ASUS Rampage VI Extreme (X299) Owners Club - Page 83 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS Rampage VI Extreme (X299) Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #821 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 12:08 PM
Overclock Scientist
 
Artah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,784
Rep: 65 (Unique: 52)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

From R&D. Try this:

Go into the DRAM timing section>IO Control

If memory is set to a speed lower than DDR4-2820 set the following Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)


If memory is set to a speed higher than DDR4-2820, set this Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

SA affects the PEG and memory domains, so these de-emphasis settings may need tuning for PCIe RAID.
Thank you for gracing us with your presence smile.gif I'll try it soon as I get home, will need to switch back the CPU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aysberg View Post

I am running the following setup...

Rampage VI Extreme (BIOS 0802) - optimized defaults
Intel i9 7980XE - H2O - default clocks, voltages on auto
GSkill RipJaws 2 x 8GB (for testing) 1066 16-15-15-15-35 1.20v
(GSkill TridentZ F4-3200C14-64GTZ 4 x 16GB 1066 16-15-15-36 1.20v - not in use at the moment)
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - onboard M.2_1(Socket 3) with system W10 x64 1703
(2 x Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - DIMM - not in use at the moment)
3 x SanDisk SDSSDHII960G RAID0 - data
1 x Seagate IronWolf NAS HDD 10TB - backup for RAID0 and system plus data
ZOTAC 1080 AMP! Extreme - H2O - first PCIe slot
Corsair HX1200

Tomorrow I will install another new clean W10 and see if this is more stable. I have installed already lot's of my daily used software.

Does the CPU / ICH setting in bios also changes the behavior of the onboard M.2 socket?
If you are referring to the DIMM.2 setting for PCH/CPU source setting it is only for that slot and does not affect the PCI or the PCH locked M.2 under the plastic armor slot AFAIK. I have not used that onboard M.2 slot at all though so there may be issues with it but I can't tell you until I have tested it.

Use the G.Skill modules to test with but run it at 2133 which is the optimized setting. Have you cleared CMOS and/or refreshed the BIOS? Maybe try out BIOS2. I have seen multiple CMOS corruption on this board, it was self inflicted off course during some overclocking testing smile.gif

One thing also, make sure you have the right intel turbo boost max technology driver not sure if it's related in your case but good to take that out of the list of variables. When you extract the Intel Turbo Boost Max Technology 3.0 Driver V1.0.0.1032 for Windows 10 64-bit. it may/does come with 32/64bit versions. I think the one that windows tries to install is problamatic.

Intel Core i9-7900X CPU @ 5080.0MHz - 3448 XTU marks on HWBOT
*Official* CaseLabs Owners Club!
TWitter: @TitanXerxes

Heatware Info
Merlin SM8
(26 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 7980XE
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce Titan Xp Pascal 12GB GDDR5X (900-1G611-2500-000)
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce Titan Xp Pascal 12GB GDDR5X (900-1G611-2500-000)
RAM
Corsair DominatG.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (8 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 4000 (PC4 32000) Intel X299 Desktop Memory Model F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZSW
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO Series - 512GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 T2, 80+ TITANIUM 1600W, Fully Modular, EVGA ECO Mode
Cooling
Bitspower D5 / MCP655 Mod Kit - Deluxe White Finish
Cooling
XSPC AX420 Radiator, 140mm x 3, Dual Fan, White x3
Cooling
XSPC AX280 Radiator, 140mm x 2, Dual Fan, White
Cooling
Thermaltake Riing 14 RGB Series High Pressure 140mm Circular LED Ring Case Radiator Fan CL-F043-PL14SW-B x2
Cooling
Aqua Computer Flow sensor "high flow" G1/4 for aquaero
Cooling
EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Acetal+Nickel [3831109831694] x2
Cooling
EK-FC Titan X Pascal Backplate - Black [3831109831700] x2
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655 Series 12 VDC D5 Water Pumps - With Speed Control
Cooling
Noctua SSO Bearing Fan Retail Cooling NF-P14s redux-1500 PWM x17
Cooling
Bitspower Dual / Single D5 Top Upgrade Kit 150, Clear Tube, White POM Cap
Cooling
Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 XT USB Fan Controller, Graphic LCD, Touch Control, IR Remote
Cooling
Aquacomputer D5 Pump Motor with PWM Input and Speed Signal
Case
Merlin SM8 White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Philips BDM4350UC 43-Inch Class IPS-LED
Keyboard
Logitech RGB G910 Orion Spark
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 RGB FPS
Audio
Bose Companion 5 Multimedia Speaker System – Graphite/Silver
Other
EVGA White G2/P2/T2 Power Supply Cable Set, Individually Sleeved (100-CW-1300-B9)
▲ hide details ▲
Artah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #822 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 12:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xarot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,180
Rep: 45 (Unique: 42)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aysberg View Post

I posted above that my setup is now working with the older RipJaws kit, but I had another freeze today. System just freezes screens stay on and I still can see the W10 desktop, if sound is playing it gets a horrible noise and I think the power light on my case turn off, while the HDD light stays on permanent. This is really no fun.

Put so much money and time into this system and I need a stable work machine, everything is on default and optimized settings are loaded. I think this platform MB+CPU (RVIE + i9-7980XE) combination is simply not working at the moment.

Since this is my first socket 2066 setup, I am not able to switch components to look further into these problems, thinking of returning CPU + MB frown.gif

Are you getting freezing in BIOS too? If you spend too much time there and browse all menus etc? It freezes for me very often.

i9-7980XE / Asus Rampage VI Extreme / Corsair Dominator Platinum 64 GB 3200 MHz CL16-18-18/ Asus Strix 1080TI SLI / Intel 750 NVME / Samsung 1TB / Corsair AX1500i / Phanteks Enthoo Primo / Asus PG279Q
xarot is offline  
post #823 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 12:54 PM
Overclock Scientist
 
Artah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,784
Rep: 65 (Unique: 52)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xarot View Post

Are you getting freezing in BIOS too? If you spend too much time there and browse all menus etc? It freezes for me very often.
Had that exact same issue with RAID0 setup on DIMM.2

Intel Core i9-7900X CPU @ 5080.0MHz - 3448 XTU marks on HWBOT
*Official* CaseLabs Owners Club!
TWitter: @TitanXerxes

Heatware Info
Merlin SM8
(26 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 7980XE
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce Titan Xp Pascal 12GB GDDR5X (900-1G611-2500-000)
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce Titan Xp Pascal 12GB GDDR5X (900-1G611-2500-000)
RAM
Corsair DominatG.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (8 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 4000 (PC4 32000) Intel X299 Desktop Memory Model F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZSW
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO Series - 512GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 T2, 80+ TITANIUM 1600W, Fully Modular, EVGA ECO Mode
Cooling
Bitspower D5 / MCP655 Mod Kit - Deluxe White Finish
Cooling
XSPC AX420 Radiator, 140mm x 3, Dual Fan, White x3
Cooling
XSPC AX280 Radiator, 140mm x 2, Dual Fan, White
Cooling
Thermaltake Riing 14 RGB Series High Pressure 140mm Circular LED Ring Case Radiator Fan CL-F043-PL14SW-B x2
Cooling
Aqua Computer Flow sensor "high flow" G1/4 for aquaero
Cooling
EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Acetal+Nickel [3831109831694] x2
Cooling
EK-FC Titan X Pascal Backplate - Black [3831109831700] x2
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655 Series 12 VDC D5 Water Pumps - With Speed Control
Cooling
Noctua SSO Bearing Fan Retail Cooling NF-P14s redux-1500 PWM x17
Cooling
Bitspower Dual / Single D5 Top Upgrade Kit 150, Clear Tube, White POM Cap
Cooling
Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 XT USB Fan Controller, Graphic LCD, Touch Control, IR Remote
Cooling
Aquacomputer D5 Pump Motor with PWM Input and Speed Signal
Case
Merlin SM8 White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Philips BDM4350UC 43-Inch Class IPS-LED
Keyboard
Logitech RGB G910 Orion Spark
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 RGB FPS
Audio
Bose Companion 5 Multimedia Speaker System – Graphite/Silver
Other
EVGA White G2/P2/T2 Power Supply Cable Set, Individually Sleeved (100-CW-1300-B9)
▲ hide details ▲
Artah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #824 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 05:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Aysberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 20
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artah View Post

Use the G.Skill modules to test with but run it at 2133 which is the optimized setting. Have you cleared CMOS and/or refreshed the BIOS? Maybe try out BIOS2. I have seen multiple CMOS corruption on this board, it was self inflicted off course during some overclocking testing smile.gif

One thing also, make sure you have the right intel turbo boost max technology driver not sure if it's related in your case but good to take that out of the list of variables. When you extract the Intel Turbo Boost Max Technology 3.0 Driver V1.0.0.1032 for Windows 10 64-bit. it may/does come with 32/64bit versions. I think the one that windows tries to install is problamatic.

Flashed the BIOS again, did a CMOS reset, loaded optimized defaults, did a fresh install of W10 with just the NVMe connected to the onboard M.2, installed latest chipset drivers, MEI and turbo boost. Did a HCI memtest and system did freeze again after 60 minutes (around 53% of the memory run). So it's the same behavior like my last install. Would love to do a prime test, but pretty useless when a system isn't even stable while nearly idling.

No errors in event viewer, just that the system didn't shut down properly. I really don't know what to do next. I build so many systems and never had such serious problems, I think I will return the board and CPU frown.gif
Aysberg is offline  
post #825 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 06:14 PM
Overclock Scientist
 
Artah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,784
Rep: 65 (Unique: 52)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aysberg View Post

Flashed the BIOS again, did a CMOS reset, loaded optimized defaults, did a fresh install of W10 with just the NVMe connected to the onboard M.2, installed latest chipset drivers, MEI and turbo boost. Did a HCI memtest and system did freeze again after 60 minutes (around 53% of the memory run). So it's the same behavior like my last install. Would love to do a prime test, but pretty useless when a system isn't even stable while nearly idling.

No errors in event viewer, just that the system didn't shut down properly. I really don't know what to do next. I build so many systems and never had such serious problems, I think I will return the board and CPU frown.gif
You already tried a different hard drive? Not sure if it affects you but have you tried the settings that Raja suggested? Also you tried a different video card? What PSU are you using?

Intel Core i9-7900X CPU @ 5080.0MHz - 3448 XTU marks on HWBOT
*Official* CaseLabs Owners Club!
TWitter: @TitanXerxes

Heatware Info
Merlin SM8
(26 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 7980XE
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce Titan Xp Pascal 12GB GDDR5X (900-1G611-2500-000)
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce Titan Xp Pascal 12GB GDDR5X (900-1G611-2500-000)
RAM
Corsair DominatG.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (8 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 4000 (PC4 32000) Intel X299 Desktop Memory Model F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZSW
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO Series - 512GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 T2, 80+ TITANIUM 1600W, Fully Modular, EVGA ECO Mode
Cooling
Bitspower D5 / MCP655 Mod Kit - Deluxe White Finish
Cooling
XSPC AX420 Radiator, 140mm x 3, Dual Fan, White x3
Cooling
XSPC AX280 Radiator, 140mm x 2, Dual Fan, White
Cooling
Thermaltake Riing 14 RGB Series High Pressure 140mm Circular LED Ring Case Radiator Fan CL-F043-PL14SW-B x2
Cooling
Aqua Computer Flow sensor "high flow" G1/4 for aquaero
Cooling
EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Acetal+Nickel [3831109831694] x2
Cooling
EK-FC Titan X Pascal Backplate - Black [3831109831700] x2
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655 Series 12 VDC D5 Water Pumps - With Speed Control
Cooling
Noctua SSO Bearing Fan Retail Cooling NF-P14s redux-1500 PWM x17
Cooling
Bitspower Dual / Single D5 Top Upgrade Kit 150, Clear Tube, White POM Cap
Cooling
Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 XT USB Fan Controller, Graphic LCD, Touch Control, IR Remote
Cooling
Aquacomputer D5 Pump Motor with PWM Input and Speed Signal
Case
Merlin SM8 White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Philips BDM4350UC 43-Inch Class IPS-LED
Keyboard
Logitech RGB G910 Orion Spark
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 RGB FPS
Audio
Bose Companion 5 Multimedia Speaker System – Graphite/Silver
Other
EVGA White G2/P2/T2 Power Supply Cable Set, Individually Sleeved (100-CW-1300-B9)
▲ hide details ▲
Artah is offline  
post #826 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 07:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LunaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,811
Rep: 69 (Unique: 60)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamjanco View Post

I think something might be wrong with the quote/multiquote functionality. Looks like a larger number of posts have been affected by the issue.

Its just people being the laziest they possibly can be.

Simple video on how to multi
How to use multi quote

Avid Anime collector, a hobby that makes this hobby look cheap, as well as gets in the way of it rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skupples 
Don't do business with NCIX!
LunaP is offline  
post #827 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 09:58 PM
Overclock Scientist
 
Artah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,784
Rep: 65 (Unique: 52)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

From R&D. Try this:

Go into the DRAM timing section>IO Control

If memory is set to a speed lower than DDR4-2820 set the following Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)


If memory is set to a speed higher than DDR4-2820, set this Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

SA affects the PEG and memory domains, so these de-emphasis settings may need tuning for PCIe RAID.
It seems to have fixed it but let me do more testing.

It did crash once when I had the Samsung drives on there mapped to PCH in AHCI non RST mode but that might have been something else. I was cloning a drive that is being so stubborn it will not clone to a file using the Asus clone software but it does copy with Samsung Magician's migrate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LunaP View Post

Its just people being the laziest they possibly can be.

Simple video on how to multi
How to use multi quote
It's about having a lot of posting traffic with multiple conversations and didn't really want to mess up the chronological order of things or mixing different issues together. There is multiple conversations here and most of us know how to create spoilers I think except when we're on our phones it's a tough task. Nothing to do with laziness for the most part. Like an example would be right now. I'm mixing the discussion about laziness and a critical issue with high end parts that a few of us may return if it does not work correctly. I would rather not have this type of stuff in one post but oh well.

We only have 30 days to return this stuff if we're not happy with the product and a few of us is running out of time.

Intel Core i9-7900X CPU @ 5080.0MHz - 3448 XTU marks on HWBOT
*Official* CaseLabs Owners Club!
TWitter: @TitanXerxes

Heatware Info
Merlin SM8
(26 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 7980XE
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce Titan Xp Pascal 12GB GDDR5X (900-1G611-2500-000)
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce Titan Xp Pascal 12GB GDDR5X (900-1G611-2500-000)
RAM
Corsair DominatG.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (8 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 4000 (PC4 32000) Intel X299 Desktop Memory Model F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZSW
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO Series - 512GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 T2, 80+ TITANIUM 1600W, Fully Modular, EVGA ECO Mode
Cooling
Bitspower D5 / MCP655 Mod Kit - Deluxe White Finish
Cooling
XSPC AX420 Radiator, 140mm x 3, Dual Fan, White x3
Cooling
XSPC AX280 Radiator, 140mm x 2, Dual Fan, White
Cooling
Thermaltake Riing 14 RGB Series High Pressure 140mm Circular LED Ring Case Radiator Fan CL-F043-PL14SW-B x2
Cooling
Aqua Computer Flow sensor "high flow" G1/4 for aquaero
Cooling
EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Acetal+Nickel [3831109831694] x2
Cooling
EK-FC Titan X Pascal Backplate - Black [3831109831700] x2
Cooling
Swiftech MCP655 Series 12 VDC D5 Water Pumps - With Speed Control
Cooling
Noctua SSO Bearing Fan Retail Cooling NF-P14s redux-1500 PWM x17
Cooling
Bitspower Dual / Single D5 Top Upgrade Kit 150, Clear Tube, White POM Cap
Cooling
Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 XT USB Fan Controller, Graphic LCD, Touch Control, IR Remote
Cooling
Aquacomputer D5 Pump Motor with PWM Input and Speed Signal
Case
Merlin SM8 White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Philips BDM4350UC 43-Inch Class IPS-LED
Keyboard
Logitech RGB G910 Orion Spark
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 RGB FPS
Audio
Bose Companion 5 Multimedia Speaker System – Graphite/Silver
Other
EVGA White G2/P2/T2 Power Supply Cable Set, Individually Sleeved (100-CW-1300-B9)
▲ hide details ▲
Artah is offline  
post #828 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 10:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LunaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,811
Rep: 69 (Unique: 60)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artah View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
It's about having a lot of posting traffic with multiple conversations and didn't really want to mess up the chronological order of things or mixing different issues together. There is multiple conversations here and most of us know how to create spoilers I think except when we're on our phones it's a tough task. Nothing to do with laziness for the most part. Like an example would be right now. I'm mixing the discussion about laziness and a critical issue with high end parts that a few of us may return if it does not work correctly. I would rather not have this type of stuff in one post but oh well.

exactly, laziness, it does it in chronological order as in the one u click first, its courtesy to the forum, the mods, etc, its not hard to type [ quote ] or [ spoiler ] on the phone given the extra few seconds given the large amount of context you add in, to each, its just rude and a lazy way of saying, I don't have time so I'll just ignore rules whenever. Some people do it, others blatantly do it to trigger the mods or show others they don't have to follow the rules for w/e reason.

90% of my posts are from my phone, either my large personal or my small work one, we're so neat with our builds here but don't mind cluttering up the forums.

Avid Anime collector, a hobby that makes this hobby look cheap, as well as gets in the way of it rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skupples 
Don't do business with NCIX!
LunaP is offline  
post #829 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-17-2017, 01:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xarot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,180
Rep: 45 (Unique: 42)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aysberg View Post

Flashed the BIOS again, did a CMOS reset, loaded optimized defaults, did a fresh install of W10 with just the NVMe connected to the onboard M.2, installed latest chipset drivers, MEI and turbo boost. Did a HCI memtest and system did freeze again after 60 minutes (around 53% of the memory run). So it's the same behavior like my last install. Would love to do a prime test, but pretty useless when a system isn't even stable while nearly idling.

No errors in event viewer, just that the system didn't shut down properly. I really don't know what to do next. I build so many systems and never had such serious problems, I think I will return the board and CPU frown.gif

I submitted a bug report from the ROG forum. I'll report if I hear anything from ASUS.

i9-7980XE / Asus Rampage VI Extreme / Corsair Dominator Platinum 64 GB 3200 MHz CL16-18-18/ Asus Strix 1080TI SLI / Intel 750 NVME / Samsung 1TB / Corsair AX1500i / Phanteks Enthoo Primo / Asus PG279Q
xarot is offline  
post #830 of 2938 (permalink) Old 10-17-2017, 11:51 AM
Head Dwarf
 
iamjanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: In a circus tent
Posts: 1,922
Rep: 86 (Unique: 56)
Interesting synopsis of VROC testing on the Extreme (over at the ROG support forum).

...playin' the lead roll in a dwerg tossing contest.


iamjanco is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off