Asus Z10PE D16 WS Owners Thread - Page 50 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asus Z10PE D16 WS Owners Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #491 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 10:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 73
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by twatson1022 View Post
Just tried with 2 different drives. Both times i let go after the second blink and it blinks once more then stays solid.
This mobo is picky about USB drive, you need to try with any other brand USB drive. I had multiple failed attempts with sandisk ultra, kingston drive. Finally it was successful from my old patriot drive. (I have wasted many hours in figuring this out)
TopM5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #492 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 10:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
twatson1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by TopM5 View Post
This mobo is picky about USB drive, you need to try with any other brand USB drive. I had multiple failed attempts with sandisk ultra, kingston drive. Finally it was successful from my old patriot drive. (I have wasted many hours in figuring this out)
ok tried with some no name brand and a sandisk ultra i got a few others i can try
twatson1022 is offline  
post #493 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 05:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
twatson1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by TopM5 View Post
This mobo is picky about USB drive, you need to try with any other brand USB drive. I had multiple failed attempts with sandisk ultra, kingston drive. Finally it was successful from my old patriot drive. (I have wasted many hours in figuring this out)
I just tried every usb drive i have and not one of them would work. But they all so the same thing when being made they are unsigned bios and that is the only reason i can think it wont work. Is there a way to sign the Bios???

Last edited by twatson1022; 05-26-2019 at 01:41 PM.
twatson1022 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #494 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 06:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 73
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I am using this motherboard with Dual 18c Xeon E5 2686v3. Memory is 6x16GB Samsung ECC reg 2133MHz ( M393A2G40DB0-CPB ). Memory is properly populated according to motherboard manual.

Problem I face is i don't get any memory bandwidth increase when running 6x memory (3 for each CPUs, also tried 4 sticks into slots conmected to CPU1 and 2 sticks for CPU2)
I have done AIDA64 memory read-write-copy test multiple times.
2x memory installed = read speed is approx 31GB/sec. (1 stick for each CPUs).
3x memory installed = read speed is approx 32GB/sec. (2 sticks for CPU1 and 1 for CPU2).
4x memory installed = read speed is approx 60GB/sec. (2 sticks for each CPUs).
5x memory installed = read speed is approx 62GB/sec. (3 sticks for CPU1 and 2 for CPU2).
6x memory installed = read speed is approx 62GB/sec. (3 sticks for each CPUs).

I have flashed multiple BIOS but i get similar performance. Tried few built-in presets like memcached and mWeb. Also tried with NUMA enabled and disabled.
Memory bandwidth in 6ch is similar to as in 4 channels.
Is there any fix for it or i will have to buy 2 more sticks to make total of 8 sticks, so it will work in 8 channels ?

According AIDA64 memory benchmark Dual E5 2660v3 gets approx 105GB/s memory read speed with 8x DDR4 1866R.
TopM5 is offline  
post #495 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-31-2019, 10:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
twatson1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by TopM5 View Post
This mobo is picky about USB drive, you need to try with any other brand USB drive. I had multiple failed attempts with sandisk ultra, kingston drive. Finally it was successful from my old patriot drive. (I have wasted many hours in figuring this out)
You wouldn't happen to remember what type usb drive you used would you?

I'm going to try and downgrade the bios and then upgrade it with the modified Bios. and see if that helps.
twatson1022 is offline  
post #496 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-31-2019, 10:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 73
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by twatson1022 View Post
You wouldn't happen to remember what type usb drive you used would you?



I'm going to try and downgrade the bios and then upgrade it with the modified Bios. and see if that helps.
It was old 8GB Patriot pulse USB. Did you find any other way to flash modded BIOS ?
TopM5 is offline  
post #497 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-31-2019, 10:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
twatson1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by TopM5 View Post
It was old 8GB Patriot pulse USB. Did you find any other way to flash modded BIOS ?
unfortunately no. i even tried to get ASUS to make a bios that would allow at least slot 5 and 6 to have this option and i was basically shut down. I'll have to see if i can find one of those if the downgrade upgrade doesn't work.
twatson1022 is offline  
post #498 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-31-2019, 03:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
twatson1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Downgrading now with flashback and it seams to be working. lets keep our fingers crossed that when i go to upgrade with the same usb it works.

No luck it flashed 1903 no problem but same usb with the modded bios and it wont work.

trying the second option i found here https://www.win-raid.com/t455f16-Gui...UEFI-BIOS.html

Last edited by twatson1022; 05-31-2019 at 04:13 PM.
twatson1022 is offline  
post #499 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-31-2019, 04:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 73
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by twatson1022 View Post
Downgrading now with flashback and it seams to be working. lets keep our fingers crossed that when i go to upgrade with the same usb it works.
Do you also loose performance when more than 3 memory is installed as i mentioned in Post #494 ?
With 3x memory (48GB), cinebench score is 5200CB, when 4/5/6 memory is installed cinebench score drops to 4700CB. I have tried all of the BIOS including latest 4001, only version 3306 gives best performance among other BIOS but still performs lower with 6x memory.
TopM5 is offline  
post #500 of 521 (permalink) Old 05-31-2019, 06:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
twatson1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by TopM5 View Post
Do you also loose performance when more than 3 memory is installed as i mentioned in Post #494 ?
With 3x memory (48GB), cinebench score is 5200CB, when 4/5/6 memory is installed cinebench score drops to 4700CB. I have tried all of the BIOS including latest 4001, only version 3306 gives best performance among other BIOS but still performs lower with 6x memory.
I have 128 gigs 4 per socket 2133 not loosing any performance.
twatson1022 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off