Gigabyte Z170 \ H170 \ B150 Discussion, Help and Owners Club ( Ultra durable and Gaming editions ) - Page 111 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte Z170 \ H170 \ B150 Discussion, Help and Owners Club ( Ultra durable and Gaming editions )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1101 of 1739 (permalink) Old 09-20-2016, 03:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
watermanpc85's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 52
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle-i-am View Post

As i found, CPU have no internal limitations on TDP. So if in bios limit is auto, it means no limits.
If you set low limit, your pc wil just shut down when you would get that number. No power throttling, just shut down.

Ok, thanks mate, I now understand why never saw any word about TDP limit when OC'ing...

btw, any idea of what voltage optimization does???

i7 6700K//16Gb 2800Mhz 1,25v Gskill//GA-Z170x-UD3//GTX 1070 Gaming G1//128Gb SSD Micron//2xBarracuda 1,2Tb//NOX Hummer m750
watermanpc85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1102 of 1739 (permalink) Old 10-01-2016, 10:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jason-uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: uk
Posts: 89
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Hi all ,
Do we know if our gaming 7 boards will support the new Kaby lake processors, and if so will it be full support , as its a new chipset as well smile.gif

I7 6700K, Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7 motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Extreme 1080ti , 16gb Kingston 2666mhz ram
Samsung evo 500gb ssd,Sound-Blaster Recon3D PCI-E
Corsair H105,SuperFlower 1200w Platinum PSU
logitech speaker system z906
Jason-uk is offline  
post #1103 of 1739 (permalink) Old 10-01-2016, 12:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jleslie246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 773
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
Anyone here go from ASUS to GIG or GIG to ASUS? Just curious how they differ.

jleslie246 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1104 of 1739 (permalink) Old 10-01-2016, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
stasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,716
Rep: 212 (Unique: 110)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason-uk View Post

Hi all ,
Do we know if our gaming 7 boards will support the new Kaby lake processors, and if so will it be full support , as its a new chipset as well smile.gif
Existing Z170 GB series boards will support Kaby Lake, by BIOS update soon.
biggrin.gif
stasio is offline  
post #1105 of 1739 (permalink) Old 10-02-2016, 02:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MikiMoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 83
Rep: 8 (Unique: 4)
In my opinion the only interesting thing about Kaby Lake will be the optane tech and this won't be supported in our Z170s, at least not as DIMMs.

intel i7-6700K @ 4600 mhz | GigaByte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 @ F22f | Gigabyte GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD | Fast Boot - No CSM | 16 GB DDR4 | Windows 10 Pro x64 UEFI
MikiMoto is offline  
post #1106 of 1739 (permalink) Old 10-02-2016, 03:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Unl33t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Darwin - NT
Posts: 1,657
Rep: 76 (Unique: 67)
Hey guys, just stumbled upon this thread.

Wondering if anyone has some insight as to why my CPU FAN header and chassis fan headers arent powering my fans at all? All fan speeds in the BIOS (fully updated) are set to MAX.

I recently had to RMA my CPU, so i rebuilt my old hardware into the case. then when the CPU got back and rebuilt the system, suddenly none of my fans are working.

Cheers.

Blue Steal
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake 4Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Gaming 3
GPU
Gigabyte RTX 2080Ti Gaming OC 11G
RAM
16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance LPX Black C15 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
250GB Samsung EVO 850 (SSD)
Hard Drive
WD 4TB 5,900rpm
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750W G2 80+ Gold Modular
Cooling
Corsair Hydro H75 (p/p)
Case
NZXT S340 (Black/Blue) + 2x 140mm NZXT Case Fans
Operating System
Windows 10 PRO
Monitor
Acer Predator XB1 28" 4K UHD G-Sync
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Mechanical
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Gigabyte
▲ hide details ▲
Unl33t is offline  
post #1107 of 1739 (permalink) Old 10-05-2016, 10:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sonicboom19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Raise your cpu vccio along with cpu system agent and pll core voltage
sonicboom19 is offline  
post #1108 of 1739 (permalink) Old 10-05-2016, 01:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jason-uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: uk
Posts: 89
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stasio View Post

Existing Z170 GB series boards will support Kaby Lake, by BIOS update soon.
biggrin.gif


Cheers for the inside info stasio ,,, biggrin.gif

I7 6700K, Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7 motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Extreme 1080ti , 16gb Kingston 2666mhz ram
Samsung evo 500gb ssd,Sound-Blaster Recon3D PCI-E
Corsair H105,SuperFlower 1200w Platinum PSU
logitech speaker system z906
Jason-uk is offline  
post #1109 of 1739 (permalink) Old 10-06-2016, 02:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
stasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,716
Rep: 212 (Unique: 110)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason-uk View Post

Cheers for the inside info stasio ,,, biggrin.gif

Gaming 7 & 3 ...F20b on TT forum....KabyLake support.
biggrin.gif
stasio is offline  
post #1110 of 1739 (permalink) Old 10-06-2016, 02:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MikiMoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 83
Rep: 8 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stasio View Post


Gaming 7 & 3 ...F20b on TT forum....KabyLake support.
biggrin.gif

Just wanna warn you if you have an active RAID, one of my HDDs got kicked out of my RAID and I have to add and rebuild that HDD again. Intel RST software is reporting that the port where that HDD was, is no longer availalbe. I think some internal ID's have changed with the RST module update and that's why

That's a big version jump oO

Well another big surprise...



Gigabyte hasn't updated ME Firmware nor RAID drivers in any BIOS so far yet... this is the first time afaik and a big jump...
they even updated the IGPU, the intel LAN modules and microcode for the CPU oO.

For comparison F8:



Flashed it, it has the new GUI and Smart Fan 5 control. Couldn't get my OC to work so i'm not sure if I stay, will try it again later.


Edit: Ok I found out why I couldn't get my PC to boot with OC... till F8 if I set Vcore to normal it is around 1.28 where I would add some positive offset... now with normal it's 1.416 under load! So negaitv offset is needed now, at least for me.
Edit2: Actually I just can't get it to run, if I change anything vcore related it won't boot, if I change anything DRAM timings/frequency related I can't boot...
Edit3: Something is really of with offset voltage in this bios, any value will just make the system unstable doesn't matter what CPU Frequency, what loadline calibration or offset value. Only option that works is Auto for vcore which gives you 1.416 v under load with loadline calibration to normal... I had a lot of weird gui glitches as well and had to reset the cmos 4 times... very instabile unfortunatley

intel i7-6700K @ 4600 mhz | GigaByte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 @ F22f | Gigabyte GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD | Fast Boot - No CSM | 16 GB DDR4 | Windows 10 Pro x64 UEFI
MikiMoto is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off