GIGABYTE X299 OVERCLOCKING THREAD - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GIGABYTE X299 OVERCLOCKING THREAD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CuewarsTaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 180
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticial View Post

Individual:
  • 1-2 cores: 4.5 GHz (4.3 AVX, 4.1 AVX512)
  • 3-4 cores: 4.3 GHz (4.1 AVX, 3.9 AVX512)
  • 5-10 cores: 4.2 GHz (4.0 AVX, 3.8 AVX512)

I kept the max turbo per core the same. So only the two "preferred cores" are allowed to reach 4.5 GHz. But any core is still allowed to do 4.3 AVX and 4.1 AVX512. IOW, the per-core turbo limit is applied *after* the AVX/AVX512 offsets.
But you set the voltage to a fixed number, right? You can try set the voltage to Auto if you are using Intel Turbo. I figured out the Auto CPU Core Voltage in this board is very good if you are not going to a very high ratio like x47.
CuewarsTaner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 02:41 PM
Hardware Enthusiast
 
Mysticial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 639
Rep: 70 (Unique: 45)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CuewarsTaner View Post

For me, I run the Intel Turbo with Per Core Limit. I notice that Intel Turbo won't bring the voltage too high(like 1.2) and it is stable for turbo overclocking.
But you set the voltage to a fixed number, right? You can try set the voltage to Auto if you are using Intel Turbo. I figured out the Auto CPU Core Voltage in this board is very good if you are not going to a vert high ratio like x47.

I left all the voltages default. Didn't need to touch any of them since I never pushed the top frequency. IOW, the only "overclock" I did was for the AVX and AVX512. And depending on how you look at it, you can even call that a downclock if the 4.0 GHz all-core with no AVX(512) offset is to be considered a feature and not a bug.
Mysticial is offline  
post #23 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CuewarsTaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 180
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticial View Post

Individual:
  • 1-2 cores: 4.5 GHz (4.3 AVX, 4.1 AVX512)
  • 3-4 cores: 4.3 GHz (4.1 AVX, 3.9 AVX512)
  • 5-10 cores: 4.2 GHz (4.0 AVX, 3.8 AVX512)

I kept the max turbo per core the same. So only the two "preferred cores" are allowed to reach 4.5 GHz. But any core is still allowed to do 4.3 AVX and 4.1 AVX512. IOW, the per-core turbo limit is applied *after* the AVX/AVX512 offsets.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticial View Post

Yeah, the multiplier offset is exactly what it is - a multiplier offset. So I currently run my machine at 4.2/4.0/3.8 GHz all-core turbo. (scalar/AVX/AVX512) The all-core turbo is 42x, AVX and AVX512 offsets are 2 and 4 respectively.

I have not tried to push the all-core scalar-code frequency beyond 4.2 GHz. Because of these offsets, we're basically doing 3 overclocks at once and there's no way to dial-down the voltages on a per-core/per-code-type basis. For example, let's say I can run all-core scalar-code @ 4.7 GHz. But to do that, I need to increase the vcore. But increasing the vcore will make my 3.8 GHz AVX512 overclock overheat.
Here is what you mentioned: there's no way to dial-down the voltages on a per-core/per-code-type basis. For example, let's say I can run all-core scalar-code @ 4.7 GHz. But to do that, I need to increase the vcore. But increasing the vcore will make my 3.8 GHz AVX512 overclock overheat.
CuewarsTaner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CuewarsTaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 180
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticial View Post

I left all the voltages default. Didn't need to touch any of them since I never pushed the top frequency. IOW, the only "overclock" I did was for the AVX and AVX512. And depending on how you look at it, you can even call that a downclock if the 4.0 GHz all-core with no AVX(512) offset is to be considered a feature and not a bug.
I am still a little bit confused. I know AVX and AVX512 are for "downclock". But when will the "downclock" apply? Let's say we set Ratio/AVX/AVX512 to 4.2/4.0/3.8. When will the clock speed downclock to 4.0 and when will the clock speed downclock to 3.8?
CuewarsTaner is offline  
post #25 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 02:58 PM
Hardware Enthusiast
 
Mysticial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 639
Rep: 70 (Unique: 45)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CuewarsTaner View Post

I am still a little bit confused. I know AVX and AVX512 are for "downclock". But when will the "downclock" apply? Let's say we set Ratio/AVX/AVX512 to 4.2/4.0/3.8. When will the clock speed downclock to 4.0 and when will the clock speed downclock to 3.8?

I meant that these are the current default settings for the Gigabyte boards:
  • 1-2 cores 4.5 GHz (4.5 AVX, 4.5 AVX512)
  • 2-4 cores 4.1 GHz (4.1 AVX, 4.1 AVX512)
  • 5-10 cores 4.0 GHz (4.0 AVX, 4.0 AVX512)

What I'm currently running is:
  • 1-2 cores: 4.5 GHz (4.3 AVX, 4.1 AVX512)
  • 3-4 cores: 4.3 GHz (4.1 AVX, 3.9 AVX512)
  • 5-10 cores: 4.2 GHz (4.0 AVX, 3.8 AVX512)

So in a way, what I'm running is a downclock for AVX and AVX512 compared to Gigabyte's default settings. But Gigabyte's default settings are wrong right now since it should not be allowing AVX and AVX512 to run at such high frequencies.

If we assume Silicon Lottery's numbers of 3 and 5 are actually what Intel specifies, then the "true" stock settings are:
  • 1-2 cores 4.5 GHz (4.2 AVX, 4.0 AVX512)
  • 2-4 cores 4.1 GHz (3.8 AVX, 3.6 AVX512)
  • 5-10 cores 4.0 GHz (3.7 AVX, 3.5 AVX512)
Mysticial is offline  
post #26 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CuewarsTaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 180
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticial View Post

I meant that these are the current default settings for the Gigabyte boards:
  • 1-2 cores 4.5 GHz (4.5 AVX, 4.5 AVX512)
  • 2-4 cores 4.1 GHz (4.1 AVX, 4.1 AVX512)
  • 5-10 cores 4.0 GHz (4.0 AVX, 4.0 AVX512)

What I'm currently running is:
  • 1-2 cores: 4.5 GHz (4.3 AVX, 4.1 AVX512)
  • 3-4 cores: 4.3 GHz (4.1 AVX, 3.9 AVX512)
  • 5-10 cores: 4.2 GHz (4.0 AVX, 3.8 AVX512)

So in a way, what I'm running is a downclock for AVX and AVX512 compared to Gigabyte's default settings. But Gigabyte's default settings are wrong right now since it should not be allowing AVX and AVX512 to run at such high frequencies.

If we assume Silicon Lottery's numbers of 3 and 5 are actually what Intel specifies, then the "true" stock settings are:
  • 1-2 cores 4.5 GHz (4.2 AVX, 4.0 AVX512)
  • 2-4 cores 4.1 GHz (3.8 AVX, 3.6 AVX512)
  • 5-10 cores 4.0 GHz (3.7 AVX, 3.5 AVX512)
I understand all of these. My question is, when will the cores go downclock with AVX and AVX512?
CuewarsTaner is offline  
post #27 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 03:03 PM
Hardware Enthusiast
 
Mysticial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 639
Rep: 70 (Unique: 45)
Mysticial is offline  
post #28 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CuewarsTaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 180
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
Hey guys.

The thread is becoming popular. There will be more people coming to our thread. You can share this thread to your friends who have X299 Gigabyte boards.

Thanks!
CuewarsTaner is offline  
post #29 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CuewarsTaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 180
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticial View Post

Uh... When they run code that contains AVX or AVX512?
Still confused. I don't know AVX and AVX512 at all. What I currently know is they will apply a downclock offset for cpu frequency.
CuewarsTaner is offline  
post #30 of 612 (permalink) Old 07-10-2017, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
CuewarsTaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 180
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysticial View Post

Uh... When they run code that contains AVX or AVX512?
code that contains AVX or AVX512? no idea... what it is
CuewarsTaner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off