[Official] ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS Owner's thread - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS Owner's thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-23-2015, 04:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
Zakkorn Level 1
 
Zakkorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhuey5 View Post

Realflow has its own sw design issues
perhaps it hates hyperthreading and has a limit to how many cores it uses

http://www.realflow.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=658
http://www.realflow.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=2302
http://www.realflow.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=579

Did u inquire with your video card mfr, Asus Support n forum, Intel Cpu Support, Kingston Support?
Cards n Chips are mfr to +/- tolerances besides defects
so Imagine having parts on the - tolerances that would produces inefficiency
some customers get their parts changed out for various reasons but tests needs to be done prior to the RMA

Some Video cards can be incompatible with motherboards

Did u originally run benchmarks, gpu Test, memory testing burning to see if it runs fine under standard defaults and minor Base OC??

When you first built the system, did you update all drivers and BIOS to the latest version?
Of course BIOS updates are to be done carefully; only update if it addresses your problems
Sometimes when Updating BIOS you need to double check all settings are correct.

Some BIOS set the memory at a lower speed so you might need to set it at the 2133 speed.
Did you double check the CPU BIOS settings?

Updating to W10 just gave you an update GTX Driver

On one of the youtube videos others said to keep your video cards on the CPU1 slots so that communication between GPUs is more efficient
try out both on CPU1(one 16x one 8x) CPU1 slots or two on 16x CPU1 Slots

If you look at the block diagram CPU1 is really the computer itself and CPU2 is really used to run in memory programming
so perhaps that describes Realflow preference to CPU1

My other system was built according to mb mfr suggested parts.
It runs a bit slower than other Benchmarked builds I'm glad to not run into defects

Of course since the day I built the system I have upgrade every component to the latest update.
Bios is 1001 (and I began from 602)
The windows 10 resolve the issue not the drivers that came with it.
I know because I test the drivers before I update to Windows 10. (I had 8.1)

The GPU is on CPU 1 slot on mb
And at the end I said that this issue has been resolved.

And the memory runs on 2133MHz

As I said the benchmarks as well show that something is wrong with the system.
Its not Realflow only issue. Realflow put a question-mark on my brain, about whats wrong with my system.
But the benchmarks wPrime and AIDA64 showed that clearly something is wrong.
As I have lower scores than less powerful dual Xeon systems.

For your info I have already changed my motherboard once as the previous had a problem with the PCI slots
But even that had the same performance issues.

Thats why I am asking again
Could the BIOS settings (something that I put wrong) be responsible for such issues?
Or something else, like a component, could be defected?

Regards
Zack
Zakkorn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-23-2015, 06:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
hhuey5 Level 1
 
hhuey5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 930
Stuttering issues w Titan X
I would not be blaming Win8.1 o.w. there should be a lot of complaints about it
https://www.reddit.com/r/GrandTheftAutoV_PC/comments/35bg1z/stuttering_with_titan_x/
The above reddit dialog should give you general understanding
Its also a good learning experience to understand whats going on

assuming your engineering tests is functioning within memory (64gb) then no HDD paging has occurred
assuming your using SSD then you should not be hitting any i/o bound issues

Your basically asking to do component testing

checking CPU are at spec, gpu are at spec. memory are at spec, SSD at spec

I hope you been doing standard bench marking burn in tests

I usually start off with pretty much standard setting that everything should be at spec.
Meaning resetting the UEFI\BIOS to factory and make adjustment to those setting if needed to make things work.

ie: Memory 2133 CL settings Voltage settings (Auto vs Manual)
Using sw to report and confirm memory is set properly

Memory BIOS has a couple things Speed, CL settings, Voltage, each speed has certain standard settings that sometimes need to be set
usually during system test you go thru each settings and collect results of running various benchmarks (8hr tests)
* 1600 CL1 Voltage1
* 1833 CL2 Voltage3
* 2133 CL3 Voltage3
http://www.overclock3d.net/articles/memory/how_to_manually_set_up_your_ram_speed_timings_and_voltage/1

if you suspect memory problems then you need to test the system two\four sticks at a time until you located the defective memory
Win 10 is nice enough to provide memory testing
running the memory speed \ apps test will help you know how each stick group is performing according to spec

CPU Tests
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/19792/Intel-Processor-Diagnostic-Tool-64-bit-

once you got your system working with standard setting then its feel free to OC certain components at your own risk or not do so if not needed
hhuey5 is offline  
post #13 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-23-2015, 06:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
hhuey5 Level 1
 
hhuey5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshuaB123 View Post

You should allow owners who have a D16-WS, instead of the D8-WS to join aswell, also in the first post you have X99-WS Owners Club, not Z10PE-D8/D16 Owners Club.. biggrin.gif

I think the other nice thing of having the owners club is to find out if a lot of ppl are having lots of MB problems
I expect that after two or three version they should have gotten things right

yeah Xeon ownership is a pioneer area lot of arrows in our backs

I'm curious if there is Mac Pro Cylinder Owners Club like to hear how many problems they have.
hhuey5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-24-2015, 04:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
Zakkorn Level 1
 
Zakkorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhuey5 View Post

Stuttering issues w Titan X
I would not be blaming Win8.1 o.w. there should be a lot of complaints about it
https://www.reddit.com/r/GrandTheftAutoV_PC/comments/35bg1z/stuttering_with_titan_x/
The above reddit dialog should give you general understanding
Its also a good learning experience to understand whats going on

assuming your engineering tests is functioning within memory (64gb) then no HDD paging has occurred
assuming your using SSD then you should not be hitting any i/o bound issues

Your basically asking to do component testing

checking CPU are at spec, gpu are at spec. memory are at spec, SSD at spec

I hope you been doing standard bench marking burn in tests

I usually start off with pretty much standard setting that everything should be at spec.
Meaning resetting the UEFI\BIOS to factory and make adjustment to those setting if needed to make things work.

ie: Memory 2133 CL settings Voltage settings (Auto vs Manual)
Using sw to report and confirm memory is set properly

Memory BIOS has a couple things Speed, CL settings, Voltage, each speed has certain standard settings that sometimes need to be set
usually during system test you go thru each settings and collect results of running various benchmarks (8hr tests)
* 1600 CL1 Voltage1
* 1833 CL2 Voltage3
* 2133 CL3 Voltage3
http://www.overclock3d.net/articles/memory/how_to_manually_set_up_your_ram_speed_timings_and_voltage/1

if you suspect memory problems then you need to test the system two\four sticks at a time until you located the defective memory
Win 10 is nice enough to provide memory testing
running the memory speed \ apps test will help you know how each stick group is performing according to spec

CPU Tests
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/19792/Intel-Processor-Diagnostic-Tool-64-bit-

once you got your system working with standard setting then its feel free to OC certain components at your own risk or not do so if not needed

Once again forget the Titan X stuttering as I said its ok now.

I do not want / wish to OC my system

My main issue is why I have lower performance than less powerful Xeon in wPrime and in AIDA64

My system is stable, but slower in those benchmarks.

Why systems with similar amount of threads have much better performance. We are talking in wPrime about 4-8 times faster than my system

Is there any BIOS setting I have to look?

Regards
Zack
Zakkorn is offline  
post #15 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-24-2015, 09:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
hhuey5 Level 1
 
hhuey5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 930
since you fail to understand advice on how to debug or investigate whats causing your system to be slower
whether its cpu, memory, mb must be investigated
where through the part of the investigation is to reset the uefi to factory and then proceed to make setting changes if needed to make the system run (but don't go as far to cause inefficiency)
where tests are run to investigate why you have the problem
that will help you determine what part or setting is causing the problem

sometimes going thru text book procedures you may learn what setting that should not have been fooled with
sometimes you may find out things got fixed
sometimes you may find out it was that one thing that was touch or not touched that made the system run normal

most systems should run normally with minimal changes to the UEFI settings after reset
( even updating BIOS could cause some setting to be changed causing the system to not boot up or something not right)

o.w. you need hands on help to check out your system if you don't know how to do system check out \ debugging \ burn-in testing
that extra knowledge is the difference between buying a service to make a customized system that works and is supported vs building yourself and not knowing how to care for your system in case of trouble
hhuey5 is offline  
post #16 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-24-2015, 04:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
hhuey5 Level 1
 
hhuey5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 930
comparing your old sys to new
http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Xeon-E5-2690-v3-vs-Intel-Core-i7-920
it should be 22.22% faster on the single core test
it should be 50% faster on an all cores test

CPU Tests
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/19792/Intel-Processor-Diagnostic-Tool-64-bit-

During your first month if the cpu were underperforming, did u make exchanges with your hw source?
All testing of CPU should be on Auto settings, esp if your not doing anything special to the CPU

if you didn't make any cpu exchanges then you need to deal with Intel Support

does your CPU-Z check match to this? on each cpu
http://images.anandtech.com/doci/8679/Intel%20Xeon%20v3%20E5-2690%20v3_575px.png
VID Voltage Range 0.65V–1.30V
core voltage=0.672 volts
multiplier at least 26
bus speed=99.94mhz

Does your memory setting match its required spec?
http://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/KVR21R15D4K4_64.pdf
2133
1.2V
CL=15
hhuey5 is offline  
post #17 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-24-2015, 09:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
JoshuaB123 Level 1
 
JoshuaB123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Bahamas, 25°4′N 77°20′W
Posts: 543
Anyone know if you have to use ECC ram with these mobos? Specially the D16? Both of these boards are almost identical correct?

Edit: I really don't need ECC, regular ram is good enough for me.
JoshuaB123 is offline  
post #18 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-24-2015, 11:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
hhuey5 Level 1
 
hhuey5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 930
I've been google checking Xeon ECC and they say its not required

the board
Memory Support
Type DDR4 ECC Registered
Maximum Speed 2133 MHz
Number of Slots 16
Maximum Size per Slot 64 GB
Maximum Amount Supported 1024 GB

Memory Type :
DDR4 2133 /1866*/1600/1333 RDIMM*
DDR4 2133 /1866*/1600/1333 LRDIMM*
DDR4 2133 /1866*/1600/1333 NVDIMM*
Memory Size :
32GB, 16GB, 8GB, 4GB RDIMM
64GB, 32GB LRDIMMMemory Type :
DDR4 2133 /1866*/1600/1333 RDIMM*
DDR4 2133 /1866*/1600/1333 LRDIMM*
DDR4 2133 /1866*/1600/1333 NVDIMM*
Memory Size :
32GB, 16GB, 8GB, 4GB RDIMM
64GB, 32GB LRDIMM

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Advantages-of-ECC-Memory-520/

according to the article, ECC is more resilient compared to non-ecc


I'd go w what mfr states than to risk in having an unstable system
It be like putting reg Toyota parts into a high performance lexas
hhuey5 is offline  
post #19 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 03:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
Zakkorn Level 1
 
Zakkorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshuaB123 View Post

Anyone know if you have to use ECC ram with these mobos? Specially the D16? Both of these boards are almost identical correct?

Edit: I really don't need ECC, regular ram is good enough for me.

If you use a DUAL processor setup ECC is required if you use single processor then its not required.
Zakkorn is offline  
post #20 of 717 (permalink) Old 08-25-2015, 04:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
Zakkorn Level 1
 
Zakkorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
@hhuey5

Ok because this conversation goes far off of my question.

I will make the question more simple.

In your Z10pe-D8 Ws m/b did you left it at default settings or did you change some settings specifically?

Regards
Zack
Zakkorn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off