ASUS X99 Sabertooth Owners Thread - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS X99 Sabertooth Owners Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-22-2015, 02:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KcHaZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
@ DarkIdeals...

Here's my recent build in a Fractal Design R5 Case...and yeah I know the H100 Corsair heatsink is upside down...I'll flip it over one of these days...just a "d'oh" moment after building late into the night last month smile.gif

Anyway...


Full system is


Fractal Design R5 Case
SeaSonic Gold 1050 Watt PSU
Asus Sabertooth X99

1 x 512 gb Samsung 850 EVO as OS/Applications drive

2 x WD Red 4tb in RAID 1 for photo and data storage

1 x 512 gb Samsung 850 Evo SSD as scratch disk for photoshop, lightroom and all things Adobe and for Vegas pro 13 video editing

1 x 512 gb Samsung 850 EVO as OS/Applications drive

32 gigs Corsair Vengeance DDR 4 2400 @ mild 2666

eVGA 980 Hybrid watercooled GPU

Intel i7-5820K CPU @ Mild 3.8 cooled with Corsair H105 kit

Don't know squat about Ocing other than a few simple tweaks, but have lurked here for a long time (great community) and just saw this thread about pics..

So there's one more pic for ya!

KcHaZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-22-2015, 09:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarkIdeals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,256
Rep: 60 (Unique: 45)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KcHaZ View Post

@ DarkIdeals...

Here's my recent build in a Fractal Design R5 Case...and yeah I know the H100 Corsair heatsink is upside down...I'll flip it over one of these days...just a "d'oh" moment after building late into the night last month smile.gif

Anyway...


Full system is


Fractal Design R5 Case
SeaSonic Gold 1050 Watt PSU
Asus Sabertooth X99

1 x 512 gb Samsung 850 EVO as OS/Applications drive

2 x WD Red 4tb in RAID 1 for photo and data storage

1 x 512 gb Samsung 850 Evo SSD as scratch disk for photoshop, lightroom and all things Adobe and for Vegas pro 13 video editing

1 x 512 gb Samsung 850 EVO as OS/Applications drive

32 gigs Corsair Vengeance DDR 4 2400 @ mild 2666

eVGA 980 Hybrid watercooled GPU

Intel i7-5820K CPU @ Mild 3.8 cooled with Corsair H105 kit

Don't know squat about Ocing other than a few simple tweaks, but have lurked here for a long time (great community) and just saw this thread about pics..

So there's one more pic for ya!


Thanks alot thumb.gif

I ended up getting a Rampage V Extreme though, i wanted to OC my 5960X so i bought a used one that hits 4.5ghz @ 1.3v which was cheaper so i could afford a new Rampage V Extreme; just waiting for it to arrive (damn B&H lying about "expedited" shipping, turns out it's just standard UPS Ground 5 day sozo.gif )

I do like the look of the Sabertooth though, especially the little VRM cooling fan, i also love the dust covers for the PCI/RAM etc..

I also got a set of 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 2666mhz C15 RAM that i'll be OCing to 2800/3000 C15 by raising from 1.2v to 1.35v. I should most likely be able to pump the 5960X from 4.5Ghz @ 1.3v core (1.9v input voltage, 100 BCLK, 4Ghz Uncore/cache) up to 4.6Ghz if i raise it to around 1.35v core, 1.95v input and maybe activate XMP for a 125 BCLK which sometimes makes haswell-e OCing easier to do when reaching for high numbers.

Honestly overclocking really isn't that hard if you know the basics. with your 5820K and H105 cooler you could definitely get a ~4.2-4.4ghz overclock out of it pretty easily i imagine as 6 cores are easier to OC than the 8 core 5960X which on average only hits 4.4ghz even with full on water cooling like my setup.

I would try raising your regular core voltage up to 1.3v, perhaps 1.32v, then raise your input voltage to between 1.85 and 1.9v, keep the BCLK at 100 if you can help it, then raise the uncore/cache (whatever the Sabertooth bios calls it) to around 200-300mhz less than your multiplier (so if you're going for 4.3Ghz, you'd have a 43x multiplier so you'd want to leave uncore/cache at around 3.9/4.0Ghz or so)


I think you'd do just fine with a 4.3ghz overclock with those settings of 43x multiplier, 1.3v, 1.85v input voltage, 100 BCLK, and 3.9ghz uncore/cache. The 5820K can actually hit around 4.6-4.7ghz if you get a good chip without too much trouble.

"Meanwhile, in AMorDor, Lisa Su-rons all seing eye, in secret...crafts an ultimate, inneficient, cache sharing processor of evil....yes....one 32nm ancient architecture to rule them all!! Using an army of 5.5Ghz (6ghz turbo) FX 9999 569w TDP 32 modul....er..core...CPUs to sweep down upon the kingdoms of Mentel and the Elven fortress of Nvideandell!" -Excerpt, The Lord of the Cores by C.P.U. Trollin
DarkIdeals is offline  
post #33 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-22-2015, 10:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KcHaZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Awesome! Many thanks for the info!

KcHaZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-23-2015, 03:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DarkIdeals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,256
Rep: 60 (Unique: 45)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KcHaZ View Post

Awesome! Many thanks for the info!


Yeah no problem. I'll let you know how my overclocking works on the 5960X, might give you some more useful info on failure points of overclocks etc.. I'm gonna buy some coollaboratory liquid ultra for the 5960X instead of normal TIM, which should lower the temps a bit over regular paste; might give me an advantage in overclockability.

"Meanwhile, in AMorDor, Lisa Su-rons all seing eye, in secret...crafts an ultimate, inneficient, cache sharing processor of evil....yes....one 32nm ancient architecture to rule them all!! Using an army of 5.5Ghz (6ghz turbo) FX 9999 569w TDP 32 modul....er..core...CPUs to sweep down upon the kingdoms of Mentel and the Elven fortress of Nvideandell!" -Excerpt, The Lord of the Cores by C.P.U. Trollin
DarkIdeals is offline  
post #35 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-26-2015, 07:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cbddvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
New BIOS suporting 16GB DDR4 memory modules!!!
http://www.asus.com/es/supportonly/SABERTOOTH%20X99/HelpDesk_Download/
(spain page, sorry)
Awesome board with 5820K.
Any have a overclocked 5820K on this board?
Can you post your settings in the board, CPU frecuency and voltage etc?
My 5820K is overclocked at 4Ghz with 1.14V, tested on OCCT
Is good?
cbddvd is offline  
post #36 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-26-2015, 08:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
KcHaZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbddvd View Post

New BIOS suporting 16GB DDR4 memory modules!!!
http://www.asus.com/es/supportonly/SABERTOOTH%20X99/HelpDesk_Download/
(spain page, sorry)
Awesome board with 5820K.
Any have a overclocked 5820K on this board?
Can you post your settings in the board, CPU frecuency and voltage etc?
My 5820K is overclocked at 4Ghz with 1.14V, tested on OCCT
Is good?

Wonder why there is no BIOS update on US site?

Think I'll wait unless others here have tried it and verified if there are more than just the RAM update included (ir new BIOS settings,. tweaks, stability improvements etc)

Anyone else try this?

Thanks

KcHaZ is offline  
post #37 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-26-2015, 01:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
snow cakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 2,388
Rep: 61 (Unique: 59)
well, its been up and running, for the rest of you gents who are thinking about purchasing this board, its absolutely amazing... so far flawless, from the time I power up until i login to windows is under 10 seconds.



snow cakes is offline  
post #38 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-27-2015, 08:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
KcHaZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Question about newest BIOS 1802...

After flashing to this BIOS (From US site) I needed to go back into BIOS and reconfigure a few tweaks like XMP, adjust my DDR speeds and CPU. Rechecked to make sure it was booting in ACHI mode, set BIOS to boot into advanced mode etc etc...

After rebooting I get a flashing cursor (after splash screen) and then it goes right back into BIOS...I can reproduce this aver and over. Only way to get to windows was to go to boot menu and to a bot override by clicking on my SSD Boot drive...

I even went back to BIOS 1701 but the problem remains...anyone have any ideas on how to fix this as it's rather annoying?

FYI -- I turned off fast boot features as well to see if it would help but no avail....any ideas
?

KcHaZ is offline  
post #39 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-27-2015, 09:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Plymouth, Minnesota
Posts: 547
Rep: 25 (Unique: 24)
My 5960X was fried so I'm off the Sabertooth bandwagon (ASUS). Had a CPU high voltage warning when booting up and now dead. The night before computer ran fine so the OC socket I feel is buggy.

I went with a MSI Krait Edition board now so I'll see how this works out. Other people are having issues too with this happening.

GAMING MACHINE
(16 items)
CPU
INTEL 5960X
Motherboard
EVGA X99 MICRO 2
GPU
EVGA 2080 SUPER FTW3 Hydro Copper
RAM
Corsair Vengeance 3200 LPX 32GB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 850 EVO SSD
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2 SUPERNOVA
Cooling
Custom water cooling
Case
CORSAIR CARBIDE 750D
Operating System
Windows 10 HOME
Monitor
ASUS 27" 144Hz monitor
Monitor
ASUS 24" 4K
Monitor
ASUS 24" 4K
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K90
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
▲ hide details ▲
Wenty is offline  
post #40 of 2104 (permalink) Old 06-27-2015, 10:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
PinkSlippers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 123
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wenty View Post

My 5960X was fried so I'm off the Sabertooth bandwagon (ASUS). Had a CPU high voltage warning when booting up and now dead. The night before computer ran fine so the OC socket I feel is buggy.

I went with a MSI Krait Edition board now so I'll see how this works out. Other people are having issues too with this happening.

What bios version were you on?

PinkSlippers is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off