
Logitech Gaming Mouse
▲ hide details ▲
TwilightRavens is offline  
post #836 of 868 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 04:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
the matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: england
Posts: 247
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hello all, I'm considering picking up an older dell 790i board from a friend for the grand total of £15, now, i see allot of people making mention of running xeons with these boards, and while I'm aware that the xeon mod is pretty common, I do have a question relating to this, I've not done the mod before myself but I am confident that I will be able to do it without any issues, however, my question is relating to the bios, does this mod require adding any kind of micro code to the bios or what have you or is it just a kinda 'snip the lugs out of the socket and put the sticker on then it's a drop in upgrade' kinda thing?

Also for ram are these boards particularly picky? or can I get away with some cheap stuff off of ebay? this is only going to be as a cheap system for the other halves and something to play around with while im there really so I wouldn't want to sink 'too' much money into it if I'm having to look for super specific ram or what have you

TIA

honestly I change hardware so often it's not worth listing

Last edited by the matty; 05-23-2019 at 04:58 PM. Reason: missed a question out oops
the matty is online now  
post #837 of 868 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,707
Rep: 500 (Unique: 265)
Quote: Originally Posted by the matty View Post
Hello all, I'm considering picking up an older dell 790i board from a friend for the grand total of £15, now, i see allot of people making mention of running xeons with these boards, and while I'm aware that the xeon mod is pretty common, I do have a question relating to this, I've not done the mod before myself but I am confident that I will be able to do it without any issues, however, my question is relating to the bios, does this mod require adding any kind of micro code to the bios or what have you or is it just a kinda 'snip the lugs out of the socket and put the sticker on then it's a drop in upgrade' kinda thing?

Also for ram are these boards particularly picky? or can I get away with some cheap stuff off of ebay? this is only going to be as a cheap system for the other halves and something to play around with while im there really so I wouldn't want to sink 'too' much money into it if I'm having to look for super specific ram or what have you

TIA
Hi there. The MOD requires a physical mod in addition to the BIOS MOD. The microcodes for the XEON are missing since they are 771 CPUs and not 775 CPUs, they just need to be added. You can check out this thread for some info on the BIOS mod. https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-in...-775-bios.html

@schuck6566 will take good care of you!

PS. RAM is always a challenge with 790i however there is a LOT of good info here in this thread of specific memory modules known to work as well as ways to get beyond the 8GB limitation. I suspect if you just search this thread for the word "memory" you'll find it fairly easily. It can be very difficult to find "officially" supported memory since those were "SLI" back when DDR3 first came out and used 1.7v-2.0v which is of course higher than what you will find on sale today. 1.65v memory seems to be OK but I would avoid 1.5v ram.

Also don't bother buying faster memory, with (4) DIMMs installed you really cannot run the memory much past 1600Mhz anyway (2000Mhz is only supported with (2) DIMMs)

Good luck!

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
post #838 of 868 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 07:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
the matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: england
Posts: 247
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)

Quote: Originally Posted by Laithan View Post
Hi there. The MOD requires a physical mod in addition to the BIOS MOD. The microcodes for the XEON are missing since they are 771 CPUs and not 775 CPUs, they just need to be added. You can check out this thread for some info on the BIOS mod. https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-in...-775-bios.html

@schuck6566 will take good care of you!

PS. RAM is always a challenge with 790i however there is a LOT of good info here in this thread of specific memory modules known to work as well as ways to get beyond the 8GB limitation. I suspect if you just search this thread for the word "memory" you'll find it fairly easily. It can be very difficult to find "officially" supported memory since those were "SLI" back when DDR3 first came out and used 1.7v-2.0v which is of course higher than what you will find on sale today. 1.65v memory seems to be OK but I would avoid 1.5v ram.

Also don't bother buying faster memory, with (4) DIMMs installed you really cannot run the memory much past 1600Mhz anyway (2000Mhz is only supported with (2) DIMMs)

Good luck!
Many thanks, I will have a gander into that, seems I'll have to buy a cheapo core 2 duo in order to flash the bios in that case but that'll be fine since they're so cheap now, I was aware of the hard mod to the socket cutting out the little plastic locating lug parts though having never done the mod before I wasn't sure if it needed a bios mod, many thanks for clearing that up for me

ahh many thanks

ahh I'll have to keep an eye out for some 1.65v stuff in that case, could probably get away with getting maybe a 3x2gb kit of older dominators cheap and then find another singular one, 1866MHz stuff since that'd tend to run on 1.65v though honestly i wouldn't be expecting to hit that on 4 dimms, ideally I'd just want to get it running with a reasonable overclock on the cpu and 8gb of ram with maybe an upgrade to 16gb at a later date but not set in stone since that'd only really be used for like two tabs of opera or another light browser and a game most likely so that should be fine on 8gb all things considered and would be a massive upgrade from the G45 shuttle I have at the other halves place which is just a pentium 4, 8gb of DDR2 and a hd5450, though the psu in that thing is kinda limiting, this way at least i can throw a spare psu at the thing and say a 7970 or something for a half decent system

Many thanks in advance i appreciate all of your help and the helpful stuff in this thread that I've managed to read up to so far.
the matty is online now  
post #839 of 868 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 08:07 PM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,505
Rep: 93 (Unique: 60)
Quote: Originally Posted by the matty View Post
Many thanks, I will have a gander into that, seems I'll have to buy a cheapo core 2 duo in order to flash the bios in that case but that'll be fine since they're so cheap now, I was aware of the hard mod to the socket cutting out the little plastic locating lug parts though having never done the mod before I wasn't sure if it needed a bios mod, many thanks for clearing that up for me

ahh many thanks

ahh I'll have to keep an eye out for some 1.65v stuff in that case, could probably get away with getting maybe a 3x2gb kit of older dominators cheap and then find another singular one, 1866MHz stuff since that'd tend to run on 1.65v though honestly i wouldn't be expecting to hit that on 4 dimms, ideally I'd just want to get it running with a reasonable overclock on the cpu and 8gb of ram with maybe an upgrade to 16gb at a later date but not set in stone since that'd only really be used for like two tabs of opera or another light browser and a game most likely so that should be fine on 8gb all things considered and would be a massive upgrade from the G45 shuttle I have at the other halves place which is just a pentium 4, 8gb of DDR2 and a hd5450, though the psu in that thing is kinda limiting, this way at least i can throw a spare psu at the thing and say a 7970 or something for a half decent system

Many thanks in advance i appreciate all of your help and the helpful stuff in this thread that I've managed to read up to so far.
Here's where you can find 2 popular bios (XFX & EVGA that are force flashed onto the dell boards with instructions. Also look further back in here for andreyGTA's postings about his work with the dell board. https://www.overclock.net/forum/27042913-post213.html
schuck6566 is offline  
post #840 of 868 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 09:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
the matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: england
Posts: 247
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by schuck6566 View Post
Here's where you can find 2 popular bios (XFX & EVGA that are force flashed onto the dell boards with instructions. Also look further back in here for andreyGTA's postings about his work with the dell board. https://www.overclock.net/forum/27042913-post213.html
brilliant thanks! I'll have a gander into this, my friend offered me a QX9650 and 4gb of ram with the board for an extra 20 quid so 30 quid all in for the 790i board anmd 4x1gb of ram seems a win to me, could get a tenner for the ram i reckon to put toward 8gb of 1.65v stuff and away we go, but a xeon would be much nicer and can keep the QX9650 as spare or something, I'm not familiar with flashing bioses through 2000/NT but im sure there are plenty of guides on the internet

Many thanks

honestly I change hardware so often it's not worth listing
the matty is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off